Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 16, 2002 Share January 16, 2002 50 shot dry fogger in intake enough lah, need to defeat turbo lag only mah 100 shot progressive plus flying pistons really Fast & The Foolish! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Barakian Neutral Newbie January 16, 2002 Share January 16, 2002 Eh brudder, when are u, Gui and I gonna meet up for kopi? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 16, 2002 Share January 16, 2002 Solly, been bz. Will call U and Ah Gui for supper soon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear January 16, 2002 Share January 16, 2002 Aiyah...if too much trouble...just burn me a couple of candles can liao....perfer those red ones..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie May 11, 2002 Share May 11, 2002 (edited) Dynaudio http://www.dynaudiousa.com/products/car/car1.htm How "Fantastic" are these system? Heard this brand brings hi-fidelity to new heights Edited May 11, 2002 by Turbobrick Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AutoS Neutral Newbie May 11, 2002 Share May 11, 2002 Well Dynaudio are Danish, they are famous for hi-end speakers not sub woofers. For home audio a few of the well known hi-end brands using OEM Dynaudio drivers in their speaker set ups. For car audio Dynaudio ain't exactly a secret. For hi-end car audio spkrs the name Dynaudio is abt as synonymous as Colgate is to toothpaste. One thing about Dynaudio both home and car audio speakers they require heaps of power to make them sing to potential ... quite unusual for mids cuz almost all component sets can make do W/ a good 50W per ch. Dyns need 4 times that amt. Less also can but there is a clear audible diff. Seven 11 tried to explain this but said something abt poor sensitivity. Bro it's not poor sensitivity, it's poor efficiency. Poor sensitivity means spkr lau-ya already and got no detail in sound reproduction. But U were on the right track. And $700 for the 2-way Dyns? I think SLS the px slashers also sell at $700+. At that Px lucky 4 the retailer to make 5%. If installer sell Dyns at $700, becuz Px being transparent want to use slash Px to convince, U can be sure he'll be thinking of ways and means of how to more than recuperate in other areas. TurboB the cut and paste one U show the 2-way is definitely there at the pinacle of hi-end. But I wouldn't go as far as to proclaim that they reach some sort of new heights. Bet various Pple, such as those who manufacture Focal Polykevlar and Utopia, CDT High Definition, ADS, MB Quart Reference, Rainbow Reference, Cerwin Vega Ref Components, Davis Konishita, Image Dynamics Compression Horn Driver components, AVI, Diamond Hex etc, etc, may have something to say about ...THAT! My favorite of all are the ID horns, next are the ADS which I can't readily get my paws on and of course the plain Jane CDT High Defns which are sooo good and don't require a super Turbo amp to perform. Whilst being slightly cheaper than the rest, no way is the performance any less. It's a personal preference but my vote is tied W/ the CDT's and ADS. The ID Horns are another matter cuz coupled W/ the Tubedriver Amp they really are in a class of their own. Dynaudios do however produce the best 3-way component system in one package I've come across ... so far. the 7" mid bass, 3" mid and tweet combo do sound great and the 3" hi mid cuz of the size gives a lot of mounting possibilities for a fabrication savy kinda installer like myself to achieve the best SQ. Brings a smile to my face. So far however when I do 3-way I often do hi-end Rojak since I'm not a brand loyal kinda guy. Well long-long post, just my thoughts, not everyone will agree but hope it gives some food for thought. AutoS Dynaudio http://www.dynaudiousa.com/products/car/car1.htm How "Fantastic" are these system? Heard this brand brings hi-fidelity to new heights Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie May 11, 2002 Share May 11, 2002 Thanks for the insight I heard of Dynaudio only because Volvo uses them for the premium sound setup. I guess that's why there's a 3-way up front in that setup, to get that Dynaudio potential Well, I'm still very fresh into hi-fi. Looking forward to learn more from ICE gurus all around! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AutoS Neutral Newbie May 11, 2002 Share May 11, 2002 The thing is, are the Volvo ones the premium Dyns or are they some sort of lower range mutation ones made specially 4 Volvo's purposes? This happened B4 for MB Quart and Merc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie May 12, 2002 Share May 12, 2002 This is one question left hanging for many.....check out one end user setup and review of the premium sound system by Volvo/Dynaudio Volvo_audio.doc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastforward Neutral Newbie May 12, 2002 Share May 12, 2002 The thing is, are the Volvo ones the premium Dyns or are they some sort of lower range mutation ones made specially 4 Volvo's purposes? This happened B4 for MB Quart and Merc. Hi Auto S I have a S80T6 and the factory installed sound system on my car, I thought was pretty good compared to the other factory system I've heard. The best factory system or any system installed in a car in my opinion is on the LEXUS LS430. In any case, while I enjoy the sound on my car, is it wise to upgrade a custom installed system like the one on mine where the Head unit is an integrated unit on the console. Just wondering if there is any way to make it better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear May 12, 2002 Share May 12, 2002 Hello, I've listened to my Dad's S40's audio system. The only - is the slightly boomy bass, treble slightly lacking in clarity especially for the trebles. Have yet to hear those in the S80 though. Got a chance to view the HU803 displayed in SM... the HU is made by Mitsubishi Electronics. Probably a factor to the poorer sound quality, as Mitsubishi HU are relatively unheard of. You can consider upgrading the speakers 1st ... this should give a marked improvement over the stock Volvo speakers. As the Volvo HUs are all modular ie, 1 connector providing power, audio signals etc, I dunno whether is it possible to fit an amp to drive the speakers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie May 12, 2002 Share May 12, 2002 My S70's HU is Alpine, also Jap.... Anyway, Volvo has a modular amp setup available too, if U looked behind at the HU connections, there is an output jack for the amp as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastforward Neutral Newbie May 12, 2002 Share May 12, 2002 Hello, I've listened to my Dad's S40's audio system. The only - is the slightly boomy bass, treble slightly lacking in clarity especially for the trebles. Have yet to hear those in the S80 though. Got a chance to view the HU803 displayed in SM... the HU is made by Mitsubishi Electronics. Probably a factor to the poorer sound quality, as Mitsubishi HU are relatively unheard of. You can consider upgrading the speakers 1st ... this should give a marked improvement over the stock Volvo speakers. As the Volvo HUs are all modular ie, 1 connector providing power, audio signals etc, I dunno whether is it possible to fit an amp to drive the speakers. Hi Koolaba My system is the HU801 RDS with 14 built in CD changer. 4 in front and 10 behind. Dolby surround Prologic System, 9 speakers, and 4 x 50 W Amp. Don't get me wrong, I'm not complaining about the sound quality but I thought If I can make it better, I want to hear about how it can be done. I've not heard the HU803. Which model is it on? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seansene 1st Gear May 13, 2002 Author Share May 13, 2002 Thanks for the writeup, AutoS, looks like you're the in-house ICE guru! btw, sensitivity is the proper term - it measures how loud a speaker will go given a particular amplifier, and is inherent in the design, and not time dependent. It is taken as the loudness (in decibels) for a given watt, measured at a distance of 1 metre. Impedance also plays a part here, as it a measurement of how hard a speaker is to drive, and seen in ohms... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear May 13, 2002 Share May 13, 2002 Hi, The HU803 was found under the S60/S80 accessories section. I've never heard the sound from the setup in any of the S60/S80. BTW, we've a ICE shi1 fu4 in this forum, AutoS. Probably u can pay shi1 fu4 a visit and ask him what could be done to further improve your system. Do you know which company manufactures Volvo speakers? The SR only commented that the ICE system in Volvo is designed by Bang & Olufsen. But after seeing the display HU unit, his words seem less credible. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie May 13, 2002 Share May 13, 2002 I always thought the sound system in Volvo is Alpine, the premium ones are Dynaudio......time to dig deeper and find out who is the OEM ICE maker for Volvo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AutoS Neutral Newbie May 13, 2002 Share May 13, 2002 (edited) Ur probably right. It's purely an academic point worth going into so I don't stick my foot in my mouth again. Just that I thought the measurement of sensitivity of a speaker indicated how fine the resolution is in producing the sound detail and not how easily or hard the speaker was to drive ie efficiency. [angelic] In any case I pay absolute attention to those specs which are crucial to my installs and don't usually pay that much attention to some specs like these. Spkrs mix and match try W/ different amps can get a good feel for how they perform when doing it on a daily basis. The human ear is still the most refined monitor. Edited May 13, 2002 by AutoS Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear May 14, 2002 Share May 14, 2002 Hi TB, Until today, I'm still clueless as to which company makes Volvo speakers. Can only see the word "Volvo" pasted over the magnet... I suppose for the HU, it should all be made by the same manufacturer, Mitsubishi electronics (the letterings, feel of the plastics feel the same in HU603, HU803) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...