Camcorders : Canon or Sony???

Wish1719

Anyone here into Camcorders?? Not into it, but looking to get one.

any advise? Went down to Cathay Photo over the weekend, was shown two models

the Canon FS11 and the Sony SR 220E.

I'm shopping for a camcorder as well... but me at budget entry level.. [;)]

FS11 is flash memory based (SD card) while SD220E is HDD based so belong to different category. U should first decide on the media type (HDD, Flash, DVD or DV Tape). Then decide on whether u need SD or HD (standard definition or high definition). At the moment i'm leaning towards the JVC GZ-MS100 for my choice.. probably wait for Comex to buy.. [:)]

My advice is, if there is no BIG need for it, don't buy.....

Mine is sitting in the cupboard, used it one during a holiday trip, after which it is kept and used sporadically....

It is nice to have, but once recorded, you will not know what to do with the video recordings.... ok, maybe for the first time you will take effort to edit your clips and make a movie of it, adding music sound and effects, after once you find how tideous the process is, you will not do it many times over again....

Hi hi, I am also shopping for one. Considering the Sony HDR-TG1E and Canon FS10. Of cos 1 is HD other is SD. But price difference around $1000. Imptly, both Made in Japan. Any advice anyone?

Thanks, that's the problem, should i go for the more advance qty or just stick to normal, anyway price wise is quiet close, ard $300 diff. Was thinking if I should just go with the HDD, but it's quite complicated when downloading from my understanding when the sales person explains the stuff to me. whereas the Canon is quite straight forward.

Thanks and probably like you, wait for Comex to buy, btw. any idea when Comex starts? thanks again!

[laugh][laugh] sama sama here, buying it for holiday purpose only... after that become white elephant, then again maybe if can use it to record my golf swings... [laugh][laugh]

alamak... like that, get a good phone will be able to do that..... if you are the person holding the camcorder during holiday, you will get tired... then pass to gf or wife,... you will find they don't know how to shoot... then even they just point and shoot, you will critise because the angles they shot are not what you wanted.... sure got something to say about another person hold the camcorder....

I suggest another use, do an Edison with it..... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Comex is from 28-31 Aug at Suntec... so have to go squeeze with the horde of people.. [laugh]

Many first time camcorder buyers ends up having it as white elephant.. so wondering why u all wanna spend so much on your first one?? Why not get a cheaper one to use and try.. then upgrade to a higher end one after u decide it's your cup of tea??

knn, me old man liow still ask me do the Edison with it. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

hmm... so i assume you are doing the Edison with it?? [lipsrsealed][:p]

once buy, will tekan my sons to learn more about it, make them learn the stuff and teach me, they young, learn things faster...

Anyone here into Camcorders?? Not into it, but looking to get one.

any advise? Went down to Cathay Photo over the weekend, was shown two models

the Canon FS11 and the Sony SR 220E.

Consider also Panasonic, those with 3 sensor.

i used to have one, last time Panasonic, use tape one..

nowaday, can straight plug into television and watch liow. hand itchy leh [lipsrsealed]

thot if i buy a good one, at least i don't have to keep upgrading... more expensive..

AHH.. compact. if that's what you're looking for,.. nothing beats a Sony.

But if its video quality you are looking for, check out Panasonic.

Actually my initial preference was to go for a HDD based camcorder.. but i cannot get past the fear that the HDD might crash on me one day.. so now i'm thinking it's safer to go with a flash based camcorder instead.. [gossip]

But at the same time, if i'm just going for an entry level flash based SD camcorder.. maybe i can just stick with a digicam with OIS that can take 640x480 30fps videos.. [:|]

Edited by Tkseah