GPS

Fisheye

Okie guys, I'm in for getting a GPS unit for my ride...any recommendations on where to get Garmin Nuvi 310 at a good price...or GB any1??? [:/]

i got this s1000 for 900 at Specialist audio in alexandra village. i think the nuvi 310 cost at least 680 if i remember correctly. pay 220 more and to get this s1000 with a wider screen with lots of functions. smile.gif

hand itchy kena poison damage haha. actually I nearly went to the other part of av to get sports rims but think think its useless cos I can't see from inside. I wonder my old 17" with tyres can trade for how much

I had a Tibo A1000 b4 n currently using a Nuvi 200. Each has its pros n cons.

1) Did u know abt the S$84 yearly subscription for the Tibo to receive map updates from Elecom??? The Nuvi can use Malsing maps, FOC.

2) Tibo cannot record ur max speed, Nuvi can.

3) Tibo only have map for SG n MY, Garmin has it for the whole wide world.

4) User interface, Nuvi wins hands down. However Tibo address search is much better than Nuvi.

5) Graphic interface, Tibo shows the shapes of buildings even in newer estates. However Nuvi wif Malsing map does not have it, only those older buildings. U look at the GPS n u tink u r in a desert wif a single road but actually u r surrounded by buildings. Nuvi can change the direction arrow into different vehicles, Tibo cant.

thatz all for my summary of the two GPS.

But consider between FOC n S$84, which is better??? FOC comes wif MY speedtraps n SG redlight camera warnings. S$84 one, no such function.

S$84 one, I had to wait till almost one yr for my new house to be in the GPS!!! I had been staying at my new place for 2yrs already n it was a piece of grassland on the Tibo. I had to pester Elecom mthly to get the update. [:/]

FOC one, it already indicated my new place wif all the service roads!!!

So any new roads, u got to wait long long for it to appear in ur Tibo. Esp with the current opening of KPE. U better start pestering Elecom for an update. U have to personally bring the unit to them for update, Malsing is juz a click away.

boh pian la. buy liao tibo wat to do....use liao then say lor.

i called the customer service yesterday saying tat my place(punggol central) is not inside the map...they say there is an update coming this end nov.

anyway i know most of the routes from singapore to phuket. i buy this gps is to satisfy my wife only since she is road blind and even took months to memorise the route home.

Make sure they include all the roads leading to ur place. When Elecom update my place, they forgot to include a bridge. So the Tibo will instruct me to use a longer route back home. Only I complain then they fix it on their next update, three mths later. [furious]

Fed up wif them so I sold the Tibo away liao. Currently they still send me their promotion to get a 2nd Tibo from them. In my heart, I say I wouldnt wana go through the whole experience wif them again. [thumbsdown]

Bro...in my humble opinion...whether the map and interface swee or not is just visual aesthetics. The most important thing for a GPS is functionality in the sense that it catches onto the satellite signals fast and is able to bring you hassle free from one place to another.

Updated maps of course comes within functionality as well. I owned a Garmin 660 but I have everything to complaint about its search functions, eg. it cannot search by postal code, and i dun quite like the way it directs turns. All it does is it tells, "you in 1.3 km, keep right (meaning turn right)"...then that's it liao...I ended up having the tendency to look at the screen for the veh. icon to approach a white arrow b4 I know this is the junction I'm supposed tio turn [shakehead] Quite dangerous if you ask me and I made quite a few wrong turns cos I kept lane 1 too soon and was forced to make compulsory turns [nod]

I still prefer a normal looking interface but is able to guide me from 200m onwards, eg. "In 200m, turn right", "in 150m, turn right", "in 100m...", "in 50m...", "turn right here" [nod]

That's why my Nuvi now is permanently kept in my glove [nod]