CD Reviews

Sarong1

Since all of us here are talking about ICE, be it improving on it, spending money making it look better, it all boils down to being able to play our favorite CDs and tracks the way we want it to be reproduced. I am asking all our "ICE ICE baby" to come share with us your favourite CD and tracks and tell us why you have liked it so much.

For audiophiles, you may want to go into more details for fresh audiophile to appreciate better recordings, to listen out for any particular characteristic in the track, the feel and so on so forth.

Happy ICing around...

Edited by Lukie102

My current favourite...

1) Japanese : Hirai Ken Sentimental (Latest Release)

2) Engrish : 2Unlimited CD & C&C Music Factory CD (Damn Power!)

3) Chinese : Alan Tam MP3 Collection (got from JB)

Try the FIRST song... just try this first track "You are everything"...you will fall in love with this fine lady hugging herself...for people out there that are sick of people anyhow sing in KTV...I assure you this CD is a must have in your car HU all the time...and its not expensive either...but be quick though...

200571413183.jpg

Dream to Dream Artist:Mona

English---Josh Groban/Closer

---Jamie Cullum/Twenty Something/Pointless Nostalgic

---The Celtic Circle (both cds)

---The Corrs/Borrowed Heaven

---Maroon 5/ Songs About Jane

---Linkin Park/all their albums

---Creed/all their albums

---Eminem/The Eminem Show/8 miles

---Black Eyes Peas/Elephunk

---Puddle Of Mudd/Come Clean

---Usher/ Confession

---Missy Elliot/So addictive/This is not a test

---Celine Dion/ almost all including her spanish song

---Seether/ Broken soundtrack of movie, The Punisher

---William Hung/ Inspiration (when i have a bloody lousy day, it makes my day)

Chinese--Jay Chow/ all his album

--Nicholas Teo/ 1st. Choice

--Sandy Lam/ The Best

--PowerStation/ All their albums

--Dao Lang/ all their albums since 2002

Others---Alex Ubago/ Fantasia/Que pides tu

---Andrea Bocelli/ about 6 albums

---Luciano Pavarotti/ Ti Amo/Ti Adoro

---Mohicans

---Enigma/The best of Enigma

---Gregorian/Master of chant3

---Music for FengShui

still got somemore.... is there any 50-CD changer in the market?... [:p]

im not really a die hard audiophile but a commoner who happens to like the albums above... [:p]

Since all of us here are talking about ICE, be it improving on it, spending money making it look better, it all boils down to being able to play our favorite CDs and tracks the way we want it to be reproduced. I am asking all our "ICE ICE baby" to come share with us your favourite CD and tracks and tell us why you have liked it so much.

For audiophiles, you may want to go into more details for fresh audiophile to appreciate better recordings, to listen out for any particular characteristic in the track, the feel and so on so forth.

Happy ICing around...

Hmm. Favourite now. My son's Disney Forever.. Kind of fun to just listen to soundtrack eventhough the recording quality is not superb.

Adelphi 3rd floor, very cosy, just tell the owner what genre you like, pay them a few more visits, they will remember you and introduce you some rare finds in future...happy listening. You can sample the CD on their tube amp too...Dun worry about pricing, I find it cheape than Semb MC. add a quantifier, I am not a partner with them...have been patronising them since they operate in Sembawang shopping centre...

At the moment, Aimee Mann's The Forgotten Arm. A concept album that follows the troubled relationship of a couple, through war and drug use, each song tells a mini-story of their journey together, and even the album lyrics are written as chapters of a novel.

It's got a slight seventies feel to the instruments, as a nod to the period the songs are set in, as well as the original narrative album by The Who (which actually came out in 1969).

The thing about Aimee is her ability to carry painful and troubling topics with impossibly upbeat melodies, without the trite conflict that might usually result. "I Was Thinking I Could Clean Up for Christmas", for example, tackles the desperation of trying to break out a the drug habit, set to a jaunty, yes, Christmassy tune. And it works.

Her voice is central to the emotional connection that she makes. Always clear and direct, she instills a certain sense of melanchoy by lingering on a note just a moment more than you expect. But she keeps the music from being dragged down, by separating the instruments clearly - so extreme is the panning (drums on one speaker, piano on the other) that you could listen to 'different cuts' of the songs by hearing only one side. The upshot is lightness of touch on what could turn dreary and plodding.

And Aimee manages this delicate balancing act so expertly throughout her sonic musings. Sweetest in its tragedy, most delicate in its bitterness, she mixes cynicism beautifully with tenderness, resulting in some of the most surprisingly palatable pop I've come across.

My test of any new cd is to play it non-stop and see how long it takes to get sick of it. With this album it's been over a month now (yes, that's on repeat, everyday, in the car, day-in and out), and the songs are still playing in my head, even as I type. Her albums tend to do that slow burning thing, in that it becomes impossible to shake once it gets under your skin and sets in. My mistake in buying Travis' Singles album at the same time. It's good, but not in the same league, and has been collecting dust...

post-4-1122604638_thumb.jpg

Edited by Seansene

Yup, got it from Gramaphone. You listen to Aimee Mann too? Weirdo? Hardly, this is pure pop, far less 'weird' than a lot of the nonsense you hear over radio these days...

[:p] weirdo in the sense that its not everyone's cup of tea. I like quirky female vocals, Aimee Mann, Tanita Tikaram, Jane Siberry, Edie Brickell blah blah blah...

Haha, ok I get what you mean. Yeah I guess it says that you have your own mind about what you choose and choose not to listen to, rather than having it shoved down your throat. More power to you then! We need more people like that, who can use their brains [thumbsup]

knn [laugh][laugh] u so weak one meh [sly] listen to my kind of songs will get broken family, this one not ah pek go ktv song song leh [laugh]

Is this a new album??havent been visiting cd shops for awhile...started listening to her after watching magnolia where the whole album is from aimee mann(if i rem the direcotr was a aimee mann nut)...bought their bachelor no 2 album too...pretty good stuff....very apt description of her music....

Any listening to belle and sebastian??really melodic and quirky lyrics.....