Alternator

Hoppe

Am quite sure a jack is part of your car accessories, and during a inspection, you need to have it. For different car , it differs, hence, when I purchase mine, I make sure that the car can be maintain easily. The car can still run on the battery for quite some distance, until it is flat, by then you can fix the alternator back to recharge it....sigh..we singaporean.

Edited by Fortress

hhmm... not too nice to name the place, .... but it's at bukit batok and it's one of the ws that opens on sundays lor....

now i just wanna get a trusty ws and get a second opinion.... i dun wanna somethng to go wrong or the cable melting.... [sweatdrop][:/]

There's one lanky young mech who after installing new battery, (as my car engine died which driving and after off A/C, able to drive but showed low batt light) the low batt light still on. The hunky chap who always fix my car came along and brought tube like voltage instrument to measure. Think was only 12V.

May need tow-truck in fact as no power, engine cannot keep up..lucky i was on the verge liao...save some tow charge and rush to simon sly.gif

So far, no intermittent failure of any kind...my alternator juz died. Only symptom was 2-3 weeks ago, the alarm auto unlock whenever i depress the brake (by rite is brake, it will lock door). After top up batt water, symptom solved.

Thanks for your advise. I'll monitor mine in case similar sympton appears. sweatdrop.gif

Hi, i m having some sort of similiar problem. Idling was low, volt shows between 11 - 12 v @ nite when lights n air con switched on, and a click clock click clock sound coming from where the batt was. Mech told me it was insufficient air which cause low idling, but personally I feel it was the alternator... Yet to had it repaired cause feels like asking other workshop for opinion..

normally for me is if never spoil, dun change...heh heh...

but i think wat ur mech said is correct since battery in good health, the only thing that affect the low voltage would be the alternator...which is run by the alternator belt.

Ummmm, me staying east leh, [drivingcar] to yew tee too far leh... Got batt replace abt 6 mths ago, should be alrite, so my guess is alternator...

yah.... i have a feeling that the fault maybe the existing cable, so when he changed the alternator, and yet still not charging, so link a cable direct to the alternator lor.... so i will go ask for a second opinion, then if it's really true, then i go talk to the ws again.

if u off A/C, still have this prob??

If still have, maybe u need to adjust idling rpm to higher than what u have now. I guess u have less than 1000 idling rpm.

Off A/C no problem liao as rpm oredi adjusted to over 1000, but ixit alternator?? Got to get it replace asap, scared [drivingcar] half way breakdown le...