Pisces69 6th Gear August 24, 2005 Share August 24, 2005 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear October 6, 2005 Share October 6, 2005 the battery light came before the change. Changed a new one, with labour, paid $220. I realised that my fluctuating rpm was solved with the change. juz changed recon alternator, include labour today $100. Also changed yuasa battery. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 6, 2005 Share October 6, 2005 May I ask where u got it done? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear October 6, 2005 Share October 6, 2005 who else....simon... i threatened to go elsewhere to do where he quoted $155+25 labour.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear October 6, 2005 Share October 6, 2005 he even wanted me to leave it there till tomorw then collect. i said goodbye and going the famous MC..he buey tahan...help to find a recon one...note the $155 was a so call new one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yc86 Clutched October 9, 2005 Share October 9, 2005 can i go to simon there too? will he chop my carrot head? i think as u mentioned its the alternator prob for the engine dying when there is electrical load. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched October 9, 2005 Share October 9, 2005 Just take the alternator out and bring it down to Jalan Basah area where they do cleaning and re-conditioning of the alternator for only S$20. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear October 9, 2005 Share October 9, 2005 why not. Tell him recommended by red swift who did timing belt. This simon, u need to discuss price first with him at shop. He wont chop carrot as his pricing actually quite ok, but maybe i always wanna get discount...bad habits hard to quit. Yes mine is due to alternator prob which didnt provide sufficient electrical supply to the car and its accessories...hence engine died. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear October 9, 2005 Share October 9, 2005 i agree...i dun see why the old alternator cannot be use...need some reconditioning back to its previous condition. Labour to take out and put back was $25 by simon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear October 9, 2005 Share October 9, 2005 How/who pin-point your car trouble to the alternator? Any early symptom to look out for if alternator failing? Will alternator problem cause inter-mited engine failure or the kind which when fail, need tow-truck kind? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
FGY7022 Neutral Newbie October 9, 2005 Share October 9, 2005 (edited) if usual reading on a volt meter is 13.8 will engine running, then one day, it drop to 11.4, is that a alternator fault? ws tested the battery and say battery still in good condition. so say alternator fault. after changing, i notice there is a smaller cable attached to the atlernator direct to the battery positive. (that's an extra cable, there is aldy a existing thicker cable there.) then when i ask how come got a cable there, they say it's for extra charging.... at that time i also dun wanna talk so much liao, as long as my car is able to run again. but i think i kanna carrot head liao..... no i should say i am sure i kanna carrot head liao Edited October 9, 2005 by FGY7022 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear October 9, 2005 Share October 9, 2005 if usual reading on a volt meter is 13.8 will engine running, then one day, it drop to 11.4, is that a alternator fault? ws tested the battery and say battery still in good condition. so say alternator fault. after changing, i notice there is a smaller cable attached to the atlernator direct to the battery positive. (that's an extra cable, there is aldy a existing thicker cable there.) then when i ask how come got a cable there, they say it's for extra charging.... at that time i also dun wanna talk so much liao, as long as my car is able to run again. but i think i kanna carrot head liao..... no i should say i am sure i kanna carrot head liao If the cable is attached to the battery negative, its probably grounding....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
FGY7022 Neutral Newbie October 9, 2005 Share October 9, 2005 no, it's to the positive. the "red" side of the battery.... i thought of going to another place to have a second opinion. anyone you all recommend i can go and ask for second opinion? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear October 9, 2005 Share October 9, 2005 There's one lanky young mech who after installing new battery, (as my car engine died which driving and after off A/C, able to drive but showed low batt light) the low batt light still on. The hunky chap who always fix my car came along and brought tube like voltage instrument to measure. Think was only 12V. May need tow-truck in fact as no power, engine cannot keep up..lucky i was on the verge liao...save some tow charge and rush to simon So far, no intermittent failure of any kind...my alternator juz died. Only symptom was 2-3 weeks ago, the alarm auto unlock whenever i depress the brake (by rite is brake, it will lock door). After top up batt water, symptom solved. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear October 9, 2005 Share October 9, 2005 if battery and alternator working well, it shd maintain think 13-14V Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear October 9, 2005 Share October 9, 2005 which shop u went bro?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yc86 Clutched October 9, 2005 Share October 9, 2005 Just take the alternator out and bring it down to Jalan Basah area where they do cleaning and re-conditioning of the alternator for only S$20. wah~ is it easy to take out without a jack? but the car can run without an alternator? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yc86 Clutched October 9, 2005 Share October 9, 2005 why not. Tell him recommended by red swift who did timing belt. This simon, u need to discuss price first with him at shop. He wont chop carrot as his pricing actually quite ok, but maybe i always wanna get discount...bad habits hard to quit. Yes mine is due to alternator prob which didnt provide sufficient electrical supply to the car and its accessories...hence engine died. ok.. i'll go there tmr if i have time... should be able to settle for less than $120 right? now cant idle properly (like want to die like that) i think becos of the alternator loading the engine too much.. on lights even worse straight away die. at trafic light must step throttle... scared need tow truck ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...