Sleepengine Neutral Newbie September 12, 2005 Share September 12, 2005 Hi fellow chevians I've just gotten my optra a few weeks back and is still in the breaking in stage. I notice that when i turn on the fan without the a/c, the air coming out of the vent is rather hot. That's regardless of the time of the day/night or whether it's circulated or non-circulated air. Yesterday, i drove for the first time in my sandals. when i stretch my left foot fully forward, i can feel air blowing at my feet (although the dial is set to just air from the vents). With the a/c turned off, the air is so hot i think i'll burn my feet if i leave it there for too long. When i turn on the a/c, the air is warm, although the vents are bowing cold air. Are these normal? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lappy Neutral Newbie September 14, 2005 Share September 14, 2005 Firstly congrats to you on your new optra. But sadly i dun really know if the problem you say happens to mine optra.I know that when i turn on the air con its warm aiir then it will cool down slowly.I oso just got my air con blower changed recently at SA due to a 'cricket sound'when i switch the fan speed to 1.i'll try ur way and see if i have the same problem as u. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepengine Neutral Newbie September 14, 2005 Author Share September 14, 2005 i also have the "cricket sound" also, i can hear it even at higher speed although the noise from the air flow covers it up a bit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lappy Neutral Newbie September 15, 2005 Share September 15, 2005 Bring in to SA.Let them know that u wan to change the blower.I did that and they changed the blower for me.according to SA the blower is upgraded version.you can oso try coz 5 days already i haven hear any cricket.Changing takes about 3-5hours.Good Luck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cracker 1st Gear September 15, 2005 Share September 15, 2005 to all the new optra owners,,, welcome to the world of cricket !!! search the thread and u will discover how many of us had gone for a replacement..including urs truly !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xris Neutral Newbie September 16, 2005 Share September 16, 2005 What exactly does these 'cricket sound' sounds like? Is it norm in all optras? Have not heard from mine so far or is it too early to tell? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chevro Neutral Newbie September 16, 2005 Share September 16, 2005 RE:Firstly congrats to you on your new optra. But sadly i dun really know if the problem you say happens to mine optra.I know that when i turn on the air con its warm aiir then it will cool down slowly.I oso just got my air con blower changed recently at SA due to a 'cricket sound'when i switch the fan speed to 1.i'll try ur way and see if i have the same problem as u. I have the same problem. I just tried yesterday. On the Fan without AC on and turn the air come out from both up and down. Then the hot air will come out. If you wear slipper you will feel the very hot air come to you toes. Any other experience? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lappy Neutral Newbie September 16, 2005 Share September 16, 2005 so far other than this .the optra is good .FC is quite bad lah due to the car's weight. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cracker 1st Gear September 16, 2005 Share September 16, 2005 turn on ur airon unit...and listen if there for sound coming from ur blower.. it is located below the glove box. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lappy Neutral Newbie September 16, 2005 Share September 16, 2005 u can try driving with ur radio off.fan speed can be at 1 then u may be able to catch the cricket..........or u can get a fren to place his ear near the glove compartment while u drive..............the cricket is very irritating once u notice it,,,,u can't wait to get ride of it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xris Neutral Newbie September 16, 2005 Share September 16, 2005 Thanks for the info... Will try it and let u guys know if my have the 'cricket cricket' sound... Hopefully don haf or else will hav to make a trip to SA to get it settled... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Augleo Neutral Newbie September 19, 2005 Share September 19, 2005 just go thru the 6K servicing. i hv feedback to SA too that the air-cond oso giving out "cricket sound" they replaced the part. still monitoring. so far the air-cond is good...better than my previous car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lappy Neutral Newbie September 19, 2005 Share September 19, 2005 Air con for tis car slow,takes time to cool but if u turn on the fan full speed u can't even hear ur radio Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepengine Neutral Newbie September 29, 2005 Author Share September 29, 2005 went for my 1k servicing recently. think kumar was the person that service me. i complain abt the cricket sound from the aircon and he told me it's because i turn on the blower but did not turn on aircon. The hot air from the engine burnt the blower and hence the cause of the cricket sound. Anyway, they change my blower so it's better now. he advise that if i use the blower without aircon, i should at least turn off the circulated-air button or better still, wind down the windows. i also asked him about the auto-lock for the door, but he say for optra, they can't do it. it'll cost $80+ to install. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tann Clutched September 29, 2005 Share September 29, 2005 Hi to all Chevy owner (AVEO n OPTRA) if you want to know why our car aircon is like that wan, its because all Jap and other car have termostat and sensoe control to cut off the aircon when it reaches the temp require, but CHEVY don have that and our car keep running not stop and furhermore you will noitice that when we start the engine to warm our engine can be very hot due to poor ventilation. and some of us AVEO and OPTRA now are looking into it to MOD the ventilation which we already have come out with some solution. I always enjoy meeting up those who are interested and brain storm together, and if you are also 1 of them do call us and meet up. 91052248 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sid16 Neutral Newbie September 30, 2005 Share September 30, 2005 (edited) hi guys. its been long time since i login . by the way the crackling sound probably came from the aircon filter. try check the aircon filter first before sending it to sa for check. i ever experience such incident. i found out that the aircon filter was not installed properly. after i place it properly to position, the sound disappear. luckly i didnt send it to sa for check. try check the aircon filter first before sending it to sa for check.the aircon filter for aveo is place right below the top glove compartment. to acess to it u have to open the lower glove compartment and pull out the swinging glove compartment tray. than pull out the filter and install it back. its a bit tricky to pull it out cause the casing of the glove compartment obstruction. slowly pull it out and turn it either to the left or right(which way u comfortable with). then install it back in(the clip must be snugly fit into the holder). try it see if it works. if it didnt well guess u have to send ur car to sa for check liao..hehehe. just an advice . Edited September 30, 2005 by Sid16 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tealbutt Neutral Newbie October 4, 2005 Share October 4, 2005 ooo i didn't know that ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...