Toyota Vios price

Eyke

Cramped as in sitting 3 adults or lack of headroom.

Hope the price will drop further [laugh] The Vios certainly looks better than the bulky Corollas and Camrys. The rear lamps take on that of the current Premio (Corona) which is available from PIs. [thumbsup]

Any idea how much is Vios' OMV?

I feel the Vios looks quite dated.

It remind me of the 1996 model of the

Honda Accord.

The City definitely looks much better

especially the dressed up version.

However, the pricing for the City is just

toooo high!

On e paper, the City seems to be less powerful than the Vios. But I'm not really used to City's styling - it looks like a boot grafted to the rear of Fit/Jazz.

Pricing aside, I've doubts over the CVTs reliability. There are quite a no. of problematic CVTs in the ES Civics. The 7 speed CVT is a new box...dunno what problems may arise.

1.81m......

I push back the driver seat while I was trying the seat......

Then i came to the rear seat.....

So i guess it will be cramped for the legs if you have two 1.8m persons on the car.

Ya! But don't just look at the horses (bhp).

Check the torque. Altho Vios have better torque,

it is achieved at 4000+ rpm wherelse the City

is achieve at 2000+ rpm.

Civic ESi have no CVT. I think you are referring

to the VTI. What's the problem you heard on the CVT?

same sentiments here....

These are my holding back factors from considering the City:

1) only 88bhp [:(]

2) styling a bit weird; like the front and rear don't come from the same car [subjective]

3) 77k price tag hard to swallow. [crazy]

4) CVT tranny's reliability. [1st hand experience]

Edited by Vtecc

>> Civic ESi have no CVT. I think you are referring

to the VTI. What's the problem you heard on the CVT >>

Think Koolaba was referring to ES series Civics, not Civic ESi. ES series is the latest Civics that we're seeing on the road.

As for Civic ESi, it's actually from EG Series.

HTH. [;)]

BTW, with regards to CVT problem, you might want to check out SHC. Heard some Civic bros there have changed more than one tranny.

Hey VTECC,

Thanks for clarification.

Wow! CVT so much problem, KM workshop

must be very busy lor! KM sold so many of

these leh! City good enuf to be exported back

to Japan, which says a lot. Vios on the other

hand sold only to other parts of Asia.

BTW, did you see pics of a dressed up City?

Looks really good!

Cheers!

"BTW, with regards to CVT problem, you might want to check out SHC. Heard some Civic bros there have changed more than one tranny. "

No need to go so far.. I can testify this.

My dad's ex car when for surgery 4 times..within 1 year. Each time it spends 1 day at the workshop.. complained about time waste, they only give us $50 petrol voucher.

Eventually, divorced this piece of Friday Crap car and bought the Toyota Picnic.

1 week after we sold, KM general manager sent us a letter on "guaranteed resolution".

Anyway, lastest was I heard from another chap, it has been solved... (my dad met a chap at the service centre which had his car sent in 3 times for this problem).

To be exact, buy any new civics after Dec 2002, should be quite ok..

Hi Cool!

No wonder KM giving bargains on the Civic for 2002

production and clearing stock.

So you think City should not have these problem on the CVT?

Cheers!

OIC...I'm 1.8m. But I dun think the driver's seat needs to be pushed back all e way for a 1.8m tall person to drive a manual Vios right?

Worst comes to worst, paste a decal "This car is limited to take no persons taller than 1.8m" [laugh]

Yah i also hear lots of complains from other forums, from my dad's friends, and even workshop in hong kong about the CVT problems....

hope tat the new civic rectify this problem... but i guess gotto wait for a yr to be really noe the reliability....

Yah...find the styling a bit weird too. Think e Suzuki Liana sedan has a better shape compared to the City although both cars are based on e same concept of grafting a boot to a hatch.

I am not sure if it was all the way back, but the space just fit me nice when i sat in front.

But when i moved to the back, then the lack of legroom shows.

I guess maybe as long as the passenger behind is not too tall should be ok.

The current city has no such tranny problem becos it's not using CVT... Let's hope they have rectify the problem [:)]