Gantan88 Clutched October 3, 2005 Author Share October 3, 2005 (edited) Scali getz torque peak around 5k... worse Sorry typo.. i mean 3k.. not 5k... Edited October 3, 2005 by Gantan88 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear October 3, 2005 Share October 3, 2005 haha cannot be la ur getz got vtec ar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oneshot1kill Neutral Newbie October 3, 2005 Share October 3, 2005 you all still discussing on wat gear to use to get up genting arh ? just turn the ignition n step on the pedal n GO la dont think so much la Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Car_guru Neutral Newbie October 3, 2005 Share October 3, 2005 actually i haven tried the effect of D2 and L before.. in going downslope in singapore usually in the multistorey shopping mall carpark, i put D2.. but cant feel any difference compared to putting to D... as in... i stil need to use the brake a lot :p..... To understand this, it is good to understand how the D2 and L position works. These positions will limit the highest gear that the gearbox will shift into. For L, it is the 1st gear. For D2, the gearbox can shift between 1st and 2nd gear, and not stuck in 2nd gear alone (however there are some cars that allow the gearbox to be in 2nd gear only in the 2 position). For D without overdrive, the gearbox can engage the 1st to 3rd gear, and for D, all 4 gears can be engaged. So when you're descending multi-storey carpark, at that slow speed, the gearbox will automatically be in 1st gear WHETHER OR NOT you're in L, D2 or D. In this case, the position of your gearshift does not matter, hence you can't feel the effect on it. However, when the gearbox is in 2nd gear already (for example), and you downshift to L position, you can definitely feel the engine braking. As the carpark slope is quite narrow, you'll have to go very slow, so even in 1st gear, you still have to use the brake. However, when descending Genting, you should be able to cope with speeds of around 40 kph. So with the gearbox in 1st, the engine braking effect is usually quite pronounced. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched October 3, 2005 Author Share October 3, 2005 I think you have answered my question hoping the breaking effect is there when going down Genting... Singapore roads... no matter how i try, i cant feel the effect.. i tot getz engine braking no good, so i tried corolla... also the same really looking forward to my Genting trip... :p Eh jus to double confirm one thing.. when driving Getz... in D gear, the highest is only 3rd gear? When should i use the overdrive mode? (the toggle button below the gear knob, when i press on it, the display O/D or something... i think this is the one). I tried using overdrive mode for overtaking .. but very dissapointing... i think i am better off overtaking in D .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Erikkson Neutral Newbie October 3, 2005 Share October 3, 2005 most probably i will switch off the aircon and wind down window to enjoy the cool air outside when i am abt 1/3 the journey up the hill. The cold air is also better for the engine isnt it? bro it used to be, but the air is no more cool in Genting....maybe cause of the increased deforestation Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched October 3, 2005 Author Share October 3, 2005 Ok lar.. when i went up 2 months ago.. wah still quite shiork.... but temperature may be higher than the past though... so better faster go up while we can before the temperature rise further Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear October 3, 2005 Share October 3, 2005 yalor i also say, cannot go the drop gear lor what so difficult Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atlantis_boi Clutched October 4, 2005 Share October 4, 2005 it's ok, the brake will still bite even on overheat i think. just make sure ur brake pad isn't very old can liao, worse come to worst use handbrake lor but must use carefully When using the handbrake, dun 'accidently' overtake Turbo Wiras & Wajas u mean Rem 2 use the drain gutters oso 86 oso can overtake FD. Who says getz cant win TC cars Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear October 4, 2005 Share October 4, 2005 Rem 2 use the drain gutters oso....86 oso can overtake FD. Who says getz cant win TC cars wei u watch too much initial D liao la Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tankm Neutral Newbie October 4, 2005 Share October 4, 2005 When should i use the overdrive mode? (the toggle button below the gear knob, when i press on it, the display O/D or something... i think this is the one). I tried using overdrive mode for overtaking .. but very dissapointing... i think i am better off overtaking in D .... Disengage O/D during overtaking for more power. O/D is meant for cruising and helps your car fuel economy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear October 4, 2005 Share October 4, 2005 Hi forumers, I am contemplating to drive up genting in a getz 1.3A, wondering if this car can make it a not. 1 driver and 1 passenger only, average size one.. I read in other threads about sunny going up genting and underpowered, using D1, D2 and D3 when going downhill.... but i am really worried about getz 1.3 because this car already a bit underpower even driving on normal roads and it is an auto. Did anyone drive up Genting in a getz 1.3 before? Can shed some advice? Getz i think only have D, D2 and L gear. Is 'L' equivalent to D1 in most cars? I only have 3 gears to play around with... appreciate if anyone can shed some light on this. Thanks! if your getz is properly and regularly serviced i dun see why not... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched October 4, 2005 Author Share October 4, 2005 Oops.. looks like i got all the concept wrong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear October 4, 2005 Share October 4, 2005 if you want to drive 100km all the way up to genting then i thinking forget about the Getz...if you just want to get up to Genting...the Getz definitely will bring you there....even a Kelisa can carry 4 person up Genting...what do you think ??? People say Sunny going up underpower...ask them more...they will tell you...it's my fren's fren's fren's fren's say 1...ha ha ha ha ha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atlantis_boi Clutched October 4, 2005 Share October 4, 2005 Paiseh Paiseh, juz watched the anime over the wkend Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atlantis_boi Clutched October 4, 2005 Share October 4, 2005 I tink 1.3L shld b more than sufficient 2 go up genting. Rem back those days where 1.6L is not so common, there r more 1.3L cars like the 1.3 Lancer CB & 1.3 Corolla XL, they oso go up genting with no problem. Juz step on it & with the correct gear, u shld b doin real fine Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear October 4, 2005 Share October 4, 2005 my 1.0l swift also going there soon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahdi Neutral Newbie October 4, 2005 Share October 4, 2005 no problem de la....... is jus would ur car get overheated after dragging low gears a not... but as for a 1.3A getz, service ur car, coolant change, engine oil everything then chiong..confirm no problem de.... i been overtaken by a kancil when climbing clope in my sunny...so why can;t a getz do it? not enough power climb slower lo.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...