Swift underpowered?

Hang_kilat

wah.. din know we are neighbour leh... mine 509A carpark.. and yap i usually goes up on 2nd gear for 1st and 2nd storey only... then come 3rd too narrow got to slow down and down 1st gear... [sweatdrop]

yup the century run... tried at wc highway just outside macs [sweatdrop]

been trying to cut the timing down but cannot leh. change intake to open pod with shield.. and added a CAI pipe today havn't tried again but don't think it'll affect

i scared the oil will get eaten up or the oil temp/water temp exceed.. have the WT gauge but lazy to install.. anyway revving eats up the coolant, every 2 weeks must top up 1 bottle

yup its manual 92 swiftie... she was supposed to do it below 10sec 13yrs ago i think.. now say 16 sec very pai seh le [blush]

tried by myself also not much diff... cut bout .2sec off only.

but hard to time 1 hand stopwatch + wheel n other hand on gear.. [sweatdrop]

even thought the speedo was lagging or under reading cos it felt fast in the car till look at the watch [:|]

heheh... maybe during the meetup can test n compare with other swifties.. [bounce2]

Even if 13yrs ago oso quite impossible 4 ur swift to hit sub 10secs unless ur ride is the Gti or with illegal mods. 16secs ok la..I see the 0-100 timing of the Picanto & kelisa is oso around there.

hahahah....drive swift only mahh

but still starlet at heart...

when i see a starlet on the road i get Reaaalllllyy Jealous sometimes ya know....

haizz....

yeah its the 1.5M

i tried using 2nd gear and the car like wanna die like that. and im the only one inside.

so lan lan have to use 1st gear...so i was thinking if the new sift was underpowered coz i didnt have any problem with my 1.3 starlet last time.

maybe i got it wrong, maybe its not if its underpowered or not, maybe it could be something else...hmmmm

uhhh, whats ABS? u mean dont use the brakes to slow down?? just bash thru izzit?

cannot lahh bro, im not as skill as u, furthurmore, new car so have to jaga abit... [laugh]

Edited by Hang_kilat

yeah true, but without power cannot go up also mahh,...

or maybe i might have gotten the whole thing wrong coz,

it could be the gearbox

or the gears itself

heck, it could even be the fuel im using.

i dunno....

Probably the gear ratio for the 2nd is the cause. The main thing is to understand the design limitation, can't have everything. But for straight line accel the 2nd is design to give u more push b4 3rd as compared to your old starlet on level ground.

The weight also a contributing factor.

If momentum is sufficient, then shd be no problem. Don't think u ride is underpowered.

yeah, i guess it could be what u've mentioned. momentum and gear ratios. thats why i was kinda confused at first that the swifty has great acceleration on straight roads but on slopes it doesnt do that well.

xtraun ur right about the pick up time, really have to step on it just to make it to the top. [dizzy]

thnx guys for all your help!!

cheers~! [thumbsup]