Zirco Neutral Newbie April 15, 2002 Share April 15, 2002 (edited) I koe this is a very very old topic liao. But just wan to bring up for comment from you guys. Which car is better - Conti or Jap. In term of safety feature, reliability & durability and others (please add). For Singapore weather and environment. A lot of ppl would say that it Jap (cos a lot buy jap). But is it true that conti (with so many years of r & d) still cannot match jap car? Not flame pls. Edited April 19, 2002 by Admin ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear April 15, 2002 Share April 15, 2002 As a matter of fact, its still being debated in cartorque at delphiforums. I am sure that its not as simple as where the car originates from but the brand plays a part as well? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 15, 2002 Share April 15, 2002 AFAIC, Ask Brick, Mondy, and the guys, certainly feel that contis are much better in handling, holding, body structure, suspension. I have driven a few japs after i got me e36, now e46, and personally, i feel that the hold cannot be matched. Ask Brick and he will vouch. My boss Brick was hit by a jap 8 mohtns ago, his bumper, 5deg bend inferior, the jap civic, whoaaaaaaaa man. Just my thoughts. u guys??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear April 15, 2002 Share April 15, 2002 In terms of high speed stability and handling, i'd have to agree. Conti cars somehow impart a "safer" feeling and a greater sense of security at speed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zirco Neutral Newbie April 15, 2002 Author Share April 15, 2002 As a matter of fact, its still being debated in cartorque at delphiforums. I am sure that its not as simple as where the car originates from but the brand plays a part as well? I agree with the brand thingy! I think perception, personal experience and peer group oso play a part on the decision. But i think the conti are improving day by day on the above and technology. I m not saying that i prefer conti but that wat i think. Any comment? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zirco Neutral Newbie April 15, 2002 Author Share April 15, 2002 But wat really make ppl think jap is better (singapore as a whole - buy more jap than conti)? If barring the price, wat would you choose? conti or jap? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear April 15, 2002 Share April 15, 2002 Like for example i used to own a honda and now i have a ford. To know the difference is to try each and make your own decisions. Someone has to start the ball rolling and since buying a car is a big personal decision, you cant simply be influenced by your peers. I know ALL my frnds didnt support me when i got my ford! But after taking a ride, they were convinced that conti cars are as good, if not better than jap cars. Just my $0.01 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool Neutral Newbie April 15, 2002 Share April 15, 2002 Frankly.. if it wasn't the price and the low OMV (except for BMW, Merc)... I will definitely buy a Conti.. Again.. I am the kind that like to mod my car, DIY ... I would go for a Jap as parts are cheaper and available widely (waterloo is my fav place !!) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sparetyre Neutral Newbie April 15, 2002 Share April 15, 2002 Hey bro, That's not a fair comparison lah. "Solidness" does not equate to safety lah. The "softness" of the Jap cars is also part of their safety feature right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seansene 1st Gear April 15, 2002 Share April 15, 2002 Woaaaaaahhhh.... this will reopen a whole can of worms, but let's dig in anyway! Ok look, don't talk about Jap cars like Japan's climate is anywhere close to ours. Climates have nothing to do with it. fact is, many contis used to have horrible reliability problems simply because they never sorted them out. The mid-nineties however, have been a renaissance of sorts for european brands, and most of them have sat up and paid attention to those niggling irritants that can spoil an otherwise excellent car. I don't believe it's a case of can contis now match japs or vice versa, but rather have their corporate cultures learnt from each other? Do the japs produce more exciting, less anonymous motors? Can the non-premium contis build machines that won't rust, catch fire or fall apart within six months? Can passion and quality co-exist? By and large, I think yes. We are beginning to see some swallowing of collective pride, acknowledgement that there is a lot to learn from the other side, and get on with the job. Witness the Lexus IS200, Honda Stream, Ford Focus (yes, I had to throw that in! ), even AR 156. All more than decent cars in most respects, great in some. The irony of it all is that every towkay's favourite has actually seen a decline in build standards over the years. All you naysayers, just take a look inside an A-class and try to tell me it's better than a Seat Toledo (which sells for less than 75% of the price). Why are japs so popular over here? Well, why are contis so popular in Europe? It's all about perception inertia and snobbery. In S'pore, that's a self-fulfilling prophesy (why buy a jap? High resale value, of course. Why? Well, there are so many on the road, they have to be good, and parts are readily available. So demand is high, hence the high resale value...) Kills me when pp can't see this self-defeating argument and think there's a logical, even geographical (yes, that climate thing again) reason. There, rant half over. Fire away! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie April 15, 2002 Share April 15, 2002 Lemme dig up more worms....... Contis, general perception of having poor resale, reliability and to a certain extend "boring". Japs have good resale (that's speaking for SG only) and a long history of reliability (for most that is). However, to each his one is a reason for sticking to a Conti or Jap. Loyal Conti owners will vouch for the overall "solid" build, high speed stability and perhaps a more relaxed cruising feel. Whereas for a Jap is biased to economy of running, perhaps less attention grabbing and overall great point A to B car without the headaches......oh and more easy access to parts and mods Why I won't shift out of a Conti? Well, I'm hooked on big solid cars with TORQUE, but that's my $0.02 and I'll finish eating my worms. P.S. That's also the market biase is respective countries of origin Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade Neutral Newbie April 15, 2002 Share April 15, 2002 Can o' worms, here we come....there's a whole lot more I'm tempted to add to Seansene's prologue on this eternal East vs West debate, but at the end of the day, like Magfocus, I also have to agree that it's got to be a decision determined by honest personal experience, not peer pressure. I can't say I'm totally unbiased in this issue (in fact, I think I started off on this forum on some topic of similar nature, tho' less....err....controversial) but I honestly don't believe that the preceived popularity and/or long-standing prejudices should be allowed to play a big, if any, part in your decision-making process. Find out the true facts, try out the real thing, make your stand and live with it. As the more-seasoned members of this forum would know, I'm not a car owner. Yet. But I've been spending quite a bit of time collecting data, both from a tangible and 'feeling' standpoint (ie., testdriving, a lot of it, different generations of a make, if possible) and this process has been the main source of me forming my opinion. And it's still work in progress. Why do people think Jap is good ? The main reason seems to be, as far as anyone's been able to tell, is 'Good resale value' - my opinion is quite as addressed in detail by seansene already and elsewhere in this forum. Compounding the issue is outdated perception. Example - how many ppl out there still believe Skoda is of the same build standard as a Lada or Trabant ? Based on the number of people I've spoken to, a lot. In fact, someone to whom I raised the possibility of getting a Skoda actually thought I'd actually lost it. Personally, I'd go for the continental make - simply because, at the end of the day, barring past-generation rust buckets, percieved unreliability, a lemon or two and resale value notwithstanding, I believe it's worth paying for what you get in them. Doesn't make your decision-making life any easier, does this ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zirco Neutral Newbie April 16, 2002 Author Share April 16, 2002 Thanks! wow! lots of info provided by you guys. And i believe the car agent play a part on promoting the car too. Jap agents or manufacturers are promoting their car more aggressively methink. Conti agents only start to be more aggressively recently. Good promotion and advert really make a diff. Agree? I drive a conti (first car) and hv yet to try any jap before (not experience enuff - the only time i drive one was in driving school) so i m not in a position to judge. And you guys really help a lot. Thanks again! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear April 16, 2002 Share April 16, 2002 Hi Zirco, what car are you driving by the way? I dont think jap cars need much advertising! Just by word of mouth that a new model is coming(like the new corolla or sunny) would send throngs of Singaporeans streaming into the showrooms! The SEs there have a good life cos the car practically sells itself Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zirco Neutral Newbie April 16, 2002 Author Share April 16, 2002 Hi Zirco, what car are you driving by the way? I dont think jap cars need much advertising! Just by word of mouth that a new model is coming(like the new corolla or sunny) would send throngs of Singaporeans streaming into the showrooms! The SEs there have a good life cos the car practically sells itself IBIZA Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear April 16, 2002 Share April 16, 2002 Must take care of your baby! You are a rare breed! You have any pics to share? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade Neutral Newbie April 16, 2002 Share April 16, 2002 Way cool ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade Neutral Newbie April 16, 2002 Share April 16, 2002 Thanks! wow! lots of info provided by you guys. And i believe the car agent play a part on promoting the car too. Jap agents or manufacturers are promoting their car more aggressively methink. Conti agents only start to be more aggressively recently. Good promotion and advert really make a diff. Agree? I drive a conti (first car) and hv yet to try any jap before (not experience enuff - the only time i drive one was in driving school) so i m not in a position to judge. And you guys really help a lot. Thanks again! Feel that you're quite right there about aggressive promotion, in general, tho' things go way beyond just aggressive promotion - can't help but feel it's got something to do with prevailing attitudes. When was the last time you saw a non-premium non-Asian brand being promoted aggressively ? Can't even remember the last time I saw a "In a Seat of power" ad on TV. But, yes, thankfully, I think the mindset's changing and so's the car landscape. Alas, I don't think the general Jap vs Conti stance is going to change anytime soon. At, not in this lifetime..... Ps - So, which generation Ibiza do you drive ? And when do we get to see them photos ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...