Gabjen Neutral Newbie November 6, 2005 Share November 6, 2005 Hi,think of getting a OPC soon as kids are growing up and also unable to squeeze into one taxi any longer for 5 person.Can any bro here advice on which car is value for money to go for?Thanks[:)] ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear November 6, 2005 Share November 6, 2005 Depends on your need and budget lor. There's quite a lot of good deal but there could only be a few to really suit your need. Usual criteria would be fuel consumption, maintenace cost, performance, the "look" factor or space (MPV, sedan or hatch). I don't think you will be looking at coupe since it's suppose to be family car. Some people are also quite particular with branding and the car orgin. Some said Korean are value for money, but some just don't like Kimchi. Some hate the jepun make and only drive conti cars. It's your call. Actually, do you really need a car in the 1st place. That's another thing to considered coz you might be better off renting a car when you are going out, b'coz when kids grow up, they usually wouldn't stick to you so often. Anyway, do let us know your preference and budget and we can better advice you on the "best buy". Cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabjen Neutral Newbie November 6, 2005 Author Share November 6, 2005 Hi,thanks for the reply,mine is a new licence,so I don't think it's gonna be easy to rent a car.As for criteria wise,not really particular about FC,performance or brand,but maintainence will be one of the factor.Budget wise,frankly quite comfy for any car in the range of Aveo,Cerato or Lancer.Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atlantis_boi Clutched November 7, 2005 Share November 7, 2005 (edited) A wkend plate Cerato/lancer or wuld in the 30 ~ 30+K region. If ur budget allows, y not go 4 a normal plate Picanto..So u wun have restrictions on using the car Edited November 7, 2005 by Atlantis_boi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brownboy Neutral Newbie November 7, 2005 Share November 7, 2005 To maximise the benefit of getting an OPC, go for the cheapest car in the market, otherwise stick to the normal car. This is due to the flat $17,000 rebate given to you upfront. Let me show you an example. If you buy a normal Picanto at $37,000, the OPC price is $20,000. That means you get a discount of almost 46%! If you buy a Camry at $89,000, the OPC price is $72,000. The discount is only 19%. So, go for the cheapest one in the market. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear November 7, 2005 Share November 7, 2005 But normal plate means he wouldn't have tax rebate, so for a normal 1.5/6L car, road tax would be about $800+. Moreover, daily driving instead of his usual transport route would also result in high running cost due to petrol, carparking at workplace, ERP, etc. We also cannot ignore the $17 upfront rebate for a new car. Anyway, as we are only suggesting to him, it's his decision. I understand your point on getting a normal car rather than OPC. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear November 7, 2005 Share November 7, 2005 HI Gabjen, In that case, test drive the few cars which you have in mind, the best is with all your family members. In this case, "test sit" it also to make sure everyone can fit in the car in comfort. Aveo might be too small in my own opinion for a family of 5 but depend on sizes lar. After you have tried it, come back to MCF and maybe do a poll. I'm sure a lot of others who have test or driven the cars listed will give their opinion, including the maintenance cost. Do note that some of the comments given here are quite one-sided, so you have to discount it also. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabjen Neutral Newbie November 7, 2005 Author Share November 7, 2005 Hi,thanks for all the advice from everyone,sorry for getting back late as just got back from work.Not considering the Picanto due my height is 1.8m ,kind of small for a family car.As for a normal car,not really worth it for my case due parking at workplace being very expensive also my working hours are rather odd.Infact most of my colleagues including my boss put their cars at home and take a bus to work.Anyway,will get back to you guys once I make a trip down to the showrooms.Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear November 8, 2005 Share November 8, 2005 No problem, take your time to test it out and come back to us if u need help including getting you a good SE. Actually it would be wise to get a SE before going down to showroom. We do have a few "inhouse" SE for certain make. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twnll 1st Gear November 8, 2005 Share November 8, 2005 What is the future of WEC? I understand it will be abolished in 2007. What then of existing WEC? Compulsory conversion to normal car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear November 8, 2005 Share November 8, 2005 I think they have been converted to OPC liao. Not too sure but i think you can find the infor in one.motoring. As for the future, I think WEC don't have any future since they were replaced by OPC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lowchia 1st Gear November 8, 2005 Share November 8, 2005 Hi,think of getting a OPC soon as kids are growing up and also unable to squeeze into one taxi any longer for 5 person.Can any bro here advice on which car is value for money to go for?Thanks[:)] dun buy OPC la...now COE so cheap....if u dun get normal plate now...trust me u will regret it loh...many of my friends do...it is really sianzz to have the restrictions: 7pm to 7am on weekdays After 3pm Sat Whole day for sun. If you really wan to have a big and cheap car...take Matrix loh...it big and comfortable...but too bad it is a drinker!! Anyway if u dun use the car much...FC would not be a too much problem for u Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabjen Neutral Newbie November 8, 2005 Author Share November 8, 2005 Actually the car for me is just for a transport for my family outing in the evening on my offday or weekends for my wife to bring the kids out.I really don't see the point on getting a normal plate car at the moment not that I can't afford it,it's just that most of the time it will be sitting in the MSCP during 7am-7pm weekday like my colleauges.As for Matrix,just spoken to some of the guys in my office who are past and present Korean car owners,for my budget,they adviced me to take a look at Jap make since the car price gone down quite significantly nowadays.Will go to showrooms then come back to you guys again.Thanks for the advice anyway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lowchia 1st Gear November 9, 2005 Share November 9, 2005 lol see u loh....take for my case...when i first say i wan to buy a car to my family members...they say buy waste money...seldom use...useless etc. But after i got one....all of sudden my family all wan to use my car liao...hahahha becos they noe car is comfortable and convient...maybe ur children will ask u to send them to school after u get the car...if u use OPC then u cannot liao. Anyway its ur decision but i just hope that u can consider carefully!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lucien Neutral Newbie November 11, 2005 Share November 11, 2005 no lar, nowadays no point opc. bro, buy the big big lancer. sure got space 1. u just need to put up with slower pickup on low torque Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabjen Neutral Newbie November 11, 2005 Author Share November 11, 2005 Yes,it's one of my choice.A friend of mine drove a OPC one ,found it quite spacious.Anyway,no hurry to get anything at the moment after all the advices by some of the bros here,will wait after CNY see how the situation goes.Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear November 11, 2005 Share November 11, 2005 Lancer very big meh? Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear November 11, 2005 Share November 11, 2005 Like what i told one of our brother here, you might also need to observe the bank interest rate. The saving which you so-called got from the presumely low COE might be wipe out with the increase of bank interest rate. Cheers ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...