Forced induction or NA

Chenqien

Die man! Racing clutch can force your left leg to take part in Mr Universe. But astounding that the Belgians can coax 140HP out of a measely 1.4L DOHC. Stock internals! I think they replaced the exhaust system only and hacked the ECU. The plastic variable manifold cannot take turbo pressure so they NA tuned it to churn out that kind of horsepower.

haha.. only the left leg .. :)

i can imagine the high end is getting a good torque for that kind of power. the DOHC is certainly helping. the cam must be very tall to sustain the flow.

ermm .... ok I'm lost. Hopefully our Resident Drift King Elfenstar can enlighten you a little something about dyno charts. [sweatdrop]

I'm driving a TS 1.6 [drivingcar]

Togue king lah [:p] I don't drift intentionally [laugh]

Don't you mean TS 1.6 + extra 400cc + TC??? [shocked]

adding chargers means u need more coolants for the engine... also equals extra weight...

and to tc and engine u need to lower its compression ratio first.. tt means b4 a turbo kick in.. a normal 1.6 saloon can win an evo on the straights!!!!

tt's what i saw in a topgear video introducing the evo...

The weight increase from the TC/SC is nearly negligible as compared to the weight increase due to increase in block size etc from having the extra capacity thats needed to make the same amount of power.

You sure a 1.6 noamal car can beat the evo??? I can outrun a 6l LS1 powered car up to roughly 120kmh on stock boost, but i cant even keep up with an evo...

dun ask me ask tt topgear botak guy

maybe b4 turbo kicks in for evo

Edited by Chenqien

adding chargers means u need more coolants for the engine... also equals extra weight...

The FI concept is to yield higher output from a smaller block, similar to the output that you would have gotten from a bigger block.

yes, it is hotter, still can run in the safe operating perimeter. :)

really depends on application. :)

Well said, and spot on.

Thats the reason why WRC cars use a 4cyl TC engine as opposed to a larger V6 or 8 with similar output... the exra weight from the V6 and V8 means the car will handle less well.

yesh thanks.. bought up this topic cos seeing all the youngster ( i am quite young myself at 21) always tc this sc that kinda pissed off ...

i was really in awe with how they increase power output with NA enigne like using vtec or vvti or vanos.. and there is a reason why bmw sticks by NA engines even with their M series... honda too... M6 or NSX those are flagships of respective makes and engines at their NATURAL best... [:)]

Well bmw is planning a TC car liao [laugh] Although i do prefer FI, when it comes to bmw, i'm a bit of a purist and would rather they stay NA.

As for honda's cars... the best in the world have all been TC'ed anyway (take the incredible amuse S2k for e.g.).

There is a limit to how much power NA cars can make. just chuck a TC on and see how much more it can make.

Actually, watch TG for entertainment. Not many car entertainment programs out there since the demise of Knight Rider. laugh.gif

genie, you have to get your hands on the option vidoes... good cars and reviews (and comparisons) and you can also be entertained by silly jap antics [thumbsup]

yep...

like the supra twin turbo.. one big one small

like the FD3S in intial d.. also twin turbo...

got 1 other conti car usese supercharger at low end revs while turbo kicks in at higher rev cant remember think is vw golf

The supras format is damn complaicated. At least the GTR's and 13b's use a simpler format of having half their exhast manifold's running to each TC.

As for the SC/TC layout there was the lancia delta, nissan micra, the hks kit for the MR2 and now the upcoming golf.

That's what I've been trying to point at. Making it complicated doesn't mean it is better. Just hell a lot more expensive to fix and troubleshoot.

JC can be a real idiot at times. honestly, for unbiased, entertaining and informative car shows. the jap option vids are the best i've seen.

The s2k i'm talking abt is the one that was done up by the japanese tuning house called amuse.

I drive a nissan 180sx

hmm cool... ur ride issit the one in the pic??

u still retain the flip lights huh... does it break down often cos my friend is a fan of it since he saw the AE86 hahah

so it is a 1.8litre tc???

and bmw is asking what tuning company for help???

Agreed. can't be helped if various companies want to try something innovative.

At least all nissan and mazda did was just use two smaller turbos and ran them paralled as opposed to the (pain in the arse) serial setup used in the jz's. Guess they wanted to try something new after the 7mgte.

IMHO a good strong block, a head with as litle moving parts (bucket and shim setup) as possible is the ideal engine.

yup its the one in the pic.

It hasn't broken down yet (although i have managed to run the battery dry and had to change a few sensors -just resulted in the car idling badly- due to age)

i think bmw is doing in house... this will be their 2nd production TC car if it comes into production...

this was the first http://www.bmw2002.co.uk/turbo.htm