It's Finally Here: Mitsubishi i

Nutty

Fine the bugger jialat jialat then...

Not that everything LTA does is wrong, but being such a huge organisation, they do move very very slowly, like a dying dinosaur

I'm driving a cmi white lancer... and i would advise anyone against buying a mitsubishi.. they are so far behind in the technology race, and build quality too

[laugh] Lancer is not bad at all.. Cheap and made in Japan at least (no offense to Korean made and Thai made, please). I heard from friend saying Lancer is a relatively powerful 1.6 on the market (not judging from paper) though the engine is a bit outdated (SOHC).

Mitsubishi not bad lah... I am driving one also.. and very satisfied with it.. [thumbsup]

Edited by Weihui

looks not bad la.. then again getting ur car cannot get the cvt one must get manual one.. other than tt the u r quite right in saying they are behind in tech race.. the current engine tt sits under ur bonnet is quite old liaoz right with no mivec and SOHC..

but hey mai hiam la.. at least u own ur own ride la.. i still no $$$ leh... [laugh]

Its FC is not fantastic, not powerful for its class, not comfortable, noisy, poorly build, little toys, poor paint quality, outdated design(depends), etc etc etc....

The only point I can conceed is that the lancer is really cheap.. but I bought it at 75k :(

so in total, this car has 0 plus points.

The same goes for the entire range of their cars, except the purpose built evo. the rest have no idea what they are built for.

Cars are getting cheaper... with 10yr loan duration, anyone can get a car... a kelissa would cost ard 3.5k per yr full loan.. that's only 250 a month!

Mitsubishi is in recovery phase and refreshing their technologies.. They even withdrew from World Rally Championship to do this.

They have introduced at least 3 new engines for past 2~3 years.

1) The one on Colt 05/Colt Plus, 1,5 MIVEC DOHC

2) The on on Outlander 06, 2,4 MIVEC DOHC

3) Mitsubishi i, 660cc MIVEC DOHC turbo-charged

Refresh current engine:

1) Colt 03/04, 4G15 -> DOHC + MIVEC

2) Colt Turbo/Colt Plus Turbo/Colt Version R, 4G15 -> DOHC + MIVEC + Turbocharged

Edited by Weihui

haha true la.. how abt a 10 yr loan with a opc picanto.... every month u prob pay less than ur hp bill... but then again... who will commit 10 yrs to a car and some more when will u break even...

there is another reason why they withdrew frm WRC.. cos they are not churning out desirable results.. meaning tt most of the time they are losing.. so withdraw and concentrate in the showroom side loh...

"Its FC is not fantastic, not powerful for its class, not comfortable, noisy, poorly build, little toys, poor paint quality, outdated design(depends), etc etc etc....

The only point I can conceed is that the lancer is really cheap.. but I bought it at 75k :(

so in total, this car has 0 plus points.

The same goes for the entire range of their cars, except the purpose built evo. the rest have no idea what they are built for. "

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1)FC is subjective, most of the lancer owners are getting around 11-13km/l depending on manual or auto. I would say it's consider average, no complains for me.

2)what do you mean by not comfortable ? you should buy a merc then.

3)As for noisy, i would agree, Lancer is quite poor in noise insulation BUT it is not the worst in it's class.

4)Poorly built ?! have you seen Altis and Vios built quality ?

5)what do you mean by little toys ?!

6) Okay, paint quality is bad, i agree too, But as i had just said, it's not the worst in it's class.

7) outdated design ? as far as i know, lancer is one of the nicest looking in it's class but this model has been around for ages.

8) for your info, i got my cedia at 82k and i don't have any complains. 1.6 Manual.

I totally disagree that Lancer has 0 plus points.

but i'll loose around 35-40k in the 2 yrs of ownership... that's hard to swallow [sweatdrop]

Intend to drive for another 3 yrs before scrapping this pos.

hey bro.. this is normal.. in sg own car is liddat... the depreciation curve is steepest at the first few yrs... but i do agree must drive at least 3 yrs first la

If you understand Jap, maybe post your question here: [flowerface]

My Babelfish give me this :

Grade constitution

Mitsubishi conception doing from zero, is light the automobile of the new concept which also the platform makes completely new the eye. The engine is not before and from the tire of rear adopting the layout of the rear midship which is loaded onto the position of a little before major feature. Although supplying body size lightly inside standard of the automobile with this, when the interior which it will be spacious and it guarantees the sufficient crusher bull zone for high collision safe efficiency simultaneously, it was finished in the car which is superior even in riding comfort and operation stability. Appearance design the new platform became those of the original feeling which utilizes the new packaging, as for the interior, the space where it overflowed in the open kind of impression where the automobile you cannot think lightly was made. It shows the liberal power efficiency of 47kW with the MIVEC intercooler equipped turbo of serial 3 cylinders 660cc that it is loaded. Adjusting to the sale of the eye, it can advance development, is thorough and it is the new engine of the aluminum block make where small size light weight conversion is assured. 4th gear AT to be combined by all car, the selection of 2WD and 4WD is possible at 3 grade all. As for suspension nosewheel with strut system, rear wheel

Edited by Sporadic

I have many examples, but to list some, the lancer cs3 has this terrible suspension setup that manages to be both bad at cornering, yet hard enough to pickup all the minute unevenness on the roads into the cabin.

It has no climate control unlike the sunny and altis, no illuminated keyring, which you can see where to insert your key at night, no front map lamps, which makes it even harder to find the key hole.

I can hear motorists chit chatting at a junction with doors closed and windows up. The doors are not properly fitted and uneven gaps can be seen all over the place.

The cedia is nice ,but the evo8 iteration is like the cedia with grafted nose and backside.. hideous from many angles.. look at the press release photo below.. the old fashioned grills, girly fenders are all anti-thesis of the evo, which by right the lancer is based on... but even this, they can get it wrong.. but looks is subjective.. so no reason the argue over this

post-2-1147773355_thumb.jpg

yeah, gotta agree the stock suspension is very bad,

probably that's why i change to after market suspension within the first year,

it's too soft.

okay bro,

i believe every car has it's own weakness,

Lancer has it's strong points such as

1) Spacious interior

2) Multi link suspension setup, (but gotta change to aftermarket suspension to make full use of it)

3) relatively torquey engine

4) very reliable, Mine is around 120K and it has serve me well.

Weakness

1) Poor stock suspension,

2) Old tech engine BUT even if there is valve timing, the specs ain't better by a great deal.

3) Manual gearbox not precise enough.

What i am trying to relate is we have to know that for this class of vehicle,

we must not demand too much, even nissan sunny, toyota altis has their own problems,

and at this point of time, the lancer is selling for around 50k,

what other better options are there in this price range ?

seriously, i can think of none ....

Cheers !

Edited by Ctchome