Meet Up

Octaviafan

I went to TC at abt 3.30pm. Guess you guys must have left by then. Saw a red fabia (with Armour unit parking label) parked beside the foodcourt, so quickly parked beside it. So who's car is it?

Went to foodcourt and didn't see any gruopies, so just makan lunch and left. The red fabia was still there. As I was driving off passing the lower level of the foodcourt, saw someone trying to stop either me or the car behind me. Couldn't be sure, so continue driving. So is it anyone here?

This is the second time I miss gathering liao. Hope it doesn't develop into a pattern.

The Octy now is going at $86, which is a good buy, I think. But how do you guys find the backseat space? Think is due to the big boot, makes the back seat a bit cramp.

Any major complains and problem of the car? What about the servicing? Easy to find workshop who know how to do this car?

Thanks.

hope to be one Octy owner soon. But need more people to convince me. sly.gif

HI Volk,

If you don't mind driving a manual with VW Vento engine, the Octavia Classic is even cheaper at around 77K. The $86k model is Octavia Ambiente model, with VW Bora engine.

Quite a few Octy classic owner here, car coming to 2 years old, including mine. No complains so far (no breakdown yet), no problems faced in the engine yet, car is built solid (I suspect the car body built with steel scrapped from russian tanks).

The one problem that was posted in this forum for Octavia was the problem with the power window. Mine was assembled locally, agent convert from manual to auto for the front window. I didn't face any problem, but another classic owner faced problem. As for the ambiente model with original VW power windoe, understand that it is a inherent problem with VW cars.

As for the boot, I LOVE THE BOOT!! 4 golf bags? No prob. Mahjong table? No prob. As for backseat space, my friends didn't complain, so I think should be ok.

Regards,

Sonny

Sonny,

So sad that u missed us........well looks like i may attempt to organise one for the Skoda group soon......I am active in SEATSG becos i used to own a SEAT, still am quite

active there becos of the friends I've made there.

FYI we were at the edge of the foodcourt in the open area behind HANS. Next if there is a chance again I will be the one organising the meetups. I've got lots of experience of arranging meetups for SEATSG ...up to about 20 to 30 cars size even inclusive of driveups to Malaysia.

[cool]

Yeah yeah yeah... so where are you during the meet up??? Never turn up

Hi Stanley, Tea3, Ajedi72, C708

Ah! so exciting ! More Fabia / Skoda owners ??? [thumbsup][bounce2]

Welcome to the club! [sunny]

spotty!

Hi Sonnytay,

We were there till almost 5.00pm. Are you driving a black Octy? If yes, then it was me trying to flag you down to join us. Never mind, we will see you on the next meet up.

"Saw the two Octy are with VW rims....how come?"

BTW, I am one of the Octy's you saw at TC with VW rims. My answer to your question: MoMo or BBS too expensive for me. frown.gif Taiwanese, Thai, and Malaysian made rims are definite no no for me. thumbsdown.gif Not many other affordable rims come in 5 holes PCD 100. There are also quite a few VW rims available for sale at affordable prices, since most VW owners upgrade to 17" or 18" rims. There you have it, my reasons. I don't know what are Skodaman's (the other Octy at TC) reasons, but the VW rims we both have came from VW Bora's and they definitely do enhance our Octy's looks. sunny.gif

Yes, the Octy at $86K is value for money. No major complains from my family regarding back seat space. I will confidently tell you this, ALL Octy owners love the boot space. thumbsup.gif I have yet to find something that couldn't fit in. sly.gif

I hope that's enough convincing for you to join us. Good luck with your search for your ideal car.....hopefully an Octy thumbsup.gif .

Hi.

Thanks for your reply.

I find a bit weird to see VW and Skoda badge together in a car. (No offence, I hope)

I am now deciding between Octy and Focus.

Tested the Octy and one comment...I find the steering wheel a bit to thin to grab.

Torque is better than Focus...hence feels more powerful than Focus.

Have not really tried the backseat seriously, may go down to CA again.

HI Volk,

If you don't mind driving a manual with VW Vento engine, the Octavia Classic is even cheaper at around 77K. The $86k model is Octavia Ambiente model, with VW Bora engine.

Quite a few Octy classic owner here, car coming to 2 years old, including mine. No complains so far (no breakdown yet), no problems faced in the engine yet, car is built solid (I suspect the car body built with steel scrapped from russian tanks).

The one problem that was posted in this forum for Octavia was the problem with the power window. Mine was assembled locally, agent convert from manual to auto for the front window. I didn't face any problem, but another classic owner faced problem. As for the ambiente model with original VW power windoe, understand that it is a inherent problem with VW cars.

As for the boot, I LOVE THE BOOT!! 4 golf bags? No prob. Mahjong table? No prob. As for backseat space, my friends didn't complain, so I think should be ok.

Regards,

Sonny

I dont think CA has the Classic at this moment, is either Ambiente or RS.

Anyone has done up the protective strip to body colour?

If I get the Octy, hope they can resolved the power window problem fast.

Hi Volk74, didn't saw any Octavia have rubber strip with body color yet. Just imagine it may look funny as the strip is not the smooth type. Dunno can get the same grossy effect as body paint.

As for the power windows problem, it depend on 'Heng Suay' too. However, you can change it with aftermarket parts before it problem occurs. PM me if you need the contact.

Hello!

Sorry i missed it! Very Paiseh actually! i made a mental note of meet-up but my memory failed me on the very day! [:p] Was busy washing my car and vacuuming the interior!

Will turn up at the next meet-up!

spotty [sunny]

Hi Sonnytay,

We were there till almost 5.00pm. Are you driving a black Octy? If yes, then it

was me trying to flag you down to join us. Never mind, we will see you on the

next meet up.

------------------------

Shucks! That was me alright. Look forward to see you guys next time. BTW, where did you guys park? Only see 1 fabia leh.

the power window is the classic MKIV problem in the early days of the MK4 production (yr 1998-1999 I believe). IF your car is newly manufactured, chances are the power window is a non-issue.

All

Thanks for the effort to come for the meet up. But I guess it is tough for a lot of newbies to find the place cause no familiar faces.

I propose to have one meet up at Gillman, it is beside St Andrew's JC at Alexandra. There's only one food center there and it is below the SMSA club house.

Let me try to get you all access to the pub at the SMSA club house for a nite, so it will be easy for everyone to meet up and further more got air-con. Okay okay, I know the SARS thingy is still in the air, but ain't all Skoda owners lean, trim and fit? So will not kenna the SARS thing right??? IF the pub cannot, then the food court then.

will keep you all posted, likely a weekday nite.

S_Man,

Been to Gillman both during the day & night. Its a better place to meet during the day cos @ night not much choice of food except for the cher char stall out back. The food cpurt caters more for lunch crowd cos of the proximity to nearby offices ....NOL, HP,PSA, Alexandra Office towers....

Unless you r suggesting meetup for drinks only.....over to you ....

[cool]

Edited by C708

Yup, got it man. Been there a few times already at nite. So dinner will be just a simple fried rice or such :(

See how first, think it will be mainly for just drinks and chit chat. Just to gather the members so that we can put a face to the names.

hehehe... you want to organise the next meet up??? :P

Edited by Skoda_Man

S_Man,

How difficult can it get.........am oredi the unofficial orgaiser for the SEATSG group.....so what's adding another profile on ??? Moreover can overlap and share resources what !!

[cool]

Edited by C708

haha.. joke lah. I will organise the next one.

It is semi-confirm that the SMSA club house pub can be used, thus i will think a Friday nite meet up will be nice there. Got air-con and drinks.... will put a poll.

"I find a bit weird to see VW and Skoda badge together in a car." I initially felt that way too, but I got over it pretty quick [laugh] .

"Saw the two Octy are with VW rims....how come?"

BTW, I am one of the Octy's you saw at TC with VW rims. My answer to your question: MoMo or BBS too expensive for me. frown.gif Taiwanese, Thai, and Malaysian made rims are definite no no for me. thumbsdown.gif Not many other affordable rims come in 5 holes PCD 100. There are also quite a few VW rims available for sale at affordable prices, since most VW owners upgrade to 17" or 18" rims. There you have it, my reasons. I don't know what are Skodaman's (the other Octy at TC) reasons, but the VW rims we both have came from VW Bora's and they definitely do enhance our Octy's looks. sunny.gif

Yes, the Octy at $86K is value for money. No major complains from my family regarding back seat space. I will confidently tell you this, ALL Octy owners love the boot space. thumbsup.gif I have yet to find something that couldn't fit in. sly.gif

I hope that's enough convincing for you to join us. Good luck with your search for your ideal car.....hopefully an Octy thumbsup.gif .

Hi.

Thanks for your reply.

I find a bit weird to see VW and Skoda badge together in a car. (No offence, I hope)

I am now deciding between Octy and Focus.

Tested the Octy and one comment...I find the steering wheel a bit to thin to grab.

Torque is better than Focus...hence feels more powerful than Focus.

Have not really tried the backseat seriously, may go down to CA again.