Wankie Clutched July 3, 2006 Share July 3, 2006 NB change your avatar lah, back to that disgusting pic again.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear July 3, 2006 Share July 3, 2006 hahahhaa..... i like this pic.. heheh.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fff0 Neutral Newbie July 3, 2006 Share July 3, 2006 I can offer a good advise: Come To Our Weekly Meetup ! It should be an eye & ear opening experience. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zoomsixfred Neutral Newbie August 12, 2006 Share August 12, 2006 Hi people, I'm really new to this ICE thing so i need advise from you experts out there. So what happens if I use an amplifier with a slightly lower power rating to power up a set of component speakers? Say maybe it's an amplifier of maybe a spec of (85 watts RMS x 4 at 2 ohms) powering a 2 ohm speaker of maybe 90 watts RMS with it's peak at 180 watts RMS? Any major adverse effects? Please advise bros/sis! Thanks!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear August 12, 2006 Share August 12, 2006 when u under power a spkr, u are not bringing out the full potential of the spkr. but there will still be music from the spkr and to the everyday listener, it'll prob sound ok. aniway, i tink u got ur spkr impedence wrong, most car audio spkrs are 4 ohms. if u got more questions, drop by wednesday's meetup lah. cheers! cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwongwing Neutral Newbie August 12, 2006 Share August 12, 2006 It depends what you mean when you say that "one is underpowering" the speakers. What Headshok means when he says that when the full potential of the speakers is not brought out is when the amp is at least meeting the spkrs' minimum power requirements. Usually, when one says one is "underpowering" the spkrs it means that the amp is not even meeting the spkrs minimum requirements - NEVER NEVER do that as the amp by not being able to drive the spkrs properly would still be moving the spkr drivers. However it is an uncontrolled movement which would result in the spkrs producing distorted sound - which in the long run would damage the spkrs, and also stress out the amp Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear August 12, 2006 Share August 12, 2006 90W RMS means nominal power demand from the amp in order to be driven normally...I guess you know what is meant by Peak value. For a start, to pair the speakers up with a suitable amp, I will choose, say a 120 - 150W nominal power rated amp to efficiently drive the speakers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zoomsixfred Neutral Newbie August 12, 2006 Share August 12, 2006 Oh ok... thanks for the invitation! But will look very funny if i go. No setup or whatsoever. Anyway, i posted because my friend just got his Alpine F345 amp and some Cardence component speakers which i haven't heard of or rather haven't heard anyone mention anything in the forum after some surfing. And i realised that the specifications stated in the manual of the amp says "Per channel into 2 ohms (1%THD)" and i understand that THD is some distortion thingy right? Is it alot? Think it differs from the box which state lik 0.08%THD. Different units or mean different things again? Or he got a fake amp? How to see if it is under warrenty? Sorry... pardon me for my ignorance. But those articles about pple selling audio behind vans really aroused my interests in this kind of things. haha.. Cheers~! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zoomsixfred Neutral Newbie August 12, 2006 Share August 12, 2006 So means the only solution now is to use the amp as a 2 channel amp to power the pair of front component speakers and bochap the rears first? it is able to power 150 w RMS per channel? Anyway thanks for your prompt reply. I've got a better idea of what's going on within those wires liao. HEe.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwongwing Neutral Newbie August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 Depends on which HU you are using you can try either of these options: 1. If HU has built-in crossover - can go "active" and use the 4-channo 2 channelsels to power up the front 2-way component spkrs (BEST preferred option) 2. if still running passive - then first just use 2 channels of your amp to check out how the the spkrs sound 3. still passive - bridge the 4-channels to 2 channels For options 2 and 3, basically check to see which sounds more refined. Definitely option 3 should sound more dynamic than 2. For your rear spkrs, you can always use the HU's built-in amp, if there is one. Should be more than sufficient. Whether you have an ICE or not, you can always pop down to the meetup So long as you have an interest to listen to music and don't mind a TCSS session with the chaps! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 yah right, u can always pop down over to the meetup. but i better warn u first, u go meetup no ICE, after some time u realise u go meetup got ICE liao. and u realise ur wallet a bit lighter. .. and lighter ... and lighter ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan0507 Neutral Newbie August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 maybe you can list down more detail of you amp spec.in order to let our friend here to help you .your spk 2 0hm look funny. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zoomsixfred Neutral Newbie August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 Hey bro, what do you mean by bridging? hehe.. i'm really new to all these. Any webby for me to do some research? The forum terms all very cheem ar. Haha.. but i assume is to focus the power that is released from the 4 channels into the 2 speakers? Anyway, my friend almost kena carrot by J L Sim man. Haha got quoted $180 for the installation of amps and speakers. Think he chose to run on 2 channels... didn't sound as good as it sounded at the shop when i sat in his ride. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zoomsixfred Neutral Newbie August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 Haha that's what happened to me when i go for car club meetups... Stock becomes modified, becomes modified more, becomes modified more and more... hai... the list never ends. So far I haven't plunge into the dark side of ICE yet. So quite lucky lah . But as you know more... you'll wanna try more. Maybe i shouldn't even be replying or viewing the ice section of the forum?? wahhaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 Hmm...so you suggesting that the rest of the folks heavily modified their ICE as unlucky lah??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobcatsysop Neutral Newbie August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 Hi Bro, << Haha that's what happened to me when i go for car club meetups... Stock becomes modified, becomes modified more, becomes modified more and more... hai... the list never ends. So far I haven't plunge into the dark side of ICE yet. So quite lucky lah . But as you know more... you'll wanna try more. Maybe i shouldn't even be replying or viewing the ice section of the forum?? wahhaha >> I do not quite agree with your statement that "Stock becomes modified, becomes modified more, becomes modified more and more... hai... the list never ends." As bros in MCF knows me (as Uncle Bob), take me as one example. I started getting into ICE on 6th Apr 2006 when my present ICE setup was installed. On 22nd Apr, my HU died on me, thus no choice but to change to a new HU Pioneer P80. That was all I spent on my ICE then. No more $$$ from then till today. I am not sure what you meant by more and more modified... coz mine was not modified .. just running-in during the 4 months period and fine tuning my TA and EQ after 3 months. Again no more $$$ spent. Just my 2 cents.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zoomsixfred Neutral Newbie August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 Haha bro... that's not what i really meant la... not unlucky. I mean sometimes ignorance is a blessing. Diff pple diff tolerance to such poisons mah... Like me... I haven't buy anything yet... just follow friend go see see already poisoned. Sometimes you know more then more tempted to experiment with what pple say is true or not mah... haha don't get me wrong. Having wonderful ICE can never be considered as unlucky. It's the temptation that causes many sleepless nights that's unlucky i feel but that's still my own opinion man. Don't flame me please~ hahaha Cheers man! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear August 14, 2006 Share August 14, 2006 , I oso joking niaz...to each his own...so, to call it poisoning or not really depends on how individual wants to deal with it...since I have so called so poisoned until I thought of selling away all my ICE, perhaps I should also start to entice people le mah... Bottomline, great music and sound should be shared and enjoyed with all..."Du le le, bu lu zhong le le" (rather than enjoying by yourself, why not enjoy together lah)...pls dun second read this qoutation... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...