Car kenna scratched

Mcfguy

while washing car, discovered a 7 cm long scratch on my left front fender. Can see that paint is gone and black color underneath exposed. Is that the base coat or the metal. Wil it rust?

Edited by Mcfguy

jialat... spent money time... bro go repray bah... chao chao 100 over bucks.

dat black color will rust if u no go respray. and can tell dat its either lorry or van dat did this to your car. cos they like to open their cheesepie door big big.

Waa.. ! Why must pick on lorry and van. Other Car and SUV also can cause scratch in your car. some more lorry and van drivers are more careful than car owners , as they dont wan to invite 'trouble'.

bro TS mention front left fender leh. if door den probably car lah. If front fender area den those area are the fav spot for u know wat i wanna say [:p] no offence but i just base on the area of damage to do assessment peace [:)]

Yes you're correct... I had such a scratch not too long ago on my left front fender at the top part of the wheel arc....

The cause was a parked lorry next to my car... As their doors are located more forward, where our bonnet area is...

Mooooooooooooooooooooo

As your base coat has been damaged, better get it sprayed else rust will set in... Cost about $100 to $150 as the whole panel have to be sprayed....

Moooooooooooooo

My car suffered the same fate. Got two lines somemore. It is definitely the work of another vehicle. Was so angry back then coz beside the two trails it left white lightly visible lines. (Must be doing of a white car) The guys at the service centre advised against respraying though for the following reasons:

(i) The colour may end up to be different from the original colour due to the fact that the original paint had been under exposure in sun for long term. First few months may not see the effect but after a while it shows.

(ii) Respraying will need to be done to whole bonnet due to first reason.

(iii) The black colour will not rust. (True coz to date after several washings, it is still black on my car)

Bring to service centre for their advise would be my suggestion.

The culprit should have your car painting left on their vehicles... but provided you are able to catch them immediately before they scrap off. laugh.gif

Edited by Maemi

I would think if it's thin visible line, it's the works of ppl. If it's thin lightly visible line, it's the works of car - not really scratching hard. But if it's thick thick lines, it's reckless/eager to run driver dunno the right way of turning vehicle when moving out of lot.

Agree that lorry drivers are more careful than cars coz they know their vehicle length is longer, they will move further out of the lot before turning. Not sure about van drivers though...