Silver_z 1st Gear August 25, 2006 Share August 25, 2006 Bro, if my pic describes what you are trying to do, then there is no danger in doing so. As many are already running it this way, just that the wiring is a bit different, but effect shud be same. But take note of your ohm loads. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie August 25, 2006 Author Share August 25, 2006 ae86: the passive crossovers were not drawn into the diagram. but the basic idea is there - i'm just toying with the idea of using 2 cables (+ - each) to run 3 speakers, and in theory it seems possible. with the crosses they wun be blaring same freq. ivan: those diagrams are for serial / parallel blaring same frequency, calculating the net impedance. i'm splitting with crossovers so Silver's diagram is what i was planning to do - sharing common ground between the 3, splitting only nearer to the speakers. turtle: semi active, passive, laid back, boh chap, i donno what u call it but as long as it works, hehehe. i'll probably do it the traditional way - just run a single cable up to kick area and place all the crosses there to split. this idea of sharing common negative cable was just for fun, that enables me to put my cross in my boot, and play with the cross easily without bending my back too much. doing the traditional way, each time i wanna tinker with the cross, have to dig out the Microwaveable box from the kick area. and the kick area also not so spacious enough for my little box. in theory it should work, since even within the crosses themselves, they share common ground connection. the only question is whether that speaker cable is able to support the signal strength of 3 separated signals without being lossy etc ... that one i haven't read up yet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie August 25, 2006 Author Share August 25, 2006 and while on the topic of what size speaker cables able to support what load, wonder what size cables r u guys mostly using? 12? 14? 16 for speakers? i remember someone mentioning too large a size isn't recommended. though not sure how to explain that electrically. and then there are those who think it hardly matters - since 16 gauge is enough to run a speaker. anything larger is overkill. thinking of getting some nice belden cables to solder onto my latest poison - kenna fork out more $$ just now to buy a pair of speakers. but the speaker terminal metal hole rather small - not sure what size to solder onto them. and when connecting speaker wires to each other, ideally a nice 4% silver solder would be good but not everyone has a 4% silver mine and solder sometimes a bit difficult to do at the car if no power point nearby. so i wonder what're your philisophies of what kind of other connections to use: 1) simple speaker clips sold at simlim tower (all seem to have same material, just different size) 2) twist 2 cables around each other and black tape 3) twist 2 cables around each other, crush them with a pair of pliers for more contact, then black tape 4) my current favourite, though not substantiated by any research - one of those small white plastic connectors with 2 screws (one for each cable), and the actual connection is a solid metal piece within the plastic. not sure what kind of metal though. easy to connect/disconnect, and with the screw u can tighten until good contact. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lionheart7004 Neutral Newbie August 26, 2006 Share August 26, 2006 Hyun .. in short.. How many speaker are you planting at the front? 1 x 3 Drivers x 2 side? or somthing else? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwongwing Neutral Newbie August 26, 2006 Share August 26, 2006 For the type of wiring you are thinking of doing - I would advise that you use AWG12 for your all round speaker cable needs. Should be sufficient to see you through all your cabling needs till yo decide to do something more drastic! Do note that for every splice joint / connector joint you use, there would invariably be some signal loss and degradation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie August 26, 2006 Author Share August 26, 2006 ya the typical 3 way passive, 3 on each side. i'll do it the simple way first. just run 1 to front and split into 3, something like that. saw the QED The Sky Line or Sky High or whatever hybrid $9.50/metre, very nice to touch leh, light blue colour, smooth, silky ... i like ... but i dun like the price ... sigh. from kick area to A-pillar already burn 1 metre liao ... that's $19 down the drain if i buy that one :~( KwongWing: someone once said that 14 gauge per speaker he finds just nice. too narrow or too large, the sound became more unfavourable. not particularly substantiated opinion but interesting guideline. well i just bought belden 8471 $1.50/m for that A-pillar stretch to try try for fun. 16 gauge i think, at least it's twisted though without any other fancy material. but i like the blue blue QED leh ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwongwing Neutral Newbie August 27, 2006 Share August 27, 2006 I read thru the thread again, and from what I see the number of cable runs still work out to be the same! At most you would save only 1 run - which works out to maybe 1-metre's worth of cable i.e. about $20/xx. And you risk frying your speakers worth the risk??? Anyway I think you are referring to the Van Den Hul Skyline Hybrid - NOT QED! The Belden 8471 is an OK cable to use from the passive x-over onwards - value for money for its price range I use the 12 AWG version myself - 1860A - for my current speaker cable runs. Dunno whether to "upgrade" to better speaker cables??? I was also at Sim Lim Tower yesterday afternoon - and picked up another pair of RCA interconnects to try out next week!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lionheart7004 Neutral Newbie August 27, 2006 Share August 27, 2006 If it is 3-way, the cheapest construction (minus quality) is to build a 3-way xover. I ponder .. why would you kick start an idea to go 3-way when you have a budget concern? If i am in your shoe, i would just spend the time milk your tweeter and midwoofer.. upon that. Just got to say 'sxxt' or sigh and move on if things goes bad. IMHO, i went thru the 3-way path before and realised that 3-way has the toughest construction . It sounds easy on paper but once you hit with a coherent pr tonality problem.. You will have a big one to solve. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie August 27, 2006 Author Share August 27, 2006 i more or less milk liao, but never say '****'. after last week's meetup, i went back and discovered another method of tweeter positioning. again, the milk flowed. this time quite nice, the soundstage, the focusing. but then, i thought, i really dun like door sound, and if i can reduce door sound (3-way) should give it a try. anyway my 3rd way is also budget speaker leh. so still qualify as budget hehe. but now i put the stupid microwaveable tupperware in the kick area, really got no space to stuff it there. time to change into yet another microwaveable tupperware, this time a bit smaller. i think if i continue to stick to passive, i'll end up putting all the crossovers under rear seat. easy to take out, no hassle to stuff, just requires a bit of rewiring. now gotta consider whether to build a fibreglass house for my 3rd way. i have currently joined the Ice Cream Stick company. and still a loyal member of the Blu Tack squad and Double Sided Tape regiment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lionheart7004 Neutral Newbie August 27, 2006 Share August 27, 2006 Which ever you do.. ICE comes with a price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie August 27, 2006 Author Share August 27, 2006 yah, i certainly paid a bit more than what i did initially. from about $2400 to almost $2800 now. but this extra $400 has been quite a significant improvement, and the amount of knowledge acquired is invaluable. well i finally finished my 7th month project. almost all the hardware done up, and the 1st round tuning. to answer ur point about the 3rd way again, after tuning, and comparing with the previous round of improvement attained 1 week ago, i must say this is yet another improvement. the reduction of "door sound", the greater lifting of stage, and now that there is finally a "decent" speaker in my setup, the increase in SQ, i can say that this improvement is worth the trouble. thanks again everyone, wouldn't have been possible without all the advice along the way. at least now i can say i'm quite satisfied. looking forward to further improvement from tuning feedback from you guys! and wish also to meet all you sifus whom i've not yet got to meet, especially those who advised me on the electronics - i hardly had the pleasure of meeting any of you yet. hope we can meet at one of the meetups, MCF-ICE, SGSS or MCF-Friday! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...