Stepper Neutral Newbie February 26, 2007 Share February 26, 2007 wat is done during throttle body bypass? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redboy 1st Gear February 26, 2007 Share February 26, 2007 Bigger but drive is not that fun. Best is Vios engine and transmission into Lancer body. hmm. if put vios engine into lancer body, then I doubt FC will be as good. As you said, perfect car will have vios engine & fc plus space & looks of lancer. But such car dun exist, so we have to compromise. I tried both before. Lancer slower but stable & comfy drive. Vios fast but unrefined engine & cramped headroom. IMHO, stability & FC dun come hand-in-hand. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic February 26, 2007 Share February 26, 2007 The coolant is run into the throttle body for some reason. Either to keep it warm during winter or something else. However, when the engine gets hot, the coolant is hot too, thus warming up the throttle body. Some people thinks that removing the hot coolant from getting into the throttle body keeps it cooler and gain some extra hp. http://www.thirdgen.org/coolantbypass However, if you dare touch the intake manifold when the engine is hot, it gets very hot too. So removing the coolant from the throttle body is a bit questionable about its effectiveness. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithpapa Neutral Newbie February 26, 2007 Share February 26, 2007 Get altis lah. bigger and reasonably well equipt. However, Fc is similar to Lancer but more powerful engine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redboy 1st Gear February 26, 2007 Share February 26, 2007 (edited) but altis more ex leh. Lancer more sporty & spacious yet selling cheap. of course, lancer engine loses to vvti engine, but the overall package is attractive. Upfront savings can be used for petrol & other car expenses. Finally, a non-toyota car topping this month's sales chart! Edited February 26, 2007 by Redboy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Undead Neutral Newbie February 27, 2007 Share February 27, 2007 Vios is at the end of life. The manual version is sold out and no longer available. This goes for Lancer which is schedule for a change this year too but if u want manual car immediately, lancer is the only choice now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nothingtodo 1st Gear February 27, 2007 Share February 27, 2007 Personally feels that Lancer has the smoothest ride from pick up till cruising. Very refine compared to all in its class. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lukesky Neutral Newbie February 27, 2007 Share February 27, 2007 probably that's due to the CVT? Same goes to a honda city, fit and latio.. smooth smooth all the way.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nothingtodo 1st Gear February 27, 2007 Share February 27, 2007 Tried city CVT... can fill slight jerk during acceleration. Fit nvr try.... so no comments. Latio, same as city CVT during CVT speed shift. I cannot feel the speed shift on the Lancer CVT accelaration up to 70km mark... so the drive was very very memorable Anyhow, I got Latio 4AT, not CVT .... I like its interior... not a racer... or particular abt smooth gear shift... so gave Lancer a skip. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jaxel Clutched February 27, 2007 Share February 27, 2007 basic m-$40,988basic a-$43,488 sports m-$44,988 sports a-$48,488 need a good deal,pm or call me. cheers Bro Accordvtec is true to his word! He is truely friendly & helpful even though if u jus gt to noe him thru e fone! Dun hestitate any futher, PM him if you are looking for gd deals, he definitely have watever lobangs u r looking for, once again, THANKS BRO! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redboy 1st Gear February 27, 2007 Share February 27, 2007 agree. lancer engine very refined & smooth But I find pickup not so responsive & need to step quite hard to get going. haiz. no perfect car indeed! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Accordvtec 1st Gear February 27, 2007 Share February 27, 2007 Thanx for your kind words.I hope you are happy with your deal Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Accordvtec 1st Gear February 27, 2007 Share February 27, 2007 whats your budget ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Accordvtec 1st Gear February 27, 2007 Share February 27, 2007 Lancer pricing has gone up liao: Basic M-$43,988 Basic A-$46,488 Sports M-$47,988 Sports A-$50,488 there might be another change next week,depending on COE movements. Those keen to buy,don't wait...pm me for good deal Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stepper Neutral Newbie February 27, 2007 Share February 27, 2007 The coolant is run into the throttle body for some reason. Either to keep it warm during winter or something else.However, when the engine gets hot, the coolant is hot too, thus warming up the throttle body. Some people thinks that removing the hot coolant from getting into the throttle body keeps it cooler and gain some extra hp. http://www.thirdgen.org/coolantbypass However, if you dare touch the intake manifold when the engine is hot, it gets very hot too. So removing the coolant from the throttle body is a bit questionable about its effectiveness. thanks for e detail explanation.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngnguan1 Neutral Newbie February 28, 2007 Share February 28, 2007 I'm also looking for a new Vios (new model) anyone care to brief me what to look up for ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redboy 1st Gear February 28, 2007 Share February 28, 2007 At that time, I was just looking at 1.5/1.6 sedans in general. Shortlisted vios, lancer, mazda3, civic & slyphy. vios - good pick-up but rough engine & crampy headroom. lancer - smooth but slow pick-up. Refined engine & spacious. civic - like the looks but 70K price too ex, so din test drive. slyphy - towkay looks but then 60K+ for 1.5! mazda3 - best looks, decent FC(same as lancer)& price(55K),pick-up better than lancer, stable & gd suspension, meaty steering with good feedback. So in the end, felt mazda3 is best compromise btw heart & head, so went for it. Till now, no regrets. FC not as bad, still can get 12+ on avg. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithpapa Neutral Newbie February 28, 2007 Share February 28, 2007 agree. lancer engine very refined & smooth But I find pickup not so responsive & need to step quite hard to get going. haiz. no perfect car indeed! Not very sure about refine. Do find the CVT draggy interminently. Quite true, there is no perfect car in this world. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...