Hyundai Getz 1.6A Review

Vit4wd

Strictkly no offence intended to all Hyundai owners & Hyundai car salesmen in this forum (for negative aspects of the Getz that I mentioned)

I had the opportunity to drive my friend's 5 mth old Hyundai Getz 1.6A over the weekend(facelifted model). Mileage was 10,200km.

I clocked 124km in total on 80/20 highway/city driving.

I managed only a disappointing 10.8km/l on Shell 95RON. (This car has been on Shell since new)

Acceleration was perky but on those occasions with 3 passengers, it got sluggish esp when travelling up the Benjamin Sheares Bridge (ECP towards Tuas on slope upwards just before Rochor exit). Travelling at 80km/h, the auto tranny downshifted to 3rd gear.

I was light footed and accelerated up to only 2500rpm 90% of the time.

The engine was surprisingly unrefined, coarse, rough & noisy compared to my 5 yr old Corolla with 45,000km mileage (PS: I am not saying Toyota is a very refined & quietest car either). Interior felt a bit too plastic for my feel, esp the steering wheel.

The Getz's sitting position is very high and gives a bird's eye bview of the rd ahead. Very easy to park and get out of tight corners. Car was surprisingly stable at speeds up to 100km/h. The 175/65R14 Kumho tyres lacked grip when cornering however. Body roll is acceptable.

The foldable front seats arm rest is a great space saving feature. Rear is surprisingly spacious (1.1l Getz owners will appreciate that their car is more spacious than the Picanto).

My friend paid S$42K for this brand new 1.6l Getz auto which I must say is a great steal. At such giveaway prices, one can accept all its flaws.

PS: Do note that the so called black "Leather" seats from Komoco is actually Synthetic leather, otherwise known as PVC.

Edited by Vit4wd

I get about 10.8km/l too but I travel 5% highway / 95% city + jam every morning [laugh]

I agree the Getz engine isnt as refined as Jap models like corolla and sunny but I think its comparable to lower end models like Vios and Swift. The auto tranny is prone to downshifting when going up slope (which is its biggest shortcoming IMHO) and the 14" stock tire lack grip (thats why I changed to 15")

All in all I'm still satisfied with the quality I got as I also paid $42k for my car... Its a trade off between more money in the bank or a slightly better Jap car. [nod]

Getz is heavier than other comparable Jap models... Its weight is about 1100kg while Vios is about 900+kg... Guess that partly accounts for the better acceleration in Vios...

Heard that the higher weight in Getz is due to the heavier and stronger metal used + the double steel bar structure in all the doors... (Eurocap 4 star standard [laugh] )

PS: Do note that the so called black "Leather" seats from Komoco is actually Synthetic leather, otherwise known as PVC.

being a thrown in.. i really doubt it's real leather lor... but still better than fabric ba. got marnie then change to better leather ones outside lor...

afterall, we have to bear in mind, Getz is basically a budget car... and pretty much frill-free :) [sleeping]

Hi hobbes,

you are right that Getz achieve 4Star Eurocap, this is for adult occupant rating. This is due to the two front airbag as well as the dual stage side airbag. Not too sure if Getz come with the driver airbag but I believe that the passenger airbag as well as the sidebag would not be there for Singapore version (I may be wrong though).

Here is the link.

Your friend is really cheated... The SE should have made it clear it was half-leather or PVC... Mine is half leather too but I got it installed at Jackspeed...

mmm... on my sales contract, it's written as "leather seat"

so that means it's contestable right? I cannot go to CASE to say they "cheated" me wif half leather hor?

oh well, if all else fails, i juz need to be contended that at least mine comes free... [cool]

but ya, i think most SE r not very honest... [rifle]

Actually, Vios is using the 1NZ-FE, same engine model as the G9 1.5 Corolla, though I read ppl mentioning that there are some differences between the two (not sure what).

Have to ask then they may tell u. [:|] Anyway, I have sit in my vendor's 3dr Getz b4 and I do agree that it's interior is quite plastic and noisy cum unrefined engine. Quite surprise and interesting that he complains that Vios is very cramp when his Getz is not much better. [hur] Recently, his brake return hose or something like that leaked and sent back for repair ([shakehead] A bit unlucky in this aspect.

Edited by Keithpapa

think it boils down to what u wan.... power or fuel efficent :)

1.6l cost more in term of FC as well as road tax and what not lor :)

cheers

mine is the 1.1, i must say that the FC is not a problem even tho the tiny engine works so hard (with occasional whacking to redline in 1st n 2nd) 15+ kml

engine refinement is so-so

i dun find the car tt stable. maybe cos i'm used to eurovan and camry [:p]

the worst thing abt this car is that the seats have no reinforcement. what i mean is that if a long-legged passenger sits behind, his or her knees will dig into ur seat, which is very annoying! [furious][furious] i dunno abt other cars with limited legroom but at least one should not be able to feel knees protruding into ur front seat [dizzy]

the stock tyres are total crap. agree fully. i'm whacking them now but they show no signs of wear. maybe tt's why no grip. hardly any wear wad [laugh]. after hard driving they dun even get sticky like my previous ride's BS turanza GR80s

FC issue could be tt the gearbox is not so efficient. hyundai engine not fantastic but for a small car, FC shd be much better.

i think that for MT, even the 1.6 getz will have a decent FC figure. of course sure lose to jap makes but i believe 13km/l is easily achievable. going by my own fc