Try_conti 2nd Gear November 20, 2006 Share November 20, 2006 thx, learn something new everyday ..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear November 20, 2006 Share November 20, 2006 so what the $$$ damage for all 4 coils ??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Putter Neutral Newbie November 20, 2006 Author Share November 20, 2006 Had PM you liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Putter Neutral Newbie November 20, 2006 Author Share November 20, 2006 Ya lor...safety 1st. According to Philip, if not solved and the issue get worst. The firing will be unbalance and causing the car to jerk. Extreme case due to accumulation of petrol may even cause fire. I can't imagine this happen along NS Hwy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cccs Neutral Newbie November 22, 2006 Share November 22, 2006 This is interesting... 2 days ago had my 15K oil change, followed by resetting of ECU (3rd time). Now no more sensor light warning. Pick-up/ acceleration back 2 normal, damn shiok. Turbo kick in damn smooth. Still remains a mystery why my sensor light warning appeared previously. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged November 23, 2006 Share November 23, 2006 Where's the coil located? PM me the cost also? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear November 23, 2006 Share November 23, 2006 I believe this problem is linked to the supplier of the coil packs. Putter's Superb (MY2004) is the first case I have encountered in Singapore. Till date, I have no news of Superbs MY2005 and later which have encountered similar problems. Keep our fingers crossed that the first batch of Superbs sold in Singapore are equipped with the 'H' type ignition coil packs. For your reading pleasure. http://www.mylemon.com/VW_18T.html http://forums.audiworld.com/a4gen2/msgs/157701.phtml Additional info on where the coil packs reside. http://www.s-cars.org/postnuke/downloads/p...nstructions.pdf Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lamy Neutral Newbie November 23, 2006 Share November 23, 2006 Went to Servo just now over lunch. Philip diagnosed it and found 4 miss-firing fault on coil#1. So it seems to be a consistent real issue on the firing. Spark plug just changed 2 months back. So he suspected due to the spark plug coil issue and I asked him replaced all the 4 coils. I tested with "kick-in" and no more issue. According to Philip, this type of issue frequently happen on the 1.8T engine. Earlier coils were not so robust to high temperature and suffered early failure. I think I better get my checked out. my car is from that batch. My car is a little jerky when on manual and it down gears due to lower speed. Will ask servo to check it when I get the chance. Could you PM me the cost of replacement. Lamy ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...