Speed Camera Warnings - Are fair warnings provided?

Tinyflower

True... but on certain roads.. esp those stated in Asiaone's web, known to be long stretches and not busy roads. Known to be prone be driven a little 'faster', almost like a express way. Why not just put a warning sign to remind ppl to go at 70km. And if still speed than u pay the price. Not be in white n spook ppl lo. Allow ppl time to slow down and be reminded.

But i hardly go ard there... ARE there warning signs?

if u consider spd limiter sign is warning sign...there plenty on the road...there so many signs on the road liao, u bother to see those signs not....speeding is up to individual, if you wan speed dun blame on the TP for not providing enuf signs and hide in the bush to catch you..they are there to enforce tat you oblige and safeguard the interest of others...furthermore, the spd limits are easily available on the TP web and the theory test u took for driving license...even online streetdirectory will show where got speed camera.. [shakehead]

think we got to be taking initiatives rather than keep flaming garment for these..(i not a ball carrier, just tat keep seeing feedback on such minor stuff and more to individual preference or personal fault tat we refused to acknowledge and push to 3rd party)...it just like parent complaining to forum on this and tat of tv programmes not suitable for their kids and stuff...for godsake its your own kids, you suppose to guide and teach them not the garment and deprive others of better shows.. [rifle][whip]

There are technology available to do that. Etc GPS, where it can determine your present speed vs location. In theory you can be informed in real time whether you are exceed the speed limit of the road or not.

The questions is are you prepare to be monitored in that way? I would assume with such a implmentation, there would need to be accompanied by severe punitive measures if you are caught speeding. Because you now have absolutely no reason to exceed the speed limit.

Fining is the most effective method of enforcement. Though the severity of the fine will need to be carefully examine.

fair warning.. not speed limit signs.

Like those on ECP before and after rocher (depending which way u coming from) both sides have big big sign saying got Speed camera one.. also one on Boon Lay Way and one on PIE near clementi i think.. those type.

of cos with those signs and still speed than or bi goot must fine la.. but some TP hor.. if the rd is 80km/hr.. u go 90km/hr.. they dun catch u right?

(if they do... very busy) any experiences?

Yup.. heard once the satelite is up there.. its what's going to be happening to all of us.. Buy small small cute cars la... dun bother to look at ferraris.. heee

Wat fair warning?! like wat fellow forum frz said, its a priviledge not entitlement..it already a law not to spd over the limit indicated and all of us have to know this in order to pass theory test... [:|]

those u mentioned are advice online if you bother to search online streetdirectory and these are fixed cameras and all should have known [shakehead]

i believe the 3rd paragraph those u refer to are portable cameras where TP will do random spotchecks (thou most of the time at hotspots)...and if do a search in dictionary on the meaning of random, would you wan them to waste our $$ and put a sign there when they might not even be there on the first place?

yes i do have experiences of wat u mentioned and thanks goodness i met those kindhearted TP standing on the overheads and the roadside who didnt send love letters to me... [sweatdrop]...

if you smart enuf and notice the cars in front are slowing down, you dun try to act hao lian and start changing lane to overcut..u are veri much safe from TP candid shot [sly]

haha...

no wonder expats wonder ALOUD whether Singaporeans are pampered.

here in SG, when we wanna break a law, we wanna be fore-warned that hey in front got enforcer, pls temporary dun break the law; after that point, carry on.

does it even make sense to debate? answer is straight forward...ppl tt been caught for speeding b4...and ppl who accident due to speeding b4..do we dare do it again? no.

so why u wan what ample warning...for motorist to wayang? frm ns to civilian life...?

haha [laugh]

not true hor ... in uk the police MUST warn the motorists SUFFICIENTLY before conducting the speed trap thing. if there's no warning, then u can fight all the way to the courts. the motoring fraternity is fighting their govt regarding the speed cameras doing more harm than good ... so forewarning is not what we are famous for, ang mohs even more garang than us ...

of course, on the other hand, got warning sign oso does not mean always got speed trap ... pros & cons lah ...

then we might as well follow the ang moh...TP will get News to incorporate their schedule and places where they will be station for candid camera...those who dun watch tv is their problem and drivers are suppose to adhere to spd limit at the mentioned location....

and place a "thank you for not speeding" sign 500m down their station point... [laugh][laugh]

tat wat i experienced in aussie...the best part is when u got shot with that bright flash and see the sign later on...you are damn pissed... [furious][furious][laugh]

just google.. speed camera rights and u got em all..hehehe.. cos din get the ans here..

http://www.washtimes.com/world/20061112-122240-7722r.htm

"roadside cameras, which capture images of speeding cars so the drivers can be penalized, make the roads more dangerous. Among other things, he says, drivers who spot the cameras brake suddenly and take their eyes off the road to look at their speedometers."

something not right la... tat why i asking.. i may be wrong.. but just see if any like minded.. tat y ask any politicians or lawyers here.. hohohoho

[flowerface]

Anyone has this experience? I have two friends who got caught for speeding by the overhead bridge camera but were given a letter of warning by post. One was doing 81 on a 60km/h road and the other.... get this... 130 on a 90km/h eway... is it because of the letters to the forum bout the way they did their job that they now give warning letters??

I was fined and got 8 demerit points last year in sept for doing 81 on a 50km/h road. Appealed and even mentioned that at the time of my appeal, the road limit has been raised to 70km/h .. Oso kena pay... [sweatdrop]... no complaints there but.... [hur]

from 2005 3Q on following several feedback from members of public, the Traffic Police had kindly revised some of its rules and procedures, most obvious of which was listing publicly the roads with speed traps.

next of which was this grace thing on speeding. 1st timers with clean correct more likely than not gets a warning against speeding letter for first offence...usually 60,70 roads do 20-30 more first time they may give chance...but 100+ one i think wun.

a bit heng suay oso i feel...

in either case, driving is a conscious act, im very sure im not the only one who knows it when i wanna step and hear the rev go up...haha ..when I (we) do that we gotta know the consequences ourselves. no point complaining and comparing to UK etc...you wanna pay their tax rate and ERP rate? if so then you have these rights; as always said, be a man do the right thing - be a man own up and be responsible.

safe motoring to all [drivingcar][thumbsup]

I drive in the UK and Australia a few times a year. In the UK, the villages and town zones have a lot of 48km/h (30mph) and some 32 km/h (20 mph) zones with cameras AND ZERO tolerance. Got used to driving slowly around town. We are talking sometimes 5km worth of this, 2-3 km on either side of town centre.

In Melbourne, there is a 3km stretch of road (2 lanes each way with tram in the middle)but lots of restaurants and road side parking, where the limit is 40km/h between 7AM and midnight (60 outside those times). Do 45 and you are done.

I learnt to control my speed. Otherwise pay $$$. Try driving at 30km/h - not easy at all!!

Then I come home to Singapore and you have idiots doing 80km/h in HDB estates, even along roads with many pedestrians etc. One unwary elderly pedestrian that does not see you and steps off the kerb and ... you may kill somebody and end up in jail.

So over here, I am doing 55 or so on Pasir Ris Dr1 (limit is 60) and people flash and horn at me even if I am in the left lane and the lights in front have just turned red. They speed past me like maniacs and then brake like hell. 10 seconds later, I am next to them. Senseless.

My appeal, please, HDB estates have a 50-60km/h limit for a reason. Slow down, be safe. Do 110 on expressways - that is arguably safer than 70 in an HDB estates with lots of activity.

Edited by Russ

ya u rite..and i dunnoe wat the purpose of this thread...u are suppose not to spd and asking us should we appeal for more fair warning signs??? waste tax payer $$ for wat?? garment spend more on such idiotic stuff and later increase tax and gst to claim back we KPKB about garment?? wat logic?? [hur]

But how do they define '1st timers'?

Coz the offence is tagged to the vehicle no first. Then a notice is sent to the vehicle owner to furnish the driver's particulars. So they actually take the vehicle owner's record as default? Or the vehicle no's record?

Eg. Hubby and I drive the car. However it's registered my father-in-law's name. My FIL rides a motorbike and has 3 demerit points for 'sneaking' into those one-way lane with "No Entry" sign. Under our vehicle no, there's one recorded offence - 3 demerit points for parking on zig-zag line committed by my hubby. Myself, I have a clean record, but received summon 2 wks back for speeding - 6 demerit points, going 80+ on a 60 road.

So confirmed no such thing as 1st timer get warning letter. Prob heng suay. Or they consider '1st timer' as '1st offence under that vehicle no'.

I just saw a white ant hiding on the overhead bridge..thumbsdown.gif

Now quite stressful driving hwy with overhead bridges, especially those with covered walkways. Always need to look up for the sneaky camera men.

One was very very sneaky. Immediately after passing speed camera at aye (NUS) towards jurong, there was a camera man facing westward on the overhead bridge. Hard luck for those who picked up speed after the camera.