Alpha78 6th Gear November 20, 2006 Share November 20, 2006 Agree with you bro. Want to speed, pay the price. Don't want to pay the price, don't speed. In fact, I rather the TP operates as silently and stealthily as possible, to the point that they can't even be spotted up close. With a few summons thrown out, everyone will be so spooked that they will all keep within the speed limit, at all times and all places. Personally, I no longer speed beyond a couple of kmh above the limit. It's too tiring trying to keep a lookout for snipers. That said, I don't condone road-hogging either, eg vehicles doing 60kmh on the second lane when lane 3 is also moving at 60kmh. Ends up lane 1 is only moving at 70 to 75kmh and everyone is slowed down. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Upandcoming Neutral Newbie November 20, 2006 Share November 20, 2006 yea lor i guess individual first time baa... but yah ur guess as good as mine heng suay lor..kittenmobile after +5bHp kena spotted too easily la...now too fast too furious maybe tts why no chance Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Upandcoming Neutral Newbie November 20, 2006 Share November 20, 2006 stressful? i deem the only stress on as the jams on our highways trying keep lookout for motorcyclists that may need weave past u (no offence), regulate speed, maintain distance...all when in jam.. stress to look at bridges? hmm is this self induce? no speed no neck sore due to looking up..haha my honest opinion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyousuke Neutral Newbie November 20, 2006 Share November 20, 2006 So basically you are saying that as a burglar, I feel very stress becuase of frequent patrols. Therefore, all policeman must bring a loudhailer and shout "I'm coming" when coming. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear November 20, 2006 Share November 20, 2006 u think every car got cruise control...sometimes happen to step harder. maybe urs have. Its not TP's fault you can't control your vehicle well then. Dont tell me that you don't know that you're stepping harder on the accelrator. If you don't have the ability/discipline to be in proper control of you vehicle then you should not be on the road anyway. I have never unconsciously speed... its always "premeditated", and i have paid the price for it here in melb when i got caught for 146 in an 80 zone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear November 20, 2006 Share November 20, 2006 True... but on certain roads.. esp those stated in Asiaone's web, known to be long stretches and not busy roads. Known to be prone be driven a little 'faster', almost like a express way. Why not just put a warning sign to remind ppl to go at 70km. And if still speed than u pay the price. Not be in white n spook ppl lo. Allow ppl time to slow down and be reminded. But i hardly go ard there... ARE there warning signs? siao... what are the speed limit signs for then??? someone told me b4 in a democratic country ... u got to warn ppl and tell ppl.. not very sure about this.. any politicians here? Or lawyers? like when u catch bad guy n b4 u cuff them.. u got to read them their rights.. if u dun.. u catch him they can sue u.. something like tat. think that rd was 70km/hr.. maybe happen to press abit more.. could have eased off abit.. but the thing here is.. are the warnings fair? posting in websites the updates.. enuf? not everyone has access to a web (ya.. even in these days) 24/7. friend paid the fine of cos n not making any noise.. only felt the warnings are lacking to "remind". once again what are the speed limit signs for??? they are there to inform you of the speed you should not exceed. Btw, knowing operational procedures, i can guarantee you you friend was NOT on a 70kmh road. Garmen wants it bopian bro...i think drivers here siang bo eng liao...drive from point A to point B must look left look rite..up and down too for snipers. honestly, i dun like wat these mobile camera men r doing...TP patrol needs to turn on blinkers as they park on road shoulder so these camera men must do like wise. If you follow the road rules then don't you think that you don't need to look left look right..up and down too??? If you want to break the rules then you gotta pay the price. The rational for the blinkers is not to warn you that theres a camera. its that to warn you that theres a vehicle stopped there so that you don't hit the car! fair warning.. not speed limit signs. Like those on ECP before and after rocher (depending which way u coming from) both sides have big big sign saying got Speed camera one.. also one on Boon Lay Way and one on PIE near clementi i think.. those type. of cos with those signs and still speed than or bi goot must fine la.. but some TP hor.. if the rd is 80km/hr.. u go 90km/hr.. they dun catch u right? (if they do... very busy) any experiences? Speed limit signs not enough ahh??? need to have speed camera warning signs before you slow down to the legal speed??? As much as i disagree that speeding kills, I think you need to change your attitude coz driving is not a right. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear November 20, 2006 Share November 20, 2006 But then you easily get a Ku-band radar detector. Not unless you want a $5000 fine for having one even if its turned off (and the communications act here). In fact the penatly for using a radar detector is the worst of all traffic offences as traffic rules are also brought into play. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear November 20, 2006 Share November 20, 2006 Well, the expressway EMAS got say "Traffic Police Ops" from time to time. While you can say it is a default message they put there, technically they can say they got give warning. Fixed speed cameras have ample warnings, but stealth cameras have to be stealthy, I guess? Otherwise no point calling them stealth cameras lor.. If you think SG is bad, you should see Australia. Got unmarked police cars cruising around. Sometimes officer park on roadside and shoot oncoming traffic without any signage or warning. On the dot!!! Btw in case ppl don't know... the Traffic Management Unit (TMU) does not even need a camera. Their estimate is sufficient! And as opposed to what russ said. the tolerance is 3kmh. No more. Did i mentione the impound rules that Melbourne was the last of the Aussie states to adopt??? if you chip your tyres loudly enough even if its accleration, the car can be impounded. I think Singapores TP is too lax. Overtaking dangerously, failing to signal, failing to form up properly for a turn, failing to stop at a stop line, failing to give way, even filtering that causes others to brake hard are offences that they enforce rigourously and i think our TP needs to buck up to those standards. Not to mention that they frequently pull people up just to check that the vehicles are modified (if they are) properly, that the ladies are not wearing heels to drive (improper attire), random breath tests, etc. they even got to forums to look for and trace illegally modified vehicles and motoring activities. I suspect that even though it has been quite a while since i left the force that i'm the only police officer in sg that has actually pulled someone over for not having properly aligned headlights. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tony76 1st Gear November 21, 2006 Share November 21, 2006 (edited) Thank you for your insight. Edited November 21, 2006 by Tony76 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tony76 1st Gear November 21, 2006 Share November 21, 2006 The way you talk machiam you are not a TP previously but only a Divisional officer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie November 21, 2006 Share November 21, 2006 Agree with you bro. Want to speed, pay the price. Don't want to pay the price, don't speed. In fact, I rather the TP operates as silently and stealthily as possible, to the point that they can't even be spotted up close. With a few summons thrown out, everyone will be so spooked that they will all keep within the speed limit, at all times and all places. Personally, I no longer speed beyond a couple of kmh above the limit. It's too tiring trying to keep a lookout for snipers. That said, I don't condone road-hogging either, eg vehicles doing 60kmh on the second lane when lane 3 is also moving at 60kmh. Ends up lane 1 is only moving at 70 to 75kmh and everyone is slowed down. thanks for support!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Superduper Neutral Newbie November 21, 2006 Share November 21, 2006 (edited) Opinions anyone? From >> http://motoring.asiaone.com.sg/drivers/20050224_001.html Warning signs may also be put up on the roads to alert motorists ahead of speed traps. - Got anot ah? In addition, officers will wear white uniforms during the day and don vests with yellow reflectors at night, to make them more visible on the roads. - got time to see? Speeding kills - AGREE.. but if the roads that are prone to speeding should already be fixed with warning signs.. not mobile ppl in white hiding in bushes. Just helping a pissed friend ask after being fined yet again for a speeding at 80km/hr. many of us take things for granted, including going at high speeds. True, speed gives us the thrills but in some cases, it also causes accidents which may be fatal. Do we need another reminder (see the attachment) please Think.... about the sorrows you leave behind your loved ones..... Edited November 21, 2006 by Superduper Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear November 21, 2006 Share November 21, 2006 (edited) I was a boy racing IO if that helps Anyway it makes no real difference coz other than speeding, any police officer can catch you for any traffic offence. Honestly, knowing the speed limits, we should keep to them if we don't want to get caught. If we get caught for speeding then its our own fault not anyone elses, and if we are unable to control the vehicle then we shouldnt be allowed on the road. Edited November 21, 2006 by Elfenstar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear November 21, 2006 Share November 21, 2006 yea popular..a lot of us go 80 and... ya man.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tony76 1st Gear November 21, 2006 Share November 21, 2006 Cool...how many yrs left the force? see the way u type know u mata liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lokech34 Clutched November 21, 2006 Share November 21, 2006 Hi , And yes agree & this will distract your attention while driving. I am more angry with driver who change lanes without signal.And cut into your lane when you might have little time to slsow down. Just drive carefully & take care Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear November 21, 2006 Share November 21, 2006 abt 5 yrs back Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tony76 1st Gear November 22, 2006 Share November 22, 2006 got reservist?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...