OPC Restricted Hours to be Extended to Johor

Mubarakrashid

In Reply To
...out in today's paper. effective ruling date 1st Jan 2007. those caught without the $20 coupon, will be fined RM$300.

[/reply]

Hey, which page did u read that news ya? Can it be found in ST website?

its in the front page of Berita Harian...malay newspaper..

They have good grounds for it. Every country has a right to charge for road tax. As a matter of courtesy most country reciprocate the rights of their motorists, e.g. you can drive a MY car in SG and vice versa if they have valid road tax in their own country.

If you can't drive an OPC car off hours in SG without being fined why should they allow it to be driven in MY?

Try driving a SG car without valid road tax in MY and you'll be fined, too, so why not OPCs?

Why even stop at OPCs? Use a SG car without road tax in MY-lah ....... If anything I think the outbreak of "red eye disease" as mentioned is probably more of an issue here in SG .... now the OPCs can not go JB as freely ....

Lets be reasonable and fair to them as well when they are right.

u tink if they stop u..1st ting they check is ur road tax?????bwahahahahaha..

i dun tink they ever check rd tax 2..

they're more interested hw much is inside ur wallet..then ur license...

guess the 1 happiest is normal car owners..they are the 1s who c tis loophole as an eye sore..

WTF.....I know a lot of ppl bought the OPC car to go in and can drive without putting the coupon...now SG pakat with M'sia to implement this??shakehead.gifshakehead.gifshakehead.gif

Guess SG give M'sia chance to earn some $$$unimpressed.gifunimpressed.gifunimpressed.gif

LTA has replied that all SG motorists are subjected to any rules and regulations lay out by each host country they are in.. wink.gif

...dunno coincidence or what..but it seems that since Mahathir was admitted to hospital, the tensions between the 2 countries have ease and we are gearing towards more and better partnerships... lipsrsealed.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

They have good grounds for it. Every country has a right to charge for road tax. As a matter of courtesy most country reciprocate the rights of their motorists

Lets be reasonable and fair to them as well when they are right.

u sounded like the reply from LTA leh.. sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

Edited by Mubarakrashid

I strongly suspect that this whole affair started cos many Sporeans who live in JB buy SG OPC & use it freely in MY. drivingcar.gif

This cause "unhappiness" & "red eyes" that these pple get to own SG plate cars & use them freely there but pay such low R.Tax. blush.gifgossip.gif

There the pple r famous for their "Red eye Disease" especially with the richer Sporeans. So they prob complain here & there & finally some TP take the law into their own hands. whip.gif

There must b a law which states that OPC from SG r not allowed on their roads during certain restricted hours or a specified coupon must b displayed. As far as I know, there is no such law. shakehead.gifgossip.gif

could be true also...

..but it should be another govt that have 'redder eyes' right...? maybe these govt tulan after noticing many of their locals buy OPC car (get rebate of S$17k), yet live in overseas and drive the car happily like nobody business... so collaborate with counterpart and ask them to impose this ruling in overseas too.. at the end of the day, its a win-win for both states.. cause these people die-die still need to display valid coupon when driving within the restricted hours (in another term, have to buy lots lots more coupons from motherland), or otherwise 'enemy' will summon them RM$300.. sweatdrop.gif

so which option u prefer? S$20 or RM$300? sly.gif ...and who benefits more? SG or MY? sly.gifsly.gif

oh man...if i have join the civil service group, i would have long ago propose this idea.. could be minister for transportation by now.. Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

another case is alot of malaysian buying off-peak car in sg and using in their own country. for some models, after 17K probably have cash rebate so ultimately, still cheaper than the same car model in malaysia.

Sad to say, fellow MCF (owned OPC) bros, the news is officially covered in Saturday's ST - Home section pg H11 now. [bigcry]

According to the paper, the plan is still under consideration. They didnt put a timeline for it to be effective.

I may be joining u guys in the drivers party soon, nxt mth or so... hopefully this wont drastically convert intended OPC buyers to come spoil COE market for the recent time. [shakehead][shakehead][shakehead]

The news is on pages 8 of the Newpaper too.

Here are some of the main points:

1)Off peak cars that flout the rule will be compounded for 3 days if spotted by "Johor's Jabatan Pengangkutan Jalan (Road Transport Department) officers.

2) To get back thier cars, owners will have to pay a fine of RM300 and submit a supplementary license for the date they were caught.

3) Mr. Mohd Rosli Ramli, director of Johor Road Tramsport Department told Newpaper: they are simply getting more strict about a ruling which had actually been in force since 1994.

4) Last year, 2 off peak cars were fine...none in 2004.

None of these make sense to me.........hmmm.... like that those malaysian cars must have COE also lor....every 3 years go for inspection. [furious][furious][furious]

To save S$20, OPC can either drive into Johor and exit Johor state by 7:01am (after all, IMHO, nice stuff are found in areas beyond Johor area anyway) [laugh][laugh]

DUN PREY PREY....RED PLATE VERY OBVIOUS WAN, U KNOW....

Yalor....KNS.

Today im going to Desaru....actually wanted to go in before 7am. But after reading through this topic many times over.....better dont pray-pray. Wait instead of going to Desaru, car kena compound..... [dizzy][dizzy][dizzy]

So setting off at about noon time lor. No need wake-up 6am to rush like mad. Since must display coupon in both countries. [:/]

hmm...maybe.. though i'm not sure if foreigners can registered an OPC car... confused.gif

can anyone confirm? gossip.gif

No restrictions. True lots of malaysian & (PR's) has bought OPC cars n driven them to msia.they work on shift so it suits them best too...

7pm-7am shift is the most common timing of them...(Engineers/Policeman-Civil servants etc)

Imagine a $26k car for a brand new lancer....converting to RM52k, believe in msia it could cost more too.72k rm perhaps ?not too sure on this was only quoted by some of my clients...

Edited by Lobangking88

the time will come when one day we will be sick of all this daylight robbery

if this day can come the pig also can climb tree [:p]