Bobcatsysop Neutral Newbie January 20, 2007 Share January 20, 2007 (edited) 2007 IASCA Rules download page: http://www.iasca.com/rules_downloads/index.php Now it will be 2-seat judging from 2007 onwards for all classes except rookies. Well... for me, driver's seat is hard enough to tune already, not to mention about acceptable high standard also for front passenger seat tuning. Whew!!!.. this is gonna be a nightmare. That means gonna have a constant companion seating beside you whenever you tune, then ask, how about your side?.. vocal centre or not?.. soundstage wide enough for you or not? oh mine!!!... nightmare... Edited January 20, 2007 by Bobcatsysop ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged January 20, 2007 Share January 20, 2007 (edited) Can lar... every year, enrol as Rookie... Edited January 20, 2007 by Nlatio Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobcatsysop Neutral Newbie January 20, 2007 Author Share January 20, 2007 3-way active high-end setup every year still participate as rookie?... where got standard?.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie January 20, 2007 Share January 20, 2007 i have been wondering what kind of setting would be good for both seats. certainly it won't be ideal for either one, but i was thinking, for long distance driving where u can't eject the passenger halfway, both you and your passenger just have to tolerate each other and the sound. an automatic thought might be to neutralise all settings. that way u end up with even balance and TA. but that may not be the ideal situation. focusing TA more towards one might still give the other a reasonable stage. for example, if driver's TA points centre in front of him, the passenger still can have a centre slightly left of him, hopefully not by too much. if driver's TA points slightly right of centre in front of him, the passenger would have centre a bit more in front of him rather than too left-sided. any change of balance would seriously affect the other user, so this maybe shouldn't touch ... and centre speaker should prove to be very useful for this scenario. pity nobody in our group got centre speaker. otherwise can audit the effect for both seats. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobcatsysop Neutral Newbie January 20, 2007 Author Share January 20, 2007 Here is one sample pix of what the IASCA judges are looking at based on U.S. LH drive cars. Dunno how to tune to suit BOTH driver and front passenger to have exact same imaging..Whew!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie January 21, 2007 Share January 21, 2007 must "promote the industry" mah. IASCA pakat with EMMA one. cos one seat is so much easier to tune mah. then who will buy more new toys? at least 2 seats make some people buy centre channel, otherwise will sit in showroom nobody buy. then finish liao they'll implement 3 seat judging, the 3rd is the fellow sitting behind in the centre cos people chope the front seats liao. then 6 seat judging, then 10 seat for kwongwing's car .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tazster_t Neutral Newbie January 21, 2007 Share January 21, 2007 Well bro, there was a time when a lot of folks tot they could win the rookie division with high end setups... only to meet other cars with similar or more high end setups. There used to be a divide by RMS rating as well like.. 'below 600RMS' & '601 & above', then you see lots of underrated amps in the car.. like genesis DM with 100RMS on paper but giving out abt 150RMS. Now I think they scrap the power classificiation. On the part of having a TA to give an experience similar to driver and passenger, yes.. it can be done. I asked a competitor in one of the US car audio forum. Response is that it requires major fabrication of the dash and pillars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobcatsysop Neutral Newbie January 21, 2007 Author Share January 21, 2007 Hi Bro, <<On the part of having a TA to give an experience similar to driver and passenger, yes.. it can be done. I asked a competitor in one of the US car audio forum. Response is that it requires major fabrication of the dash and pillars.>> So that means more business for ICE installers for positioning of the tweets and mids - A-pillars, kicker panels mounting and door tilt angles and dashboard. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobcatsysop Neutral Newbie January 21, 2007 Author Share January 21, 2007 (edited) <> With additional centre channel or speakers, you may likely get into this situation? confusing leh (pix shown is US left hand drive cars hor..) Edited January 21, 2007 by Bobcatsysop Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie January 21, 2007 Share January 21, 2007 > On the part of having a TA to give an experience similar to driver and passenger, yes.. it can be done. I asked a competitor in one of the US car audio forum. Response is that it requires major fabrication of the dash and pillars. would u have more specific information on how this might be achieved? kickpanel is as far as midrange/midbass can be placed. and tweeters, at far corners of dash? wonder if placing them more "inwards" (towards vehicle centre rather than spaced outside) might be a thought. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ractis Neutral Newbie January 21, 2007 Share January 21, 2007 I remember someone said to make use of reflections. ie, they aim at the windows and let it bounce back to the listener, rather than direct at the listener. But I think the consensus is that a center speaker will help a lot. Some suggested using waveguides, but that is quite cheem stuff Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie January 21, 2007 Share January 21, 2007 dont know anything about waveguides. do u? even if u aim at windscreen, there'll still be an impulse sound (1st signal from speaker) followed by the 1st reflection sound (immediate bounce) which at most might be similarly as loud. if u could eliminate the impulse sound (by some form of tube to prevent off-axis sound from coming out?) and let the 1st reflection sound be the primary audible signal, then u have effectively increased the pathlength of the dashboard speaker. not as essential for kickpanel if u can approximate a kickpanel path difference of less than maybe 4-6 inches? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobcatsysop Neutral Newbie January 21, 2007 Author Share January 21, 2007 Hi Ractis, I have also heard about making use of reflections to aim at the windows and let it bounce back to the listener. This hi-tech skill is being practiced by Cartoon and was done in his personal car. Don't shoot me if I am wrong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tazster_t Neutral Newbie January 21, 2007 Share January 21, 2007 Hi Bro, So that means more business for ICE installers for positioning of the tweets and mids - A-pillars, kicker panels mounting and door tilt angles and dashboard. I think we never have a prob for a-pillar and door tilt angles esp for more experienced installers, those are bread and butter stuff. Our right hand drive cars prohibits us from using kick panels. What I mean by fabrication of dash board is they remove the stock dash board and fabricate new one.. with enclosures to mount speakers. And I'm NOT talking abt putting a centre speaker like a 5.1 setup. When you have dash as a platform... you can do all sorts of things. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tazster_t Neutral Newbie January 21, 2007 Share January 21, 2007 Sorry bro, didn't get much info from the guy. though i've seen pics b4. I'll try to find some pics... But if you look at some alpine demo cars where they really rework the interior and put speakers in the dash? Not "ON' the dashboard hor... "IN' the dash board.. but not so hao siao like out 8 4inch midrange across the dashboard.. . more goal-driven rather than for show. Some speakers maybe firing directly into the cabin.. some maybe like SAAB, mounted in dash facing upward.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear January 21, 2007 Share January 21, 2007 there are some cars locally with kick pods in. one of the owners i spoke to said that the main 'mod' he had to do was to bend his accelerator pedal a bit. but kick pods for manual cars, that one has less chance lah. i tink there are some cars runnin ard in singapore with dash speakers.. heheh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tazster_t Neutral Newbie January 21, 2007 Share January 21, 2007 <> With additional centre channel or speakers, you may likely get into this situation? confusing leh (pix shown is US left hand drive cars hor..) Not sure if I'm reading you right, but the pic does not portray the existance of a centre speaker. What the pic shows is that the 6.5 woofer is.. like 'giving aways its position' or not firing its music to the same level as the soundstage.. so certain frequencies get smeared downwards towards the woofer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tazster_t Neutral Newbie January 21, 2007 Share January 21, 2007 Sorry bro.. i borrow this image for a while.. Based on what I've listened so far. If you have a normal setup.. what you would get most of the time will be something like this... Driver seat.. no issue right? In Passenger seat, your L, LC, C & RC will span from left a-pillar to centre console. R will be roughly be in the same position. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...