Silver_z 1st Gear January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 I am looking to change my rear speakers to give better bass. Was thinking of getting a 6X9 and cutting off the wires to the tweeters. Or should I just get a 6.5 and omit the installation of the tweeters? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mnphosis 1st Gear January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 not much diff i figure. just go get an entry level sub. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diesel 1st Gear January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 The 6x9s should be able to hit lower if u are looking for more bass. Otherwise add a compact sub in the cabin Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 6X9 for bass. You will not go wrong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mnphosis 1st Gear January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 price of a decent 6x9, might as well spend on an entry level woofer. how much better can a 6x9 bass get right? at most a little only. negligible most of the time. and if u have to turn your bass settings all the way up just to get that little difference, u'll probably be listening to what many term, coloured music. not true to its source anymore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 Bro, Why not check with bro Silver Z whether he want to install a woofer or not? If he asking for either 6.5 inch or 6X9, he may have space constrain. To me, he is asking a question on whether which is better, we should answer his question. Right? If he do not have high expectation for bass, a normal 6X9 can cost between 100-200. There is no way you can get a woofer at this price unless its used. Not only that, you need a amp to drive, that will be additional cost. Lets see what Bro Silver Z have to say then we can recommend him more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 my 6x9 cost 330 and now sitting in the storeroom... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 Sell it off lah bro! 330 a little steep to pay for 6X9 lor. Might as well get a good pair of components. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diesel 1st Gear January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 I doubt u would wanna get a "decent" pair of 6x9s costing above $100 & snip off the tweeters Bass for rear-fills just get $40 3-way type, go Mustafa shop around Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mnphosis 1st Gear January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 ur right :) i just kay poh suggest a more feasible alternative :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 Bro, Your suggesstion is a great one. But one have to consider the budget and space. I have personally compare the 3 (6X9, 6.5inch component and 10in sub). A stock 6X9 easily outbeat the 6.5 inch component I have from Alpine. The 10 inch sub is like whoa!!! But the price also whoa lah esp when you take the monoblock amp into consideration. Anyway let Bro Silver Z decide himself. We are all here to help! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 but the sound is good ....didnt managed to let u hear it during its days in the protege...how to sell when u have said its a little too steep... ya..got 2 pairs of component for the current ride... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 dun buy monoblock for sub...buy 2 ch will be cheaper...i use 2 ch to drive my 10inch sub too... ur component is type s too? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_z 1st Gear January 30, 2007 Author Share January 30, 2007 (edited) I already have a pair of 8" DVC Rockfords. A very old model. Hahaha.... But I am looking for something to fill the bass for a range between mids and subs. My current config is, a pair of Diamond M6(46hz - 24khz) for front, and a pair of 8" RF DVC 3ohm subs. Currently, my rear is stock and not connected. I realize that if I tune my subs to higher freq, i get very constant air sound, such as the bass from the voice. So my idea is to tune the sub to very low freq, which i will end up having a gap between my front mids and subs right? Btw, thanx for all the contribution. Edited January 30, 2007 by Silver_z Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_z 1st Gear January 30, 2007 Author Share January 30, 2007 You wanna sell those 6X9? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 PM me the offer? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 Sell it off lah bro! 330 a little steep to pay for 6X9 lor. Might as well get a good pair of components. mine is this pair http://www.autosound.co.nz/specials.php?product_id=000054 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwongwing Neutral Newbie January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 Hi Silver_z, From your description of the "problem" which you are trying to solve - I believe that the addition of the rear speakers would not help you much. You seem to be missing the "punch" in your mid-bass rite? Believe that you must be running a passive setup for your front component speakers - either use an EQ to boost up the mid-bass region around 50 - 80 hz, or switch to an active setup. Your gains for your amps may be a bit off - with fine-tuning of the amp gains of the amp powering your front speakers and the balancing of your sub's volume you should be able to solve your issue. Come join us at the meetup tomorrow to get some pointers ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...