Sgnick 1st Gear February 4, 2007 Share February 4, 2007 Hi, I am now considering getting a Garmin GPS for car. Can users share their experience with Garmin GPS products? Besides just sharing how you feel about the pros/cons features and price, can also share experience about using it for Singapore roads, using it to go Malaysia, problems, dislikes, etc. Personally, I have one question. What is the difference in feature if I buy Garmin nuvi 310 without map (cheaper) and use free maps from malsingmaps.com, compared to buying it with official SG/MY map (more expensive). Any difference? Better to buy with the official map or save the $? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear February 4, 2007 Share February 4, 2007 Future garmin user 2...till nw i havnt buy.. i knoe few users in MCF...like poortraveller,chickenbackside,ahbeng driver..etc.. lets wait 4 them 2 come contribute... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tribeca Neutral Newbie February 4, 2007 Share February 4, 2007 hi bro, I hve a Garmin C320, lemme answer the part on the maps. The maps fr malsing, they are "live" members update them on the go, constantly. New roads, POIs even speed cameras are in the maps. You can drive fr Sin all the way to thai border with their maps. The some features of the Garmin maps : Can search using post code. Blk nos are on the map. Covers Sin, JB, KL and major town area only. This map is as updated as the latest relase date. cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear February 4, 2007 Author Share February 4, 2007 (edited) Thanks Tribeca, So does that mean malsing free maps no SG blk numbers, so GPS cannot find a block, GPS will only show me the way up to a road/street? Hmm, then is it better to buy and use official Garmin map while driving in SG (provided the place I want to go to is updated), and use malsing free maps when go malaysia? Just trying to decide if worth it to pay for the Garmin maps or not. Edited February 4, 2007 by Sgnick Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear February 4, 2007 Author Share February 4, 2007 Did some searching in malsingmaps and found this article. Seems like there is another way to search for blocks on Malsing maps, or am I reading this article wrongly? Actually, i don't quite understand this article because I have not use nuvi before. " Do you need the Original Garmin maps of Singapore and JB bundled in with your Nuvi From Malsingmaps Malsing maps cannot search for addresses but can get around it by using the "Spell Name"function, thanks to all the hardwork by our members in contributing the Road POIs and HDB Block POIs. If you're using a Nuvi it is indeed easier to search address using the Spell Name function on a malsing map compared to the Search Address function on a Garmin map. If you were to use the original Garmin map,you will have to tap "Address",then tap "country", then tap the "block number or unit number", then tap "enter" then tap "Road name" (may be spelled halfway) then tap "done" then it shows a list, then tap the correct one, then press go. In the Malsing map. You tap "Spell name", then tap the "road/blk number", then tap "done", then find the right one, then press go. The Malsing map is thus faster to use. Sometimes the auto complete makes searching for address on a Garmin map a bit irritating. Before you've finished typing, the unit changes screen to predict your input. Using malsing maps, you can complete your keying in and press done to generate a search list. Retrieved from "http://www.malsingmaps.com/wiki/index.php/Do_you_need_the_Original_Garmin_maps_of_Singapore_and_JB_bundled_in_with_your_Nu vi" " Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poortraveller 1st Gear February 4, 2007 Share February 4, 2007 (edited) garmin is one of the leader in GPS technology ... so getting garmin will not go wrong pro useful when ur totally lost con may bring u round the world b4 getting u to ur destination where in actual situation, a right/left turn is all u need to reach ur destination if ur getting ur gps in sgp with warranty, it will be cheaper to get the bundle package... if u dun want the map and hack care abt the warranty, get it online and use malsingmaps map end of the day, its ur call ... Edited February 4, 2007 by Poortraveller Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poortraveller 1st Gear February 4, 2007 Share February 4, 2007 still haven't buy? get the zumo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poortraveller 1st Gear February 4, 2007 Share February 4, 2007 which part u dun understand? maybe i can help u ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear February 4, 2007 Author Share February 4, 2007 OK, thanks. I was told that on the malsing maps, I can't see the blocks, means I cannot search by block number right? Actually. if compare original Garmin map to Malsing maps, which map have more details on it (details like HDB blocks, MSCP, public and private buildings, etc) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poortraveller 1st Gear February 4, 2007 Share February 4, 2007 yes and no ... you will see block number but those number are just the car park entrance of those few blocks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ac67 Neutral Newbie February 4, 2007 Share February 4, 2007 i have a garmin gps, and i'm active in the malsingmap and its other forum. the malsingmap is more detailed than garmin's original map for johor+singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear February 5, 2007 Author Share February 5, 2007 Thanks poor traveller and AC67. So for malsing maps, we can search buidings by name "Clifford Centre" or by the block number like "24 Raffles Place" right? If so, that will be good enough for me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear February 5, 2007 Share February 5, 2007 (edited) i was abt 2 buy nuvi 660 wen tis zumo 550 appear..reali fits my need coz it come with car & bike mount...then the price.. so waitin 4 it 2 go lower then buy lah...nt plannin any long trips yet 4 time being..my $10 street directory can serve me 4 nw.. Edited February 5, 2007 by Tarzan666 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tribeca Neutral Newbie February 5, 2007 Share February 5, 2007 Thanks Tribeca, So does that mean malsing free maps no SG blk numbers, so GPS cannot find a block, GPS will only show me the way up to a road/street? Hmm, then is it better to buy and use official Garmin map while driving in SG (provided the place I want to go to is updated), and use malsing free maps when go malaysia? Just trying to decide if worth it to pay for the Garmin maps or not. Hi Like I said in my earlier post, Malsing is always updating its map & finding ways to improve it. For eg the blk no issue. They hve toil hard & unselflessly to plot in most if not all the blk nos in Sg as POI. For eg if u wanna go to AMK blk 273, all u need to do is to do a adress search key in the blk no. : 273 & all the blks with 273 will be reflected so u just choose the one u wanna go & presto it will guide u to the car park entrance of that blk. For more know how & info visit http://www.malsingmaps.com/forum/index.php cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear February 5, 2007 Author Share February 5, 2007 Thanks Tribeca, this sounds wonderful. Seems like I don't need to buy the official Garmin maps anymore, save me some $, just get the set. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poortraveller 1st Gear February 5, 2007 Share February 5, 2007 i dun think the price will go south in the near future ... yes, zumo is sexy but the price to pay can kill Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear February 5, 2007 Author Share February 5, 2007 If given a choice of $610 for Nuvi 300, and $725 for Streetpilot C550, which one is a better deal? Both no SG map no warranty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damn66 Neutral Newbie February 24, 2007 Share February 24, 2007 Nuvi 300 good enuff but make sure u get 1 with TTS enabled ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...