WHY isn't there many (if not any) famous Singaporean RACERS?

Liquidh

Yea, I agree. It is really tough to go into Motorsports here in Singapore, nonetheless make it big. Sponsors aka advertisers soon pulled out because most of our races are held in Malaysia and sponsors want their name recognized here in Singapore as well. That cannot be done without a track or local events. Carpark rallies, held once in a blue moon, target a small audience and that just won't do the trick.

You can be sponsored a car, the usual modification updates... but in Singapore, you'll be thankful to even have that going on for a year.

I'm glad F1 is coming though! THis might change things!

there's still one driving S15 one rite?? i heard my fren said that he actually learnt his driving techniques fr japan..........

Hahaha...you talking about Ivan Lim ???

Hahaha..... okies lah... I post his Japan training photos...

Ivan with Ken Nomura (Ivan's drift sensei)...

japtrip2.jpg

japtrip5.jpg

Sekiahills DEC Drift Circuit at Fukuoka !

japtrip6.jpg

The car that Ivan trained on.... The ER34 Skyline D1 Spec Training Car

japtrip3.jpg

Ken Nomura showed Ivan special techniques in drifting and tsuiso(twin battle)

japtrip8.jpg

Now it is Ivan's turn to practise.....

japtrip9.jpg

After his harsh training, Ivan appears a happy person......

japtrip7.jpg

All the pictures are courtesy from DRIFT.SG (www.drift-sg.com)

hehehehehe coooool~ Ken Nomura very cute n funny. he drove skyline GTR one rite??? i watch one of his dvd, he was training a babe how to drift....hahahaha the way the tok very cute [laugh]

you will get there sooner than later, bro.

[thumbsup]

it's really tough, which is why i admire you for

wat u able to do. [;)]

like me & some others u met at the go kart track

wanted to participate in an amateur kart race in JB,

also have to think. consider about the tracking time

involved, time for race, money..money for the kart

itself is a major consideration.. [shakehead]

without that$, no need to think of any other factor

liao. [sweatdrop]

motor sports in general is wat my fren termed as

'Sub Culture' here

no real place to exploit or test our interest or

talent. and there's no real sponsors who are willing

to fork out money to have an event... or even a local

racer. see wat happened to even our A1 team. now managed

by A1 administration.

dun think F1 coming will helps. cos it's a street race.

unless they built a proper track for it here, and dun charge

ridiculously then maybe there will be some talent spotting

followed by a home grown racer in time to come..

That's why when it comes to motorsports, every spot of practice is required.

A lot of us learn in whatever backyard environment that we come across. I guess you can akin it to kids playing soccer in the backstreet, looking for a dream to play in the World Cup one day. wink.gif

I think you are confusing motorsports with regular day-to-day driving.

Champions like Schumacher started out when they are young racing in karts. They slowly graduated up the ladder to F1 or whatever.

For the rally pros. There are rally clubs all over Europe.

If you have noticed, we don't have a track nor a rally club here. So the misconception that speeding on our roads the normal way to racedom. Dead wrong and usually end up dead. shakehead.gif

Agree. Normal roads are for drivings. Singapore is so small.. talking about building racing tracks and lands are so expensive. Unlike Japan which has so many roads on mountain and quite deserted. Cant really blame the garment for this. My suggestion is to build a racing track off shore at one of singapore island.

i know i will not in a WC or something as professional

but sometimes just need to know where one might be at

in terms of skills and techniques. also to have something

to look fwd, and work towards to.. for fun. serious fun tho.

[;)]

That's why I'm always having the time of my life whenever I drift. Too serious and you end up making too many mistakes.

But one dream I have will be to stand on the podium one day wink.gif

Strict traffic laws, heavy penalties for speeding, high costs of cars, no racing grounds... Not to mention racing as a profession, even sports pple are not earning much when they represent the country but fail to win anything... Culture also plays a crucial role though... [:(]

i wish for you, the day of podium will come soon!

[;)]

i do agree that when one is overly serious, one tend

to make mistakes never before made.

but then again motor sports is one serious sports

from wat i see, experience & concentration are very impt

in event itself, assuming all skill level is not too much

different and/or vehicle type is almost similar.

too bad u can't join us this sat. but sure there will be

some other times soon

[:)]

ya u are rite actually if u did notice alot of those kallang racer are uncle ,maybe we as the most efficient work force than many many other country,instinctively we force ourself to go for career , family , status first and since there nv was any singaporean who made real good money out of it,probaly thats y those kallang ah pek who after making their keep's jus out to have some fun

hmm.. may have to disagreed ,sporean actually turn out more millionair in terms of ratio in compare to other country ,each year ,and we are actually having more and more lucky fellows who hve rich father ,ya money is the cause , but most likely its because nobody in here has actually make a good living out of it , thats y nobody will considser racing as a career here