This consider as road hogging?  

46 members have voted

1. 1.

• Yes on any roads
    • Yes on 3 or more lane, no on 2 or single lane
    • No on all roads except expressway

i drive a lorry.

i go to Lane 1 sometimes travelling at 120kmh.

Lane 2 going at 70kmh to 100kmh depending on traffic.

am i road hogging? i realli dunno..

all i know is if theres a car coming up from behind i will give way..

u can see the rear mirror of your lorry, what if u are carrying goods till it covers your rear mirror view

you driving lorry and travelling on lane 1??? if u don't give way u sure die

Edited by Tomasky

nbz..take out from my siggy isit?

this topic has been argued n times already..but the final answer is still..road hogging is as wrong as speeding is..its just which one is the worse of the 2 evils..

my opinion, the road hogger is worse than the speedster..this applies everywhere, all over the world..

so the authority /traffic police should change slogan to

Road Hogging kills, it's never just about you

Please do not road hogging

haha..sounds so funny..

well, i shall not argue on this topic as the outcome should be quite clearcut..everybody will start coming in to shoot you and your theories down..then it will start a flaming war..

peace [angel]

Aiya.. just raise the speed limit to 120. problem solved. [;)]

Anw, if the roads are clear@night.. no harm driving any lane you want. Heck can even drive in the middle of 2 lanes, no one cares [laugh]

Actually it's not road hogging that's the killer.. Its those ppl who have super quick reactions and reflexes. They brake even before the front car brakes, and alot of times too.. damn irritating! [mad]

anti road hoggers, wake up your idea upthe speed limit today is 90

even if i'm in a rush and have to speed at 120 on lane 1 all the way and there is this 'bugger' driving at 90 blocking my way and refusing to give way, i feel frustrated, yes, but i have to admit that i am still in the wrong for speeding, not him, he is legally and morally obligated to keep to the speed limit

it's me who should be slowing down to 90, not him giving way or speeding up

don't accuse others of road hogging when in the first place, we ourselves are already at the wrong side of the law by breaching speed limit, be reasonanble and gracious

Edited by Tomasky

then whats wrong with the fella blocking to give way by keeping to the left lane? everybody is happy..

have you ever drive on NSH? wait til you look into your mirror and found a bus headlight staring back at you..then see whether you wanna give way onot..

he is not obligated to give way, if we are speeding and blatantly disregarding speed limit, we cannot force him to give way, it would of course be good if he can give way, but it's still not a MUST for him to give way, i wouldn't blame him if he refuse to give way also, we cannot be unreasonable

the speed limit 90 and the space mean speed is usually 95-105 and we are in urgency, frustrated at the slow traffic and try to drive way above the space mean speed, we are the ones having a problem, not the traffic flow and other "slower" drivers

traffic laws in malaysia and singapore are different, u cannot apply the malaysian way of driving on sg roads, their speed limit is 110>120

u try the malaysian way on PIE and CTE and your days of driving on the roads and your licence is numbered i can assure you

if u drive on NSH, follow their rules and if u driving on PIE/CTE, follow the singapore rules

PIE/CTE is very different on NSH, u see exits every 400-500m, it's too dangerous to have a 120 speed limit,

Edited by Tomasky

true, msia traffic rule is diff from sg, and their speed limit too..but i believe being this is not what i am implying in my post.

i dont care whatever the speed limit is on whichever expressway..as long as you are on the 1st lane, and another vehicle travelling faster comes up behind, it is an unwritten rule that you must give way..

we cannot enforce a traffic rule whereby it's a must for the slower veh in front to give way to a faster veh approaching on lane 1, imagine what will happen if TP makes it mandatory to give way to any faster veh behind

there are bound to be some speedsters and racers out there who will be exploiting it if it's enforced and speeding merrily on lane 1 expecting all front veh filter to the left

it will only encouarge speedin g in the long run

in fact, a reason why this rule hasn't been enforced is that the authority wants these "road hoggers" to help subdue and tame those speedsters hahahaha

Edited by Tomasky

trust me lah

i have been doing it for years without a single demerit points and zero traffic accidents

what for u insist on the wrong side of the traffic law and ended up the frustrating one having to pay traffic fines and getting penalized

so many chain collsions happen these days becos drivers fail to grasp this concept and glad enough, those "anti road-hoggers" are rightfully and duly punished, and u see many of them resort to coming here to vent their frustrating and curse those "road hoggers", and there seems to be no other avenues for them to raise the seriousness of road hogging to LTA or TP elsewhere

i read their posts liao and i laugh till pengz..what's even more ironic is that despite their whining, the TP is stepping up efforts to curb speedsters hahahaha

Edited by Tomasky

anti road hoggers, wake up your idea upthe speed limit today is 90

even if i'm in a rush and have to speed at 120 on lane 1 all the way and there is this 'bugger' driving at 90 blocking my way and refusing to give way, i feel frustrated, yes, but i have to admit that i am still in the wrong for speeding, not him, he is legally and morally obligated to keep to the speed limit

it's me who should be slowing down to 90, not him giving way or speeding up

don't accuse others of road hogging when in the first place, we ourselves are already at the wrong side of the law by breaching speed limit, be reasonanble and gracious

u win leow lor, next time got ambulance or police behind u, u can dun give way wat, u also never break the speed limit right?? oh, maybe u will say that these are emergency vehicles and u were TAUGHT during driving to give way to these vehicles.

similarly, if there are vehicles which are on emergency, not necessary ambulance or police and encounters someone with your mentality, will you give way? if there is a difference in your answer, you are probably driving by the textbook.

hey!!

can u stop acting like a smart alec and keep shooting other ppl down?

u really think u r so great issit?

wats the problem with you man?

just shut ur mouth up okay? [lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed]

simply an idiot.

One of the primary reasons why there are more accidents and chain collisions nowadays is because there is a growing number of immature drivers who fail to understand the fundamental reasons for traffic regulations, speed limits and road-hogging rules alike. There is also a growing group of irritable drivers who flare up at the slightest provocation and then try to take the law into their own hands by chasing after traffic offenders (especially after road-hoggers).

Yes, you are against speedsters but that does not give you license to road-hog.

Yes, you are against road-hogs but that does not give you the right to tailgate and push them off the road.

Two wrongs do not make a right.

For road-hoggers, if you are not over-taking, keep left.

For speedsters, you speed at your own peril, just don't take the lives of innocents with you when you crash and burn.

Why not? Judging from the way you speak, you can't expect him to go any faster since he is at his speed limit. Also judging from the way you speak, you can't expect him to give way to you. No worries, he is trying to tame drivers, so you should be thanking him right?

As such, all should go back and ask for a change in the traffic police test for class 3 license. So many people failed their test due to excessive points from road hogging. In fact based on what you say they should have points taken away for hogging. [scholar] I was then given points for insufficient acceleration. Coming to think of it, i should also have points taken away from me since by having slower acceleration, i am preventing drag races from taking off. [scholar]

Also, judging from the way you speak, overtaking from the left is acceptable and encouraged. Thus, it is only decent that the term dangerous be removed from overtaking from the left. [scholar]

Did we talk about the "non-necessary keep left unless overtaking" a couple of months back? I am still waiting for a reply from you to help my poor friend there who is trying to appeal for his case. He didn't break the speed limit anyway?

Shouldn't he be defended? If you are educated in the relevent field or better holding vocations in the force, lets meetup for a drink and allow me to take down some particulars from you and submit to the relevent authority to defend this poor chap. [thumbsup]

Oh btw, in the case that you may have forgotten, i too have neither accidents nor demerit points to date. But what relevence does this have? What/Any indication? Nothing. We have seen drivers running 160km/h down singapore roads without a single demerit points nor accident to date too.

He/she lay claims about traffic engineers where we still can't find a relevent course from NUS that does anything like he claimed, save for traffic equipments. [scholar]

He/she speaks with knowledge but failing to understand where and how did singapore's traffic and road sign come about. [scholar]

He/she brets about having no demerit points and zero accident with pride, when we took it for granted. [scholar]