Saaber Neutral Newbie May 5, 2003 Share May 5, 2003 But, the damping rate is not really suitable for the car doing this way... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Armored_Saint Neutral Newbie May 5, 2003 Share May 5, 2003 Spring cuts are strongly advised against and that's a fact, but it doesn't mean it's not permissible. With the right technique, it can be done with little or no long-term damage. Personally, I'm running on Koni sports and cut Teins and have survived for 2 years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super4 Clutched May 5, 2003 Share May 5, 2003 Yup, it's a BAD idea to cut dampers or springs or compressed them instead of replacing it with after markets ones... Just me 2cents.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Accenture Neutral Newbie May 5, 2003 Share May 5, 2003 totally agree with you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Permanentheaddamage Neutral Newbie May 5, 2003 Share May 5, 2003 What is the average price of Toyota shocks and coils for a G7? I have been thinking of changing my whole suspension but I want to know the cost. Any help is appreciated! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hkfung Neutral Newbie May 5, 2003 Share May 5, 2003 i agreed! need to match the spring rate with the damper specs...but it seems koni/tanabe combi is quite good for performance and comfort the good thing abt koni is, it pretty cheap...just buy one off the shelf and swap if it gives way... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typoerror Neutral Newbie May 5, 2003 Share May 5, 2003 think koni recommend sawing off the stock damper before draining the oil.. ...think no high tech here, only brute force ...for me, if really want to change, better go more established workshop...if mechanic 'pui qiu'..stock damper gone liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typoerror Neutral Newbie May 5, 2003 Share May 5, 2003 it would be slight ard 1k...kinda exp since couple hundreds more can get a real coilover. tough choice rite...i am loosing sleep over this Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typoerror Neutral Newbie May 5, 2003 Share May 5, 2003 Spring cuts are strongly advised against and that's a fact, but it doesn't mean it's not permissible. With the right technique, it can be done with little or no long-term damage. Personally, I'm running on Koni sports and cut Teins and have survived for 2 years. its not so much of damage to car, but the safety...purpose of lowering height is to have better handling (and of course better looks ), cut spring just dont give u that kind of assurance to go mad at corners...maybe your mech did a good job...i have some colleagues runnning on cut springs too...look is , but must drive carefully and know the limits of the moded suspension Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typoerror Neutral Newbie May 5, 2003 Share May 5, 2003 ...ask curious...u mean stock tein still not low enuff for u???...bro, u must be really hardcore man ...going for a -ve one finger look?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hkfung Neutral Newbie May 5, 2003 Share May 5, 2003 tell u somemore on ES coilovers JC carry Otein and so far the comments from pple are DC2 is also both cost ard 1.3-1.5 when cant sleep, browse MCF lar !!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typoerror Neutral Newbie May 5, 2003 Share May 5, 2003 ai yoh...so how??..comments all ...how to decide?? ...spring+damper combo or coilover?? ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hkfung Neutral Newbie May 5, 2003 Share May 5, 2003 thats why i'm trying a cheap lower tie bar (~$110) first if still not satisfied, then we are in the same boat Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typoerror Neutral Newbie May 5, 2003 Share May 5, 2003 haha...hmm, should i welcome u on board anot?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hkfung Neutral Newbie May 5, 2003 Share May 5, 2003 hmm...dun jump into conclusion too fast leh....maybe a 110 bar will improve the ride then i should welcome u on board liao will let u know the outcome Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool Neutral Newbie May 5, 2003 Share May 5, 2003 THe OEM shocks for Toyota G7 is KYB. Tye Soon has it. Depends on how you drive.. it should last 7 years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool Neutral Newbie May 5, 2003 Share May 5, 2003 Otein is too hard.. but cheap. I know a few Otein owners eventually sold away for stocks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie May 5, 2003 Share May 5, 2003 ai yoh...so how??..comments all ...how to decide?? ...spring+damper combo or coilover?? ... if you don't go on track often, spring + damper good enough......coilover is more suitable for track than for road use.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...