Nautz Neutral Newbie May 2, 2003 Share May 2, 2003 Hi I'm a newbie who stumbled upon this site while surfing. Currently I'm driving a Renault Clio and my tyres threads have worn out quite badly. My bro suggested to use Kumho tyres which I gathered that they have this special promotion at Autobacs whereby they are selling 1 for $50. Would anyone have any other recommendations? Thanks! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super4 Clutched May 2, 2003 Share May 2, 2003 Hi NAUTZ, welcome to MCF...Hope u will have a good time in this forum...(Oh, u will alright.. ) U have a nice ride there, but dun u think it's kinda small..i mean the 13inch tyres & rims... If u really want to keep the rims and not up-sizing it, it's your choice by all means U can try the normal brand of tyres for 13inch...eg. Dunlop, Bridgestone..which will cost lesser than $50 for a piece...BUT...KUMHO will be a better choice in my opinion... U can try motogard, which sells dirt cheap tyres there... All the best ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear May 2, 2003 Share May 2, 2003 (edited) Hi Nautz, Welcome to MCF, we hope you enjoy your stay with us. Wait for Saaber who can advice you where to get cheap Kumho. Edited May 2, 2003 by Gadgeter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limws1 1st Gear May 2, 2003 Share May 2, 2003 Hi, Why not change to 14"? More stable during turns. But of course, have to change the wheels too. I'm using 14" Bridgestones G3. Quite good compare to the stock 13" that come with my car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smiley Neutral Newbie May 2, 2003 Share May 2, 2003 me on 14' bridgestones g3 too. what are your comments fr it? i find it a bit loud leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear May 2, 2003 Share May 2, 2003 And I'm searching for 15" for mine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limws1 1st Gear May 2, 2003 Share May 2, 2003 When I just changed to new G3, the noise level is quite ok. After one year of usage, the noise level has gone up a bit, this is expected. But performance has not degrade much. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smiley Neutral Newbie May 2, 2003 Share May 2, 2003 mine comes as stock. next round sure to change so something quieter. love to tune to 92.4, with current tyres, always cannot hear the music. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie May 2, 2003 Share May 2, 2003 Hi, Welcome to MCF, Do join us for our weekly meetup... You can check with the tyre shops listed in the Resource folder for address and tel nos. Kumho Supra 712 is good but no size for 13", min is 14"...and $50 is not cheap as it is not the Kumho 712 as 15" Kumho 712 is only S$60.00 each http://www.kumho.com.au/products.asp?id=58 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limws1 1st Gear May 2, 2003 Share May 2, 2003 G3 for stock? What car are you driving? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smiley Neutral Newbie May 2, 2003 Share May 2, 2003 suzuki. i changed my rims fm 13' to 14'. so g3 comes with the 14' Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limws1 1st Gear May 2, 2003 Share May 2, 2003 Besides the noise level, how do you find G3? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nautz Neutral Newbie May 2, 2003 Author Share May 2, 2003 Wow...didn't expect response to be so overwhelming...Thanks guys! Sad to say being a driver for nearly 5 years n lack motoring knowledge...tsk tsk...feel a letdown.. But it's good to hear from such experts...thank goodness!!! I'll be going down tom or on Sunday to check out Autobacs then see the prices for the tyres. But as for using 14" tyres, will that be alrite for a small car like mine? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limws1 1st Gear May 2, 2003 Share May 2, 2003 Somewhere in your car, either the glove compartment or the side of the doors should indicate what is the inflation pressure for different size tires. If it indicate inflation pressure for 14" tires, it should be quite safe to use them. For more info on wheels, check out http://www.tirerack.com/wheels/tech/wheeltech.htm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie May 3, 2003 Share May 3, 2003 (edited) Hi Nautz welcome to MCF.....hope to see u at the meetups Clio can take a 14" anytime, no worries.....but like saaber said, autobacs is overpricing the price. KUMHO 712 is one of the best lots of tires from KUMHO but is cheap...maybe coz its korean....but the price cannot be 30 per piece. I am using 195/50/R15 for 65 per piece.......check out the address for Yap brothers in the resource folders and check with them....... tell them you from MCF Edited May 3, 2003 by S2P2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nautz Neutral Newbie May 3, 2003 Author Share May 3, 2003 Hmm...Today got an offer from my bro...Stunner tyres...Good? Only know its Italian brand. Tried to find reviews on that but not much around...found a website below: http://www.grouptyre.co.uk/ Go to Tyres category then choose Stunner... That Stunner cost $85 per piece...hmm...bit pricey though. Anyway will update u guys when I go check out tom. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GDIzen Neutral Newbie May 3, 2003 Share May 3, 2003 And I'm searching for 15" for mine. Brudder, think BIG 16" is more like it.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie May 3, 2003 Share May 3, 2003 brother, you want him to pengsan issit, 16" is a drag lah need your pipe.......call me please ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...