Meetup?

Qr25vet

I also changed mine about 2 years back. I had mine done at Markcool. They did a very good job for me. Till now everything is working fine. They even changed a 2nd hand fan for me.

but in Sg, coe cars no value and need every yr go inspection. road tax sibei ex.

=======================

Β 

These costs r still lower then changing a new car. U do your calculations carefully. Don't b fooled by what the salesman tells u. Lots of hidden costs when u change car.

Β 

Even your insurance & monthly instalments wud b higher with a newer & more expensive car. Repair costs also [sweatdrop] cos most new cars still must go back to AD for service & repairs. Their charges already [knife] .

Β 

Old car can service & repair very cheaply at outside ws & can even use 2nd hand parts which r even cheaper. [thumbsup]

Β 

My car sometimes no need to see "doctor" for abt 2 years at a time so my repair costs r very low. [nod]

Yah I still remember shortly i changed mine, you were enquiring on radiator, either getting it from Simon or MC. [;)]

Β 

Simon changed a new denso fan for me...as my old one kaput [dizzy]

I didnt ask him what exactly they did the cleaning for Ting. Somehow, I had trust in him...but charges is reasonable. Same as simon but i kw simon would just chin chye wash wash nia... [:(]

Then how come everyone rushing for new cars....hahaha

Β 

But the truth is our rides are easy to maintain, repair cost low if parts kaput. Then, age is catching up... [:)]

Simon changed a new denso fan for me...as my old one kaput

======================

Β 

Did Simon charge u for the fan? Mine was free from MC. [sly]

That is why I have stayed with Ah Ting for so long. He does a good job & his prices although not cheap R reasonable. [thumbsup]

Β 

He is the typical "old timer" mech. Good with new as well as older carb cars. I just hope he doesn't retire b4 I sell my Corona. [nod]

Many pple change cars after 3 years cos that is about the time things start to fail. If u don't know what is wrong or have a good & honest mech, that is the time many WS will take out a sharp knife.

Β 

Recently my frens Cerato, which she used to send to C@S needed a patch for her puncture but they told her she needs to change the whole tyre as it cannot b used anymore. They even suggested since want to change, might as well change all 4. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Β 

I brought he to my tyre shop & fixed it for about $5. She then did the 4 wheel computerised alignment & balancing & found the car almost like new again. Her next servicing or repair, she is going to use Ah Ting. [thumbsup]

he is not that old [:)] ...i saw another fellow with him...guess should be his worker. He does his work slow and steady.

It was a "one for one" exchange. The old one was very old but since the old radiator was not "original", the shape & mounting was different from the one that MC got for me.

Β 

The old fan cud not b used & since the replacement radiator already came with the fan & mounts attached, he accepted my old fan as a 1 for 1 exchange.

Β 

He very chin chye with me lah. [nod]

Yah that old grey haired worker seems to come & go. But he tok kok alot. Always re-confirm with Ah Ting b4 u decide anything. [sly]

The 2nd hand rad was quoted excluding the fan. When he realized that my old fan cannot fit on the replacement mounting, I saw it already had the fan attached so I asked him to do a 1 4 1 exchange for me.

Β 

He chin chye agreed. [thumbsup]

Β 

That is why I don't mind buying drinks or small makan for these guys sometimes. They also give me stuff now & again for free.

Β 

Last time Ah Huat gave me about 10 fuses for free. [thumbsup]

No lah. Not lobang king. I just take the time & trouble to look for good WS & try to keep them when I find one.

Β 

I also gone tru many dishonest & lousy WS but dump them once I find them no good. Bro I have been driving for almost 30 years. I have learnt to spot good & bad apples in this time.

↑ Advertisement