Typhoonz 4th Gear July 4, 2007 Share July 4, 2007 (edited) Any recommendation for Bosch spark plugs for a VW Bora? Saw the platinum 4 but not too sure if my Bora can use... http://www.boschautoparts.com/Products/Spa...s/Platinum4.htm Edited July 4, 2007 by Typhoonz ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fabulous Neutral Newbie July 4, 2007 Share July 4, 2007 (edited) Bro.. According to the chart... Iridium(2500 degrees) have a higher melting point than Platinium(2000 degrees) leh.. Maybe you wana check it out on this site? http://www.globaldenso.com/PLUG/power/features.html Edited July 4, 2007 by Fabulous Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear July 4, 2007 Author Share July 4, 2007 So go for the NGK or the Denso ones? Must I get certain models or they are all the same? Sorry ah... Car idiot here... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched July 4, 2007 Share July 4, 2007 (edited) Issit this type of 4-electrode platinium spark-plug shown below? Edited July 4, 2007 by Normal_aspirated Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear July 4, 2007 Author Share July 4, 2007 Yup... Iridium better right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fabulous Neutral Newbie July 4, 2007 Share July 4, 2007 Bro... NGK or Denso also can lah..both have Iridium sparks plug Important thing I want to stress is that Iridium can Tahan higher heat... Spark plugs have models number one, get the model that you are using, for me, I can use IK 20 or IK 16 for my Toyota.. For NGK Iridium Spark Plugs, your car model Vs Spark Plugs Part number are as follow: 1)Volkswagon Bora 2.0L APK --> BKUR6ET-10 2)Volkswagon Bora 2.3L V5 AGZ -->BKR5EKUP 3)Volkswagon Bora 2.3L V5 AQN --> PZFR5D-11 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear July 4, 2007 Author Share July 4, 2007 Thanks man... Will change to them soon... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Decksurgeon Neutral Newbie July 4, 2007 Share July 4, 2007 Any recommendation for Bosch spark plugs for a VW Bora? Saw the platinum 4 but not too sure if my Bora can use... http://www.boschautoparts.com/Products/Spa...s/Platinum4.htm in general you can use just about any plug in the bora 1.6 SR engine. (assuming you have a 1.6 bora and not a V5 2.3) materials do matter, but thats mainly to do with marketing hype and plug service life. the stock platinum plugs from VW (NGK) last the longest, copper has the shortest life. iridium somewhere in between. what matters in your selection is: - correct thread size and correct reach and depth - correct heat range - correct spark gapping - and for VW cars, i believe the sparkie shuld have a resistor (5k ohm) built into the plug ...you can buy any grand u want, as long as the above specs are adhered to if you really want to know what is the best plug for your car. you have to plug in VAGCOM disgnostics. then do accleration runs and log the spark timing of each brand. port the data to excel and have a look. the brand that gives you least retard for spark timing in the logs is the best plug for your VAG engine. hope this helps Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear July 4, 2007 Author Share July 4, 2007 Mine's a 1.6 SR engine. Would I need to go back to VW or you have anyone to recommend? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Decksurgeon Neutral Newbie July 4, 2007 Share July 4, 2007 you can use the Denso iridiums - i think they are IK22 or Ik20??? (check 1st! i cant remember exactly) or use the stock NGK platinium plugs, buy them from xin zhong auto on lavender st. thats where we get most VW spares from if you dont want to go back to the agent. whats your milage? the stock plugs last very long. and they are a special 3 pronged one so why fix something that aint broke? you can change them yourself provided you have the tools. for the 1.6SR the plugs are very hard to reach and are inserted at an weird incline in between the intake runners. plugs on cylinders 2 & 3 are very hard to reach if you dont have the tools you might have to unplug the fuel injector electrical connectors to get them out of the way. then you cannot use a stright axis plug wrench. you wrench must have a universal swivel joint of you will never be able to reach the plug. and only remove plugs when the engine is cold. make sure you have torque wrench to tighten them back also (30NM) changing to the iridiums just gives you slightly better burn, so the engine is slightly smoother comapred to stock. if you think that the plugs will give you HP gain - thats pure snake oil. no plug on earth gives you any of the gains that the markting pple tell you. cleaner burn yes, less spark retard yes, better combustion yes.....add 10hp to your base 101hp....errr NO. the iridiums dont last that long also. maybe about 10-12,000 km before the 'smooth' effect is lost. in the end...putting back the stock plugs is your best bang for buck choice IMHO. hope this helps Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear July 4, 2007 Author Share July 4, 2007 My mileage is at 89600km... Just a thought to change to a better spark plug and increase my mileage that's all... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Decksurgeon Neutral Newbie July 4, 2007 Share July 4, 2007 89K time to change. nothing last longer than the stock plugs on the 1.6SR. so stick to stock if that a consideration Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear July 4, 2007 Author Share July 4, 2007 I guess I'll have to go back to VW to change... Oh no... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Decksurgeon Neutral Newbie July 4, 2007 Share July 4, 2007 there are other workshops out there giving you alternatives. if you surf the VAGSG.com forum you'll find a list in the commercial classifieds folder. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear July 4, 2007 Author Share July 4, 2007 Just joined the forum. Waiting for the approval. Thanks man bro... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Decksurgeon Neutral Newbie July 4, 2007 Share July 4, 2007 my pleasure. most welcome anytime Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear July 4, 2007 Author Share July 4, 2007 Also thank you for the most descriptive steps on how I'm gonna change my spark plugs. Was thinking of doing it myself but after reading your step by step instructions, I think I better leave it to the experts... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Decksurgeon Neutral Newbie July 4, 2007 Share July 4, 2007 no worries. im glad you found it helpful. the 1.6 SR engine is a bit tight on architecture. if it were like a normal Evo engine, the spark plugs are easy. perpendicular to the cylinder head. piece of cake to change. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...