Keep MIJ Corolla or buy a new Airwave

Fondue

Keep MIJ Corolla or buy a new Airwave  

50 members have voted

1. 1.

• Keep current Corolla and sell before 5th yr
    • Keep Corolla beyond 5th year
    • Change to a brand new Honda Airwave
    • Change to another model < $70k .... your choice ?

Hi, replying to your question, I personally advice you to drive for one year more, and the reason is you have to sell your corolla before 4 and half yr old, and if not i am afraid that your body resale value will drop, and in maintenance wise the problem ll come after 5 year, however it also depend on the car is well taken care.

as your car loan finishing, that means u will have extra cash down for another car, and you may loan lesser, and you still enjoy the new car at lesser payment and longer drive.

Best for you to keep the Corolla and be debt free and take back the log book from the bank and be the rightful owner of your car, rather than having the bank own your car.

You suffer a fixed annual dep of only $4K if you keep the Corolla till its 10th yr, compared to the Airwave S$6K p.a. assuming you use it for 10 yrs.

Edited by Vit4wd

Me also an ex-G9 owner.

Itchy change ride.

After I regret it.

G9 is one of the few good budget cars!

G9 Corolla has a great fuel efficient engine. Only set bk is its poor built quality.

At the GE Money auction which ended yesterday, someone bidded for a 2002 G9 Corolla 1.6 and was willing to pay an annual dep of very close to 5K p.a. ... when they could have gotten a brand new Corolla Altis for just S$5K p.a.

G9 corolla is a damn good car owned it for 3.5yrs/100k.

But, there's always better car. Don't get stucked, life is not that long.

Guest Julio369
the MIC is not refering to Airwave right .... [:p]

quite true about the G9 being alive n kicking, ... .. . and the itchy part too [laugh]

china girl, some damn chio....

ya, you will most probaly succumb to buy new because your will hear from wife, friends, parents, siblings ....like...this sister/ brother-in-law, that uncle, this colleague, that neigbour all got new car...yours old car, CMI,loose face, how to show off during CNY.

ah! ah!IMHO, it is those with new car but 10 years loan that is loosing...

Guest Julio369

yes, parf will drop by 10%/yr...but not true for body value.

G9 6yrs+ can fetch body of 5K.

maintenance mostly wear & tear, if well care of & spare parts abandon & cheap, thanks to scarp G9, vois & altis.

it's the 7 sins that is kicking in.

What extra seats? The Airwave oso 5 seaters.

my mistake. i always thought the airwave has 1-2 extra seats. onwadays with tinted windows v hard to see.

MPVs bore me so i never look properly tongue.gif

I am driving Airwave with Skyroof. Dun feel its underpowered leh. If you want to take about under power, I think my ex-ride Kia Picanto is truly underpowered. The good thing about Airwave is that it got the Skyroof. U can always look up and enjoy the sky-cloud scenery while waiting for traffic lights.. its exhilarating!

My advise would be to keep ur existing car. Nothing beats that feeling of being debt free and not having to service an car loan. Furthermore i think the current economic boom is not sustainable, and u dont want to be stuck wif too many commitments when the next downturn hits.

My own ride ( a hyun sonata that I bought new in Mar 2004) hit 3 yrs old in March this year, as it was guzzling fuel , I decided to sell it and instead of getting a new car, I got a COE Civic, paid cash and now have one less thing to worry about.

Hi bros n sis,

Say you have a 3++ yr old made-in-Japan Corolla with loan almost paid up, would you keep it or sell and change to a new Honda Airwave with the current COE price ?

Financially, able to handle either choice.

Major considerations are :

1. FC

2. Maintenance issue

3. Long term cost

4. Comfort and handling

Appreciate your inputs wave.gif

Tough choice,MIJ G9 for wat i know is almost problem free.

Just follow your heart la..[:p]

Black Airwave soup up bodikit all tinted windows like black mafia [sly][laugh]

Thanks all for your valuable input.

Most prob keeping the car till at least next April then do another round of AOP [:p]

Hi all,

/having similar problem. Driving a 04 Civic. Fully paid for. But coe $28k. Friends advising to sell and buy newer car with lower coe. They said higher coe means higher depreciation. Is that true?

Thanks!

Ok, I enjoy the feeling of not having to pay monthly... Used to pay over $900 for my first car. really quite heavy going.

Went to service my car and met the service technician, he was the one who told me to sell my car before it reaches 5 years mark. But no diff now, cos i am in new parf system. He also told me to wait just in case I'm interested in civic, said facelift coming. Don't know how soon...

anyway, no interesting cars recently. I'm interested to get a corolla but BM still keeping the altis. I want to stick to civic but it has 'grown' too big for me and don't like city since it is not a 1.6 car. Wanted Jetta, but it's heavy for a 1.6l and fuel consumption probably kill...lancer is too racy for me.... [:(]

so...keeping the car.....save trouble. save money. At least now, when I park near big trucks, i am not so fearful. [:p]

Civic is a very good car, just keep it. the latest corolla is the axio but its only available from PI. but i still thk civic is better

I am driving Airwave with Skyroof. Dun feel its underpowered leh. If you want to take about under power, I think my ex-ride Kia Picanto is truly underpowered. The good thing about Airwave is that it got the Skyroof. U can always look up and enjoy the sky-cloud scenery while waiting for traffic lights.. its exhilarating!

Underpowered as compared to G9. [:p]

Hi bros n sis,

Say you have a 3++ yr old made-in-Japan Corolla with loan almost paid up, would you keep it or sell and change to a new Honda Airwave with the current COE price ?

Financially, able to handle either choice.

Major considerations are :

1. FC

2. Maintenance issue

3. Long term cost

4. Comfort and handling

Appreciate your inputs wave.gif

Tough choice,MIJ G9 for wat i know is almost problem free.

Just follow your heart la..[:p]

Black Airwave soup up bodikit all tinted windows like black mafia [sly][laugh]