Djcoolmax 2nd Gear August 26, 2007 Share August 26, 2007 my choice: Mk X. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeronlee 1st Gear August 26, 2007 Share August 26, 2007 so in the end did u go for LGT? I've not thought about CX 7....but changing from mazda to mazda seem like not appealing leh...also, mental block about driving a powerful SUV....... it is powerful but when comes round a corner I like my car fast in the straights and corners But maybe I'll go test drive and see how it handles... Din get the LGT cos none of the available colours appeal to me n salesman told me MI not bringing in other colours anymore even if i put my money on the table that day. Have u checked with them on this or u r not fussy abt colours? I had the same thot like u as in trying out a diff brand which is why I was looking at everything else from ard similar price range like Volvo S40, Alfa 159 etc. But I'm still driving a Mazda now (previously M6, now RX8) Lotsa nice choices with that budget... just enjoy the test drives n imagine which car u'd love the headlights to blink when u approach your ride in a carpark, I made my choice n still happy with my decision though I was hoping the fuel consumption could be better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sniperben Neutral Newbie August 26, 2007 Share August 26, 2007 my price for S package is higher than LGT. you may not be fancy with it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sniperben Neutral Newbie August 26, 2007 Share August 26, 2007 S package slightly higher by few k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic August 26, 2007 Author Share August 26, 2007 oh ok... so that does it....if the price is higher by a few K..... than there is nothing going for Mark X anymore....dun need to headache.... LGT it will be...now... who will buy my current car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic August 26, 2007 Author Share August 26, 2007 Tested both the LGT and Mark-X 1.5 years ago before deciding which one to choose. Decided on the Mark-X based on the sweet 6 cylinder engine note. The LGT's boxer engine is too raw for long drives. Handling wise, the LGT is a notch better than the Mark-X. I even test drove the SAAB turbo charged V6. But at that price, it beyond my reach. So you have to really decide what you want after the test drives. 1.5 yrs ago... think the current facelift will appeal more...pedal shifter anyway been driving NA all my life...think it's about time I try force induction Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic August 26, 2007 Author Share August 26, 2007 i sense you have already decided, just go where your heart tells you lah!! now you mentioned it.. seem like I am pretty pro-LGT... but I am just curious why some people choose Mark X "S" package over the LGT, when on paper it is more expensive... lower resale....less performance....less luxurious....PI....180kph limited.... The few factors going for Mark X is only prob less insurance, FC, +/- looks Am I missing something here? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whitemondeo 1st Gear August 26, 2007 Share August 26, 2007 Both 2.5L MaRk X = Raw power (NA) LGT = Turbocharged (force induction) = more maintainace I go for the RAW power... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic August 26, 2007 Author Share August 26, 2007 so in the end did u go for LGT? I've not thought about CX 7....but changing from mazda to mazda seem like not appealing leh...also, mental block about driving a powerful SUV....... it is powerful but when comes round a corner I like my car fast in the straights and corners But maybe I'll go test drive and see how it handles... Din get the LGT cos none of the available colours appeal to me n salesman told me MI not bringing in other colours anymore even if i put my money on the table that day. Have u checked with them on this or u r not fussy abt colours? I had the same thot like u as in trying out a diff brand which is why I was looking at everything else from ard similar price range like Volvo S40, Alfa 159 etc. But I'm still driving a Mazda now (previously M6, now RX8) Lotsa nice choices with that budget... just enjoy the test drives n imagine which car u'd love the headlights to blink when u approach your ride in a carpark, I made my choice n still happy with my decision though I was hoping the fuel consumption could be better. As I am going for black....that should not pose a problem.... S40... Mz3 with bigger engine? Alfa 159.... almost got the 156 JTS when launched but decided to give it a miss....interior of all alfas all photostated one....blah... RX8 is a good choice but not too keen on the FC and high revving nature of the engine....prob good on the track but daily spirited trafficlight to traffic light driving kinda lay chey..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chemz Clutched August 26, 2007 Share August 26, 2007 seem like many have misconception about the LGT being not luxurious simply because it is turbo...I had the same bias (I think based mainly what I saw in Rex/STis) about the subaru's interior.....but it just takes a visit to the show room to be a convert...... the LGT is a whole class above the Rex/STi in terms of interior luxury... you'll be surprised that it is equal or even better than Mark X...... For Mark X to be on par.... must throw in all the options.....even factory leather is an option on the highest spec "s" package... dont get me wrong, i didnt perceive the lgt to be un-luxurious because of its turboed-engine and race rally wrx brothers. i wouldnt call the mark x luxurious also.. but it's mkted to fall somewhere in between. consumer perception is a result of the ADs/manufacturers marketing and design effort, and in this case btw markx and lgt, many like me would find that the markx ranks above lgt in this aspect. interior-wise, the trimming is still pretty standard for both markx n lgt, even a european vw gti trimming is nothing much to shout about when placed beside a lexus250. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newkid 2nd Gear August 26, 2007 Share August 26, 2007 when it comes to affairs of the heart, there is no one correct answer, the head may be strong but the heart rules! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Godibado Neutral Newbie August 26, 2007 Share August 26, 2007 lgt is the one... no comparison Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeronlee 1st Gear August 26, 2007 Share August 26, 2007 Black LGT is nice... i din want to go for black as i've been driving 2 consecutive black cars thus wanted something completely different i.e. white. Btw, supposed u might have heard that the FC of LGT can be quite bad too right? Btw, does the "S" package of X comes with cruise control. The X I tried din come with one n i'm really disappointed cos i was hoping to put some restrain on my right foot especially on the NS highway with this nifty function. If u often take up to 5 passengers, the transmission tunnel may be a concern to some. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear August 26, 2007 Share August 26, 2007 (edited) can see that ur heart is already with lgt, why still ask? i think alfa 159's interior is not photostated anymore and i think lgt's fc can be as bad as the RX8 Edited August 26, 2007 by En0203 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic August 26, 2007 Author Share August 26, 2007 haha..this will be my first black car....both me and my wife thinks that black suits the LGT most Yup....FC is known to be bad... but you are talking about a 2.5L Turbo......dun expect it to be a sipper right? Anyway, for the HP/torque it generates, I'm happy to trade the FC it is purported to achieve... some cars drink alot but give little back... nope... "S" package no cruise control..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic August 26, 2007 Author Share August 26, 2007 (edited) hehe.... as mentioned in my previous reply.... although my heart is with LGT.... I am just curious why so many people ask me to consider Mark X......want to find out any reason other than the "more luxurious than LGT" answer.....cos personally I do not think Mark X is more luxurious... showed my wife the 159's interior shot... her first comment "how come same as the 156?" Maybe to the enthusiast it is not photostated but to the rest, there do not seem to have have innovation in their interior over the generation....although I must admit their exterior is Edited August 26, 2007 by Vratenza Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nitehawk Neutral Newbie August 26, 2007 Share August 26, 2007 only conside a Mark X if it comes with VSD ! or else it will be fishtailing during corner exit at "some" speed. basic Mark X 250G are mean for normal speed drive & not sport driving even if it a RWD V6. different ppl different stoke. LGT is my prefer choice bwteen the both. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear August 26, 2007 Share August 26, 2007 yea can see that u are just asking for fun actually i think Mark X and LGT should not be compared side by side, they are targeted to two different groups IMO, totally different group somemore and judging from ur current ride, there is no way u'll go for mark X man as for 159's interior, u've got to sit in one to appreciate it, just like how u mentioned everyone should pay a visit to the lgt's interior to be a convert. but then again, none of the rest can come close to lgt in terms of performance, and the mod is endless ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...