Dunno Neutral Newbie September 11, 2007 Share September 11, 2007 Correction. Low frequencies are non-directional, not sub frequencies. If your subs are playing say above 60hz, yes, you can hear it coming from the back. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Harveynorman Neutral Newbie September 11, 2007 Share September 11, 2007 May I just add on with my humble knowledge.Hope tat u will correct me if I'm wrong with it. (still trying veri hard to learn) Although low-freq r non-directional, improper time alignment of the sub's and mid-bass slam wld somehow distort the focus (let say a recording with a drum set in center) hence causing listener to hear a disfigured overall bass respond.Some may percive it as hearing the sub sing.....some might feel it coming from the back... even if sub is cut at veri low but the time needed for the sound from the sub to reach the listener's ear is way to slow, u will not hear the sub in place with the overall system hence although non-directional, the mis-alignment might cause a listener to "hear a sub" or "feel it coming from the back" Can any bros correct me if i'm worng. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 Quoting Dunno: Wah cheem...but 2 things you have to consider too if based on your theory. 1. Power rating of the speakers. RMS and Max ratings. Plays a part on how loud it can go without distortion. 2. Frequency response of the speakers. Plays a part on how low it can go without distortion. --------------- sorry bro, u give me too much credit. it's not my theory leh. it's physics. physics states that, if a speaker sensitivity is let's say 90 db/1W/M, if you play it at 1W it's 90dB. i'm not sure which frequency it's measured at. i believe it should be either white or pink noise but then again it could be a reference 1khz frequency, if someone knows, please teach ... so if u play it at 10W, physics says that dB goes up from 90 to 100dB. and at 100W, it goes up from 100dB to 110dB. as for power rating, physics says, if u test a speaker continuously with that current and voltage fluctuation, measuring power RMS = volt RMS x current RMS = volt RMS x volt RMS / impedance, at 100WRMS, similarly you'll get 110dBRMS output. and since they measure continuous power handling at let's say 0.1% THD, then 110dBRMS output at 1 metre = 0.1% THD, which to many people may not be perceptible distortion. and also physics says that if at 1 metre it's 110dBRMS, then if u extend to 1.4metre distance, you drop dB by about 3dB, so it's 107dBRMS. and for your right speaker at the door, in fact it's less than 1metre, so dB actually goes up, to let's say 111dBRMS instead of 110. frequency response is what i mentioned - whether the speaker CAN or CANNOT play the low note clearly. some speakers just can't, also depending on how you install it inside the door. this is heavily determined by a speaker's Fs (frequency of resonance) as well. lower better, generally. and also the Qts (tends to be higher better for door speakers in cars). so in judging all these famous speaker brands, do people look at these figures? or look at the soundboard on the installer's wall and their fren's recommendations? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rtth84 1st Gear September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 Quoted from Wikipedia: Stereo separation cannot be heard in very low-frequency sound coming from a speaker like a subwoofer; hence many audio systems feature only one subwoofer. The subwoofer can be placed off-center without affecting the perceived sound stage, since the sounds it makes can't be localized. This omnidirectionality is often misdescribed as an inability of human hearing to perceive stereo separation at low frequencies. Actually, human ears and brain can perceive stereo separation at any audible frequency, provided the two ears receive different sound levels at that frequency. In practice however, typical subwoofer frequencies can be delivered differently to each ear only via headphones or earphones because their wavelengths are so long. When from speakers or other relatively distant sources, low-frequency (ie, large wavelength) sound waves flows smoothly around the human head, reaching both ears with equal strength at the same time regardless of the direction in which the wave is propagating. Higher frequency (small wavelength) sound waves are physically blocked by the size of the human head, thus allowing one ear to receive the wave more strongly than the other. As well, there are phase differences which are used for localization at higher frequencies. These are unavailable at subwoofer frequencies Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 accurate quote. however i have to add that in a car environment, the exceptions happen: the long wavelengths can still end up reflected, such that your left ear feels different (usually more) tension and hence amplitude/loudness than right ear, even for sub frequencies. don't believe, play some frequencies in your car lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jems Neutral Newbie December 30, 2007 Share December 30, 2007 (edited) RF T400-4 60Wx4 @ 4ohms.4ch Amp. RF T162S Powe 6.5" 2 way Comp.System RF P1S412 12"Punch Stage 1,SVC Subwoofer RF Fuse & Cables. Hi guys i am not familiar with Rockford products, Need help from those who have used a rockford system before. I would like to know if this package with installation is worth spend $2000? My preference for music is more towards SQ Thanks Edited December 30, 2007 by Jems Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dunno Neutral Newbie December 30, 2007 Share December 30, 2007 Your component speakers will play a major role in a SQ setup. Try the DA6.1 instead of the T162s if you're into SQ. It has 6 settings on it's passive crossover, instead of the normal 3 settings for most speakers. Amp and sub can remain. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...