Ex_vagrant Neutral Newbie September 16, 2007 Share September 16, 2007 Hi All, I'm trying to optimize my Internet speed with this software. I'm asked to select my connection mode (see screenshot below) and I'm confused as to which one to choose. Need some techie advice from fellow MCFers as selecting the wrong connection mode can be disastrous! Thanks in advance! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flameblade 1st Gear September 16, 2007 Share September 16, 2007 first thing first, u using singnet(adsl) or starhub(cable) or pacnet(either adsl or cable) second thing, thats the method 1 2 3 blah blah, they also never state. third thing, why bother with this kind of softwares, seriously not much use and difference. my 2 cents. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidcks 1st Gear September 16, 2007 Share September 16, 2007 Bro, dun worry, won explode one. anyway, not much diff using this. Cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ex_vagrant Neutral Newbie September 16, 2007 Author Share September 16, 2007 Thanks for reply! Sigh...recently experiencing slow internet speeds, that's why wanted to do a major overhaul on my notebook. Hehe. I'm using Singnet ADSL wireless. Don't know choose Network Connection is correct or not. Can you confirm if my answer is correct? Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ex_vagrant Neutral Newbie September 17, 2007 Author Share September 17, 2007 Haha..I know won't explode lah... But seriously, I know of a laptop explosion before from my customers due to some electrical short-circuit. He was scalded and the room was sealed up like crime scene. When i peek at the room, quite bad as I saw burnt pieces everywhere. Then the manufacturer came and offered compensation to keep things under wraps... He declined to tell me how much he got compensated... By the way, why you guys say not much difference using this? Any REAL internet speed boosters programs out there? What about Registry Cleaner? Does cleaning up your registry make your PC faster? Thanks!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear September 17, 2007 Share September 17, 2007 cleaning registry doesn't make your PC go any faster. I think the only way is NOT to install all those so called accelarator and cleaners. these so called enhancement tools actually slows down the PC as they will take up some CPU/memory resources in the background. to make a PC go faster, the only way is to add more RAM. cleaning registry will only take out those remnant entries left behind by those uninstalled software, etc. and worst, it may corrupt your registry. there isn't any REAL internet boosters, the most they change your registry settings for TCP/IP to allow higher throughput. you can search the net on how to do that without using any software. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ex_vagrant Neutral Newbie September 17, 2007 Author Share September 17, 2007 Hi there, Thanks for your detailed reply. I've found this free link http://www.speedtest.net/ to test your connection speed. Am trying to document if there is any difference before and after the booster settings change. Will search to change the TCP/IP settings if possible but hope is layman-friendly as am not a techie guy. Thanks again! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear September 17, 2007 Share September 17, 2007 doesnt really help... but it doesnt matter if you try it...can't work just uninstall. How come there's no cable connection? singnet should be ADSL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear September 17, 2007 Share September 17, 2007 speedtest.net is quite a good website you are using G wireless router? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear September 17, 2007 Share September 17, 2007 bro, no different at all de... dun bother go do all these stuffs... especially stinknet, ISP bottleneck by telephone line and even if u applied for the speed, u will not get tat speed even though unless u live near their data center and probably will get somewhere near the speed u applied for... normally these type of so-called internet booster may be a spyware or malware itself and it will definitely slow down ur systems and u wun get a faster speed for ur connection... u decide whether u still wan or not lor... it will only do u harm dan gd.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ex_vagrant Neutral Newbie September 17, 2007 Author Share September 17, 2007 Hi Zniper, Thanks for the reply. This Internet booster thingy is so much advertised in well-acclaimed sites like cnet.com, tucows.com. Guess afterall, this is something like our magnets and other car booster products. Only psychological improvement. Sigh... So can anyone share when the time comes to do a spring-cleaning (like when we do major servicing on our cars) on our notebook, what are the things we can do in optimizing, if not, maintaining the computer? My steps (2 cents worth) 1) Run complete virus scan in safe mode 2) Run Disk Cleanup in normal mode 3) Run Disk Defrag in normal mode Anymore to add? Thanks.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear September 17, 2007 Share September 17, 2007 my 2 cents worth is run disk defrag probably like once a mth... and for anti-virus, use AVG freeware is more dan enuf... unless u need internet-security if u r doing internet banking and transfer frequently... i hav never kana any virus or spyware, adware, malware in my life b4... fyi, it's how a person uses the system not how much stuffs u tried to put in to block it... for those anti-spyware or anti-adware, it's a spyware itself!!! so beware when u need to install any of the stuffs... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic September 17, 2007 Share September 17, 2007 You should choose network connection. But I think those optimizer does not help anymore. It worked last time when many people use dial-up networking bcoz the packet (max transmit unit) size is much smaller than Windows which defaults to network. Now with DSL and Cable, it's not necessary. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ex_vagrant Neutral Newbie September 17, 2007 Author Share September 17, 2007 Hi KB27, Thanks for your reply! I'll try to select Network Connection and measure if there is any difference in the Internet speed. I'll post my findings... Just out of curiosity, what are those dial-up ADSL options all about? Not applicable for wireless right? Sorry to repost, but what are your views on housekeeping measures and steps as well? Wanted to do a major notebook "servicing" as programs and Net is running slower as compared to the past. Thanks again! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic September 17, 2007 Share September 17, 2007 99% of the Internet users started with dial-up networking (DUN) with 28kbps modem and slowly move to a max of 56kbps modems. DUN is limited in speed so the mtu size is optimized when transmitting smaller size like 576 bytes. Unfortunately, Windows default to network connection which is 1500 bytes. This mismatch caused a bit of slowdown for DUN users. ADSL and Cable used network connection. So it doesn't make a difference when directly connected to a new Windows installation without the help of optimizer. Wireless connected to ADSL is still considered "network" connection. Housekeeping or spring cleaning is useful if you find your computer is running slower. Uninstall unnecessary and no longer used software. Use Registry cleaner to get rid of unnecessary as much as possible. The ultimate treatment is to reinstall Windows, but that would mean reinstalling applications that you want again. Windows get slower each time you install and uninstall a program, bcoz some programs never get removed entirely from the registry. Usually when you use the internet or on your PC or notebook, you may get tons of adware, malware dropped onto it, slowing it down. This is especially so, if you use Internet Explorer. It is particularly vulnerable bcoz adware/malware and not to mention virus; like to target Windows and its default programs. Use spyware remover to clean up. Spybot and superantispyware are good examples. Antivirus program is indispensable nowadays. I experienced once the network slowed down excessively and found trojans using my PC as a spamming source. I wasn't running antivirus then. A very good one is Kaspersky, NOD32 is also well known. Other than keeping the PC clean, the network can still slow down, but this will be due to ISP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ex_vagrant Neutral Newbie September 17, 2007 Author Share September 17, 2007 Hi Kb27, Two thumbs up for your detailed clarification! I think this should be labelled sticky for the benefit of all MCFers who wants to do a major PC/Notebook servicing. Thanks again pal... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kenlinliu1419 September 17, 2007 Share September 17, 2007 (edited) [reply]Hi All, I'm trying to optimize my Internet speed with this software. I'm asked to select my connection mode (see screenshot below) and I'm confused as to which one to choose. Need some techie advice from fellow MCFers as selecting the wrong connection mode can be disastrous! Thanks in advance! reply] Try this website... it's also free. http://www.pcpitstop.com/ Edited September 17, 2007 by Kenlinliu1419 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madsumm 1st Gear September 17, 2007 Share September 17, 2007 (edited) Don't waste your time on this.. and.. if you intent to buy it, save the money. If your access speed is slow, what makes adding another such layer of sw in between will make any difference. Most slowness is due to Malware, spyware, viruses.. Go to www.spybot.net and download the latest version. Update the signature and do a FULL scan to rid of the malwares/spywares. Also, if you are using routers, you need to ensure that your MTU is set correctly to that of the provider, otherwise it will drastically slow down your access as packets are dropped. Rgds Edited September 17, 2007 by Madsumm ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...