Hong Kong: Night life, food, cheap shopping etc?

Hondacub777

any kind bros have any good recommendations,exp:food,nite life,shoppings(cheap)?oso how long to get to macau?wat is the minimium bet [sweatdrop] ?will be staying at causeway bay.first time there [sweatdrop] ...tks in advance.

Was there 3 yrs ago. Also staying near Causeway bay area (Hotel InterContinental). For drinking, I think the hype place is Soho. as with makan, can go Temple Street and Loy Yan Kye (woman street) to do Pasar Malam shopping and eat live seafood. MongKok also got good makan stores. The boat trip to Macau is about 1 hour. Dun know the minimum bet cos nvr gamble [laugh]

Edited by Chickenfarm

sorry to tag along tis topic [:p]

anyone has good macau hotel to recommend for 2 nights stay? i'm planning a trip in nov 07... alrdy booked casa real hotel (which is supposedly near to the ferry terminal)... but now still checking if there are any better and more conveniently located hotel (for shopping, eating, casino hopefully within hotel itself)... looking at less than S$200 per room per nite... thanks [:)]

Just came back on Monday.

Was staying at a friend place at Causebay cause the nearest hotel Excelesior costs more than S$350/night!

You might want to go to Tim Sha Cui to watch the Light Show of about 15min.

That Sunday night was foggy and I felt the building lightings lost out to Shanghai;

probably better during Christmas & CNY.

post-15-1190208366_thumb.jpg

any kind bros have any good recommendations,exp:food,nite life,shoppings(cheap)?oso how long to get to macau?wat is the minimium bet [sweatdrop] ?will be staying at causeway bay.first time there [sweatdrop] ...tks in advance.

Bigger casinos like Sands... Baraccat minimum is like SGD20-50 (can't recall exactly)~ Can jstu go inside to view the skipmy ladies dancing performances (don't think can get that in Singapore IR) and also drink free Tea~

Or can go those smaller casinos or even those computer-only casinos where minimum bet is HKD10 (SGD $2)...

for cheap shopping, you can try Hua Yuan Jie (mongkok area, kowloon), small shops selling clothes/shoes, its a few streets parallel to each other, also one whole street selling sports gear/shoes, etc.

in mongkok, lotsa of small scale shopping malls selling all kinds of goods, they dun open early in the morning, business hours usually from 11am-12mn. lotsa of 24hrs eateries in this area too.

for mid-range goods, try sogo @causeway bay, the streets behind sogo, and opp sogo, has lotsa of shops selling all kinds of things....and also lotsa of eateries in the small streets. usually open till quite late ard mn.

nite life - for 1st timer to HK, Lai Kwai Fong in Central, HK island would be an interesting place to go cc lok lok.

food wise - must try wanton mee, beef noodle, milk tea, egg tarts, fish ball noodles (HK version), yuanyang (tea & kopi mix), deep fried fish skin (crispy and yummy, usually serves with soup for dipping) ...etc...etc...too many to name....go find out yourself....

getting to macau on the hovercraft is abt less than an hour.....

During my business trips to HK. I stayed in BP international (also known as scout headquarter). It is near the jetty, women street and the shopping area. Coporate rate is about SGD 100 if you stayed more than 7 days if I remember, got free token for using their washing machine and drying machine. [thumbsup] Room is not big but manageable. Walking distance to Jetty where you can take a boat to Maccau.

Another place I stayed in is Novotel Citygate in Tongchong, new hotel and nice rooms. But it is in Lantau island. Near to mickey mouse land, big buddha, and airport. About 1/2h train ride to mongkok (city). This hotel is much more expensive.

If you are going there first time, plan more days so that you can walk around plus time when you are lost. [laugh][laugh]

Food is everywhere so no worries. Wantan mee really very nice! plus the egg tarts on those coffeeshop like you see in HK movies. NICE!!!

There's the Peak, Ocean Park, their pubbing area, shopping area, bus rail, buses. Even their condo are super nice. Must take the cable car to see the big buddha.

Just came back on Monday.

Was staying at a friend place at Causebay cause the nearest hotel Excelesior costs more than S$350/night!

You might want to go to Tim Sha Cui to watch the Light Show of about 15min.

That Sunday night was foggy and I felt the building lightings lost out to Shanghai;

probably better during Christmas & CNY.

tks to all bros for ur kind reply [thumbsup] .this is the hotel im staying,but for free.i will be alone from 8-6pm coz my oc is working [sweatdrop] .heard its possible to go over shenzhen for a few hours n cum bk [lipsrsealed] ?anyone tried [gorgeous] ??

Depend on what game u play, different game, different table, different minimum bet. Gold sand famous for its high min bet.

tks alot.how is the dim sum?is there a specify place or all r great?

Sha tian station, got this shopping center next to this station, go 6 or 7 floor, mei xin dim sum. Very popular in HK, very shiok. In singapore cannot eat such standard