Sapience Clutched September 29, 2007 Share September 29, 2007 i'm going to a very scenic place and realize my P&S digicam just won't cut it... since i don't intend to go the whole DSLR route, i'm more inclined to get a prosumer digicam, something that will take better pictures, wide-angle shots, but does not require you to make manual adjustments, ok a few adjustments maybe... any recommendations, anyone? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear September 29, 2007 Share September 29, 2007 paranomic sud b panasonic or sony cam. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged September 29, 2007 Share September 29, 2007 (edited) Panasonic FZ-18 or FZ-50..one of the best prosumer out there...although at the end of the zoom range, picture quality wont be that good..but hell, for it's price, it's damn value for money.. or if you want, get a 2nd hand 300D/350D, it will cost abt 500-600 bucks with 18-55 kit lens..it's considered a consumer DSLR..good enough for general usage..18mm is quite wide..good for scenery Edited September 29, 2007 by Shull Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched September 29, 2007 Share September 29, 2007 fujiflim F31d will suffice. Other types of prosumer range is just a couple of hundreds below an entry level DSLR. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear September 29, 2007 Share September 29, 2007 Ricoh GX100 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched September 29, 2007 Share September 29, 2007 (edited) beg to differ, i'm a 350D user, the kit lens is far from average. If just comparing kit lenses, the nikon kit lens is sharper. But of course, you won't get a DSLR for the kit lens Some normal P&S already have 12-50/80 range and have better quality than the canon kit lens. imho, I wouldn't waste time on prosumers, it's either P&S or a DSLR. Nothing takes the fun out of photography until you realise you can't do it RAW. Edited September 29, 2007 by Slowmo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged September 29, 2007 Share September 29, 2007 i'm a 20D user..IMO, general usage, kit lens is good enough liao leh..but i'm aiming for the 17-40L.. or the 70-200L.. anyway, i made the jump from prosumer (FZ-20) to 20D..and very happy with it.. DSLR compare to prosumer really no horse run.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched September 29, 2007 Share September 29, 2007 wah L lens ar? Me no moolah Nah, imho, kit lens even lose out to Pns, because 55mm 'limit' So I got myself a 17-85 and a 70-300 instead.. sold away the kit lens and a b+w cir-pol cheap.... the person who got it 'tan dio' Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched September 29, 2007 Share September 29, 2007 i'm going to a very scenic place and realize my P&S digicam just won't cut it... since i don't intend to go the whole DSLR route, i'm more inclined to get a prosumer digicam, something that will take better pictures, wide-angle shots, but does not require you to make manual adjustments, ok a few adjustments maybe... any recommendations, anyone? Get a DSLR ... otherwise, buy postcards! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear September 29, 2007 Share September 29, 2007 Ricoh GX100 for very wide (24mm) Panasonic TZ-3 for zoom and wide (28mm) Fuji F50FD for low light Olympus 790 SW for all weather and underwater Each strong in certain area, get all 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged September 29, 2007 Share September 29, 2007 http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/fujifilms6000fd/ this'd fit your criteria. only con is xD card. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aristotle 5th Gear September 29, 2007 Share September 29, 2007 My personal opinion is that better to go prosumer first before jumping ship, though prices now are really attractive. The switch from P&S to DSLR can be very daunting, as the user needs to learn all the manual functions, how to set aperture, how to set shutter speed, how to set ISO, and so on. I have seen for myself many users of DSLR using auto mode (sometimes called program mode) on their DSLR, which is a bit . Better to brush up your skills in prosumer first, will make your transition easier also. My suggestion is get those 2nd hand prosumer, like Canon G series. 2nd hand prices should set you back at most 100-200 bucks. If you can find those packages that come with add-on lens such as macro or wide angle lens, even better! Maybe at most 300+ bucks. Ok, when it once you are committed to DSLR, I think it is going to be a buy-buy-buy mentality, esp when it comes to upgrading of lens (possibly 5 figure investment if you are really into it). For me, I already committed to almost 7k just based on my 3 lens and body. I'm sorry to say this, but most of the kit lens really cannot make it in low light. But ultimately, it really depends on the photographer. With a good photographer, with the worst possible lighting conditions, the photos will still turn out well with good settings. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear September 29, 2007 Share September 29, 2007 DSLR can be used by serious photographers. note, serious doesn;'t mean good or experienced. DSLRs can work fully auto just like point and shoot. Perfect for newbies. they can also zoom in and out much faster. main reason against it is cost. if u were to give up the hobby, big loss . otherwise, no point wasting time and $$ on PnS the only reason to get PnS (other than a general cha-pa-lang use camera) is to go diving. cos PnS UW box can cost as much as the camera liao. dun dare imagine the UW box for DSLR . also, if ur cheapo PnS "drowns", not so heart pain Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sapience Clutched September 29, 2007 Author Share September 29, 2007 thanks! will shortlist these cameras when i make my trip to SLS... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sapience Clutched September 29, 2007 Author Share September 29, 2007 you think so? hmm... lazy to learn do manual adjustments la... but want to take just that little bit better pictures... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sapience Clutched September 29, 2007 Author Share September 29, 2007 daunting is the word... and right now, i just don't have time between work and planning for the holiday to go pick up those required techniques to make optimal use of a DSLR. and the thing with DSLR is that you will definitely want to kit up, i guess i rather spend on my car instead heh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched September 29, 2007 Share September 29, 2007 (edited) 7k is considered very prudent already. I've seen people blow 30k just on lenses a year, and its not their field of work I disagree with the prosumer moving to dslr part. because there is so much difference between the 2 that you will have to relearn almost everything (except composition and some basic terms). Just like driving an AT FF SUV (prosumer) since young, and halfway in life, switching to a MT RR coupe (dslr). imho, prosumer cameras are a hype now. The P&S can do pretty much what a prosumer can, and don't be surprised that some P&S can match night shots of some DSLRs. As for prosumers, it's neither here nor there. I feel that they are currently overpriced and overhyped. Might as well get a very good p&s right? Take for example, the canon G series, the nightshot G7 wasn't even close to the p&s F30d. G7 pricing was close to $900 then, and the F30d is at $450. It really depends on what the TS wants, if its just to take pictures and not to worry about post processing or settings, then a good P&S will suffice. Prosumers, nah... I rather top up another $300 to get a DSLR and use the 'auto' feature. Got higher resale value and 'mod' value somemore. Edited September 29, 2007 by Slowmo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raining Neutral Newbie September 29, 2007 Share September 29, 2007 Go fo the fuji above or G5. Understands your unwilling-ness to jump to the DSLR route as I came by this road before. Used to work as a photographer before and in terms of knowledge-wise I have no issue using any DSLR thrown at me. However, for birthday parties / frn's outing etc , I dont usually enjoy lugging bags/lens/blowers/sync/flash/blah blah. Pros 1) Less bulk 2) Dont need lens cap 3) portabilty 4) Dont need $299 dry box since lens dont detach and fugus case pretty rare. ( hell jux throw some hungry-hippo or silicon will do if really anal ) 5) price abit higher than P&S though it shouldnt worry most people. ( Much lesser "must have" new-fangled accessories to buy compare to SLRs ) In a nutshell, if you are thinking along the above line, get the fuji or G5. I like fuji for its relatively good prints out. G5 for all of the above minus the prints ( I'm comparing to exp DSLRs ) . ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...