Milgram Neutral Newbie June 2, 2003 Author Share June 2, 2003 So are those fellas okay...i.e., hones? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 2, 2003 Share June 2, 2003 switching from 155/80/13" (wow, 80 series! never see b4 leh) to 195/50/15" will decrease the circumference by 0.38%. as it's marginal, your spare can be retained. alternatively, juz carry a can inflator and leave your spare at home to save weight. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasper Neutral Newbie June 2, 2003 Share June 2, 2003 how many of us actually leave the spare tyre at home? i was thinking of doing that. if tyre suay suay puncture, call tow truck. i got free service.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hktan Neutral Newbie June 2, 2003 Share June 2, 2003 Worse come to worst, call towing service and change new tyre in the workshop loh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Honzai Neutral Newbie June 2, 2003 Share June 2, 2003 how many of us actually leave the spare tyre at home? i was thinking of doing that. if tyre suay suay puncture, call tow truck. i got free service.... leave spare tyre at home good idea or not? now got those emergency tyre repair kit which is so much smaller and lighter than the spare tyre itself. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasper Neutral Newbie June 2, 2003 Share June 2, 2003 changing a tyre is much much easier than using that repair kit. IMO, if drive only in SG, take out the spare tyre, jack, jack bar. there is so much free towing service nowadays. if go malaysia then put back the spare... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 2, 2003 Share June 2, 2003 tow truck service (AAS is it?) may not necessarily be free if it's your own fault for not carrying a spare wif u. usually free towing only if it's a mechanical breakdown which the mobile mechanics cannot revive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 2, 2003 Share June 2, 2003 roadside repair not a good idea. quite a few ppl have been knocked over or killed by morons who drive in the emergency lane. better to juz hook on the tyre inflator, stand aside to keep a lookout for idiots who may drive into u, unplug and head to tyre shop for a proper repair. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Honzai Neutral Newbie June 2, 2003 Share June 2, 2003 changing a tyre is much much easier than using that repair kit. IMO, if drive only in SG, take out the spare tyre, jack, jack bar izzit? Hmmm ... but actually if i take out the spare, no place to put in my home also . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Honzai Neutral Newbie June 2, 2003 Share June 2, 2003 roadside repair not a good idea. quite a few ppl have been knocked over or killed by morons who drive in the emergency lane. better to juz hook on the tyre inflator, stand aside to keep a lookout for idiots who may drive into u, unplug and head to tyre shop for a proper repair. thanks for the advice! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasper Neutral Newbie June 2, 2003 Share June 2, 2003 be creative. deflate the tyre, use the rim as..... put a wooden board over it, put the whole thing on a tatami.... bingo! itatakemasu! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 2, 2003 Share June 2, 2003 no worries. even tho i carry a spare, dun think i wanna risk it by squatting by the roadside for 15-20 minutes changing a tyre while traffic is whizzing by. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasper Neutral Newbie June 2, 2003 Share June 2, 2003 how much weight can we save by removing the spare tyre? rim = ard 6.5kg??? tyre how heavy? the "screw" that tighten the wheel how heavy? jack? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear June 2, 2003 Share June 2, 2003 Actually, I didn't patronise that shop... My uncle did.. he brought the Bridgestone Potenza from them couple of years back... think it was 4years back. $85 per tyre for 14". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Milgram Neutral Newbie June 2, 2003 Author Share June 2, 2003 Okay, thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear June 2, 2003 Share June 2, 2003 No problem.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 2, 2003 Share June 2, 2003 "..how much weight can we save by removing the spare tyre? rim = ard 6.5kg??? tyre how heavy? the "screw" that tighten the wheel how heavy? jack?.." maybe for your powerful car, no diff lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasper Neutral Newbie June 2, 2003 Share June 2, 2003 no la. my 1.3l car will put in a lot of effort to move 10kg of mass. so if remove this 10kg, maybe can let my 1.3l engine relax a bit. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...