Chisiang 2nd Gear November 22, 2007 Share November 22, 2007 I bet if everyone have to choice between serving their NS and exemption from it....most will choose the latter. I guess it is easier to look back, after having served the NS, and think of it as a good experience, etc. It is also easier to 'laugh' at those who are about to do their NS and are afraid of it. But I bet, there will be a significant no. of people who has served and still find it a waste of time...like I do. All I'm willing to reveal is that...most of the things I learnt was to 'hide and conceal', conforming to a long list of 'wayang' procedures, etc... My brain almost stopped working while I was doing my NS and I'm not alone. You just don't use the right part of your brain often enough. To be honest, I was feeling a little 'lost' after completing my NS and I kept finding 'nice' things to say about it...maybe trying to justify the 2.5yrs I had spent doing. So after a while, I find it easier to just remember the friendships, stop finding/making up reasons to justify the worthiness of that 2.5yrs and move on. The sole single reason to justify NS is to defend our country. The SAF is a conscript army. Every male citizen just do your part and that's it. It may be boring, but as long as you play your part that you have been assigned to then you are doing useful thing, you may not like it but everyone has plays a useful role from drivers to combat personnel. Says who the right side of your brain stopped working during NS? Unless you don't want to use it. Name me a vocation in NS that don't use brain? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pentium 1st Gear November 22, 2007 Share November 22, 2007 That's why our army not very professional (many keng king and ball carriers), all kenna force to do one. Mostly conscripts, what if there is a war, the soldiers decide to defect or surrender because our enemy just promise that they can retain their HDB flat, cars and jobs if they lay down their weapons and tell all the army positions? Maybe hire Foreign talents better..... Ask them to chiong, while we chiong out of singapore Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chisiang 2nd Gear November 22, 2007 Share November 22, 2007 '........whom had 'mental' problem.....' I thought those become guards and commandos?? Ironically, those friends whom I know who came from elites units like Guards, Commandos, Engineers, BRC, all did extremely well in both their career and family. Their will power and discipline are much better conditioned during NS and this enables them to see through much more difficult times. Don't be a sour grapes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged November 22, 2007 Share November 22, 2007 (edited) My post was a follow up of 'has NS make me a better person'...without consideration of the country factor. I understand the importance of NS and I accept that...but unlike you, NS didn't make me a better person and my respect to fellow s'porean doesn't changes just cos they didn't serve NS. As least for me, NS doesn't require me to think/analyze enough. It's mainly to work within a very rigid guidelines and I think that's what military is all about. Do what you are told and do what you are suppose to do. Each has their own role...do not question..if you can. Edited November 22, 2007 by Silver_blade Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Snookium 1st Gear November 22, 2007 Share November 22, 2007 Look from both side of the coins. Of cos everyone would want to choose to be exempt from it. I lost a GF during then and lost 2.5 years of my life while my female peers were ahead in their careers. KNN. I lost 2.5 of CPF earnings somemore. But if we did not have this conscript army, we would be a pushover in the region. Like Kuiwait which was overrun by Iraq easily. Would you want your family members sis, bro, parents to be abused by the invaders. I know I wouldn't. Fruit for thought. As compare with my peer, I really lost 2.5years or more of CPF and income. So who going to compensate me. Kuwait was invaded because of its oil resources. As for singapore we only got people and white ivory tower. You think they will risk a war in invading this 600+KMsq. Therefore those regular are more than enough. We are not in a critical situation like Israel. By the way our annual military spending is far more exceeded as compare to other neigbouring countries. Somemore had did an analysis to compare singapore and Israel. All we need to do is our Gov should play neutral role and not act smart in order to keep it existence. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chisiang 2nd Gear November 22, 2007 Share November 22, 2007 Yah, all don't want to do NS because of personal lost in time and monetary reasons. I think we can hire a few divisions of mama or PRC soldiers who will also flee when there's war The thing about Singaporean is that they all think that they can flee the country in terms of war which is not true. We are not like other countries whereby you can simply cross the border and declare yourself refugee We are an island. The first sign of trouble the expats will leave our tiny island. Do you think we can book an air ticket out of the country? No man! 4 million people to evacuate by air and sea? The truth is most will be stranded behind. If you don't pick up arms, then you are a civilian and you will not be able to defend your wife or children when the enemy come ravaging your little HDB. Imagine the kind of torment they may do to your wife or kid. Then you will regret why the entire nation's men mentality is that they would rather spend their NS time travelling abroad, studying for degree, making money, or personal commitment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Snookium 1st Gear November 22, 2007 Share November 22, 2007 Dear Chisiang, I had received my SAF100 last month, you wanna to take over my place which is one month duration..... I hope you can accept my sincere offer and tell my CO who keep asking me to come back. I am in project management line, so my boss can't take the risk for letting me go reservist. If not who pay for the LD if anything crop up. Only way my boss can do is to employ a PR to take over me do that this project can proceed smoothly. Wan or not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched November 22, 2007 Share November 22, 2007 no offense, i think you are mixing all the facts up and conveniently taking the stand of 'do it for the country'. i got the impression from you that singaporeans should not study abroad, and pursue better life for themselves and family, but stay in singapore and sign on army? are you currently a army or similiar personnel? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched November 22, 2007 Share November 22, 2007 Transvestites, midgets, medically and physically handicapped are exempted, as I remembered. Jehovah Witness are jailed for the 2 years + and on each reservist training are jailed similar period. Not too sure about Madrasah, believe they goes to SCDF. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chisiang 2nd Gear November 22, 2007 Share November 22, 2007 based on that context, well, I think it is the most unfortunate that you have gained nothing out of it But imo, working life is not as much different from NS. You are given terms and conditions in which you should adhere to. Complex and intricate company policies to abide to. Instead of confinement or extra duties, you pay with mental stress and career advancement. I believe every role in NS will require thinking or analysis, but just that the culture in NS is F*** up. Everyone is trying to act blur, and just complete their 2.5 years. I was fortunate to be posted to 1 Guards whereby they respect the intellect (poly or JC students). I was in combat vocation but due to a repelling accident I was downgraded to perform various roles. In between roles from armskote to CQ to accounting specialist, I was free to analyse, recommend and improve existing procedures and guidelines to streamline the logistic efficiency of the unit. And trust me, a lot of brain power is required. So much so that I find myself not able to cope and had to refer to manuals and guidelines. And the so-called guidelines and standing orders are already some of the best there can be and there's a reason why they are there. They are the accumulation of experience through the years. A word of advice for those entering NS or are in NS is that rather than letting your 2 years go to waste, you should see what you can pick up from NS. And please change those attitudes of bo-chap, act blur, etc... those traits will not be helpful when you stepped into civilian working life and definitely not during reservist. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chisiang 2nd Gear November 22, 2007 Share November 22, 2007 lol! I'm from MINDEF and you will receive your SAF 100A tomorrow to go for BCTC course just joking. No man! I am in my 8th year reservist liao. I'm in private sector so wassup!? I hated NS! Back then I will be the first to tell you loud and clear NS Sux. And I studied abroad FYI! And it is only when I studied abroad that made me realised how NS has benefited me During my uni days in UK, you can see a clear and define distinction between the male Singaporean students and the male students from other countries. We are so much more united and performed so much more efficiently. And we have great sense of responsibilities and discipline. And physically, we were prowess to all others. If you want to study, build your career, build your family, by all means do it. But don't use them as an excuse not to do NS. I've got Malay bunks mate who got married during their NS days, friends who studied part-time diploma, and one who became famous Chef during their NS days. If you think your brain is different than so many others who got their degree after NS then your brain is not as good as you think it is. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched November 22, 2007 Share November 22, 2007 (edited) i think we have really different opinions here. i dont think i can even agree to disagree with you. i was 'born' in an era where 2400bps modems are considered a ferrari, and windows 95 is unheard of. And there are about 200+ other people in singapore on the same level as me (i know because these people registered with me). do you know what 2.5 years of doing useless things will do to someone heading the mod/hack/coding scene in the IT arena? IMO, just because you think you appreciated NS, doesn't mean that you are licensed to lecture others to think the same way. And btw, the most hi-tech OS in my camp is MSDOS 3.0 and they have blazing fast 300/1200bps modems Edited November 22, 2007 by Slowmo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crummytyre Neutral Newbie November 22, 2007 Share November 22, 2007 Human behaviour can usually be summarised with a bell curve. I usually see 5 reactions by people when given a certain unpleasant situation, which I've grouped into the following: Group 1. These people will milk the situation dry to their advantage, or actively change it such that it would not have any adverse bearing on them. These are the kind of people whom you would have no doubt that they will succeed (in whatever form)in life sooner or later. Group 2. They are not as active as the 1st group in seeking out opportunities but will still try to make the most of the situation. Group 3. This group will breeze through the situation and will not be affected positively or negatively by it. Group 4. This group will bitch all day about how bad their lot is for being given the situation but do not know, or bother, or is too timid, to find out how to make their situation better, or to make use of it fruitfully. They wallow in their own self-pity and seek solace in like-minded fellows, cursing at the cards dealt to them. Group 5. This is the group most disadvantaged by the situation, by way of action or pre-disposition. Through their self-destructive actions, they will acquire a permanent disadvantage that they will continue to bear with them even after the situation has passed. Question is: which group do we belong to, and do we want to do something about it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched November 22, 2007 Share November 22, 2007 (edited) do you believe a person can be a mix of all the groups? humans are flexible, and they cannot be classified into fixed groups like you stated. Even if they can, they can switch between groups at different points in time. But time is what you don't have. Edited November 22, 2007 by Slowmo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged November 22, 2007 Share November 22, 2007 (edited) ...During my uni days in UK, you can see a clear and define distinction between the male Singaporean students and the male students from other countries. We are so much more united and performed so much more efficiently. And we have great sense of responsibilities and discipline. And physically, we were prowess to all others... Don't take what I'm going to say too seriously hor. Just for a laugh. My observation while I was studying and later working in London. You can tell S'porean from a mile. a. they have winter jacket that doesn't go with the rest of them, usually earth tone or sporty type, b. biggest and loudest group in a chinese restaurant, c. when was the last time they have a hair cut? you wonder, d. hardly socialise with locals or other foreign students eg. clubbing, shopping, dinner at pubs, etc, e. don't know the name of any of their high-street shop owner/staff, f. hardly have a proper conversation with any local, g. 'I'm fine' will be the reply whenever someone ask 'how are you today?'..... Edited November 22, 2007 by Silver_blade Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crummytyre Neutral Newbie November 22, 2007 Share November 22, 2007 (edited) ...do you believe a person can be a mix of all the groups? Of course. I can be in group 1 on one occasion and group 4 in another, etc etc. How I wish I can be in Group 1 all the time. Then I'll have a fleet of supercars in my garage. Time is what we make of it. Some can do a lot in two years, while others spend their time playing computer games and chasing skirts. Edited November 22, 2007 by Crummytyre Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chisiang 2nd Gear November 22, 2007 Share November 22, 2007 Your era is slightly ahead of mine my time is when a track ball is a luxury to own, and 8088 is a ferrari, and MSDOS 3.0 is unheard of and PC DOS 2.11 a much preferred choice over MS DOS. I am not preaching about NS. I am telling the younger boys to make full use of NS and stop whining like a baby so as to try to gain something out of nothing. Since when do you need a license to lecture others in a forum? And what gives you the license either to make others think and behave like you? Forum is about putting your point of view forward so that others can have different point of views. It is then up to individuals to filter and decided what is useful to retain or what is utter rubbish and bad influence to discard. A lot of people still succeed in IT even after missing out much, some even started out late in IT or mid in their career but still succeed. If you cannot make it in the IT field then your brain is weak don't blame NS. Blame it on your gene, your lousy attitude towards life, and your laziness. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear November 22, 2007 Share November 22, 2007 try HIV positive;p ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...