Learning photography

Droozy

Got digital SLR models to recommend??

If got $, Nikon D300. No horse run.

If got $$$, Nikon D3.

i was telling my wife that the $$$ which i spent on my camera is no where near what i spend on my car!!! maybe i should downgrade my car....hahahaha

yar lor. i didn't even spend any $$ on add-ons for my car.

but the $$ is usually a one-time cost.

my point in talking about equipment was just for discussion. I was just trying to point out the advancement in technology. what you couldn't do (or with difficulty) previously, can easily be achieved now.

of course, as I've mentioned before, composition is still the most important to me. if you can capture the right momement (or expression, etc), e.g. in photojournalism, even if your picture is slightly OOF, not cropped properly, etc, it can still be forgiving.

since the TS is considering taking up photography as a hobby, I was hoping that my discussions on equipment would give him a better idea of what are his/her options.

bro.. dun u find AA batteries used up very fast and charged up very slow ? Went through the cameras the gd ones run on AA batteries.. [rolleyes]

Why wld D80 kill yr budget unless u're buying new. but even new i think can buy the body for $1.2k for local set.. if grey set even cheaper i think. But dun quote me on this hor.

55-200VR is good, I have it and use it to shoot carpark rallies and basketball matches etc. Overall quality.. the kit lens plus 55-200 will give u better pic quality than an 18-200Vr lens at half the price. Only catch is u must change lenses that's all. Or u can consider the D80 kit lens, 18-135.. its a very sharp lens even at wide open apertures.

Coz I factor in other things such as flash, lens, UV filter, camera bag, tripod, etc... Add all these up together with the more expensive body I'll be busting my budget. I guess for a start D40x/D60 wouldn't be a bad choice, at least I get my fundamentals right before moving to better equipment. The D60 is out already, and the price is tempting for a dust reduction body with 18-55mm VR kit lens. Only $980 [thumbsup] I'm getting that soon.

Thanks for the comment on the 55-200 VR lens, shall get that to complement my setup once I get comfortable with my DSLR.

The 24-85 has AF-S too, focuses pretty silent and fast. Unless you're talking about the 24-85 F/2.8-4. That is a AF-D lens.

i got mine from the US. waited for a long time before successfully bidding for it.

the 24-85 is truly under-rated, but no point for me to keep it. but focusing, not as fast as my 17-55 sly.gif of course, the 17-55 has got silent wave motor.

the 18-200 wins hats down on convenience. good for travelling. with VR2, the small aperture is not really a problem.

don't really have to get flash yet unless you really really need it.

as for camera bags, now got many many pattern one. so think carefully also.

haven't read abt the D60 so can't comment. if the only difference is the dust reduction, maybe you'd want to re-consider. cuz if you go Nikon to do it, think it's abt 20+ per clean. of course, you'd have to spend the time. dunno how gd is the dust reduction of the D60 though.