Madsumm 1st Gear February 21, 2008 Share February 21, 2008 Yes.. some PnS really has good quality.. I use DSLR 100%, but a compact is something I'm always attracted to. I've missed too much opportunistic shots! Ok, I am going to suggest some PnS here that I feel is really good and out of the world. Leica D-Lux3.. check this site http://www.boxedlight.com/dlux3/ Its actually the same model as the cheaper Panasonic LX2 Ricoh GR Digital II or Capilo GX100.. looks impressive. I'm more geared towards the DLux 3.. becoz its small.. and it takes RAW pics. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madsumm 1st Gear February 21, 2008 Share February 21, 2008 18-200 is around 1.1-1.2k 55-200 is a bit to tele for me (think 1.5 crop) like i said before.. i use 18-250mm tamron.. also becoz its.. lighter then NIkkor.. Rgds Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zambik 2nd Gear February 21, 2008 Share February 21, 2008 Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comfy 1st Gear February 21, 2008 Share February 21, 2008 Droozy, think what u r looking at is really most misconception by a lot of ppl. if you want the fastest quick reacting cam so as not to miss any shots, nothing beats DSLR. Most compact counts the secs it need to start then shoot. DSLR.. none of this. A lot of my shots are done in "last min" candid shots. I could never do this with compacts. Also, one last misconception. Its much easier to use DSLR and u do not need a pro to handle it. I hold a Sony and I'm stumbled! Its so complex! Hahah.. irony. Wat comfy and me usually say.. its not the cam, its the photographer. As long as the compact handles aperture, shutter, ISO and accurate whitebalance, it is fine. But usually, compact has problems doing even the most easiest tasks which DSLR handles supremely well. Coz, it likes to tell u what it thinks is right... keke wa... scary... i see my name here... i also shoot my friends' small small cute cameras ley...i get good effects too... its boils down to the basics of knowledge u have and whether u practices it... different tools for different needs... camera is only a medium/tool for the shooter... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comfy 1st Gear February 21, 2008 Share February 21, 2008 i see someone been poison by the ricoh cameras soon... ricoh in built B&W function looks great... one of the best i have seen so far... that's the GX100... i would wait a while for its successor to come... almost a year old camera liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madsumm 1st Gear February 21, 2008 Share February 21, 2008 (edited) GR II lah.. that one is impressive too.. But size wise.. think Leica better... Edited February 21, 2008 by Madsumm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comfy 1st Gear February 21, 2008 Share February 21, 2008 i have seen & held the pana version before at that place i recom u... its not really small ley... cause the lens are retractable into the body itself... GR-DII are really for pro who is looking for a location scouting cam with a extras bit of a DSLR... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear February 22, 2008 Share February 22, 2008 D60 is the new model Nikon coming out for the in between D40x and D80. Also no AF motor. Did consider the D80 but will kill my budget, I'm fine with manual focusing, did that for film SLRs as well (just needs a bit more time). Have been playing around with PnS cameras and exhausted all the manual functions. Now wanna get more out of my pictures especially when I'm travelling. So the camera and lens size and weight is also a consideration. How much you bought your 18-200mm VR lens for? I was thinking with kit and 55-200mm VR lens, it would cover the effective range as well. 1.2k i think.. the VR lens yes, ur combi will cover. but i had a good laugh at my colleague's expense when he had to swop lenses because the airbus at the airshow was too near . he had a 70-200mm VR (F2.8 which isn't needed in the extreme bright conditions) and some other chapalang lenses. i had my kit lens and 18-200. kit lens as backup and armed with polariser if D60 no AF and D80 over budget, then get D40 lor. btw, d40X sensor same as D80. so quality-wise it is not far off. if D60 got sensor upgrade, then worth considering. otherwise D80 still better pick Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear February 22, 2008 Share February 22, 2008 The new Tamron 28-300mm with VC.. i heard,.. is much better then VR by Nikkor.BUt then.. Nikkor oredi launched the 2nd generation VRII... that I've not tried.. i find VR good enuff. so this VC shd be really good stuff i have concerns abt non-nikon lens, but this tamron lens 28-300, worth considering. only thing is not wide enuff.. if 18-300 then i dun mind switching or i maybe shd get a fast zoom lens which starts at 200mm. but not critical now la Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Droozy Neutral Newbie February 23, 2008 Author Share February 23, 2008 my NZ trip supposed to be last year was cancelled due to my whiplash injury Ya I know any camera can take gd pics.. I just realized my FX 10 is not so gd with quick pics inbetween and night shots even with tripod I tink. Any recommendations ? COmputer fair coming hee hee.. Not into DSLR coz I will need movies off and on too.. read that DSLR no movie functions. Is your NZ trip over ? Any camera can take nice photos. Most important is you must like your camera or tool and know its limitation and specification well to utilise its features. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Droozy Neutral Newbie February 23, 2008 Author Share February 23, 2008 bro .. do u prefer rechargeable batt like litium or using AA batteries.. JUst realize canon S5 IS is using AA batteries.. sian liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comfy 1st Gear February 23, 2008 Share February 23, 2008 i can't comment much on S5 as i have not used it before.... besides i hardly uses any compact... AA is a good choice when u r traveling much with power sources... AA batteries doesn't last u long... perhaps 50 shots while a full charge will last u at least 200 shots... pros and cons la.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Droozy Neutral Newbie February 23, 2008 Author Share February 23, 2008 oh mm... lumix Fz 18 not gd in night pics ? thanks bro I like wide angle and big zoom .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megaweb Clutched February 23, 2008 Share February 23, 2008 How can FX 10 unable to take nice night photography ? Did you use timer mode ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear February 23, 2008 Share February 23, 2008 You will definately need one before the ETA... No point buying from IT show. You will be paying more for it. Do some research and see which system you want to get. C or N. I went C and so far still loving it...opps, wrong slogan... Huhz? IT show more expensive?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear February 23, 2008 Share February 23, 2008 D300 = 2.5+K BODY ONLY D3 = 7.5k BODY ONLY Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear February 23, 2008 Share February 23, 2008 Got digital SLR models to recommend?? You mean DSLRs? any budget? The prosumer series from Canon and Nikon are not bad these days. I always advice friends who just started out not to spend too much until you confirm you like this hobby after 1 year. ke ke ke... most people 3 minute warmth... after that the camera collecting dust. I see.. So what cameras should I look at then? Recommendatons for both brand? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear February 23, 2008 Share February 23, 2008 Cool. Will check those models out during the IT show then. What's the indicative prices for these two models? think the D300 body alone is abt 2-3k D3 think is >$5k or go ebay buy 2nd hand D100, D200 or D80. and get a good good lens (those constant F2.8 ones). Wah... That's more than what I would outlay for a starting hobby. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...