Siewss 1st Gear March 16, 2008 Author Share March 16, 2008 I'll say it feels very much like the BMW 3 series. Lots of superfluous so noise are insulated or muffled, but I just discovered that the AWD transmission whine does permeate the cabin at speed above 110kmh. The whole platform move as one solid piece no matter how uneven the road surface. But again, when it comes to following fast cars, it's probabably not the MPS that will let me down , but down to driver's skills. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 i see. heard the new 6 is even closer to the 3 series, don't know whether it's true or not now let's see when will mazda launch its next generation MPS6, the new one really looks gorgeous as for driver's skills, u will need a reasonably fast car to begin with, else however good the skill is also cannot catch up one because we are talking about average driver vs average driver here, unless u are professional and ur friend is amateur Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linus Clutched March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 hi bro, congrats on your new ride. must be hell of a great drive. i saw this white one with the same reg number 636x as mine. always park at sin ming motor workshops there. fellow mazda owner. zoom zoom zoom.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linus Clutched March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 yo man.. you tested the new 6 liao ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Siewss 1st Gear March 17, 2008 Author Share March 17, 2008 According to some writeups, the MPS torsional stiffness is 50% more than the normal 6, which also explains the porky weight. It'll be great for Mazda to launch a new MPS6, but will certainly mean the start of deteriorating resale price for my MPS. MM should be smarter with their pricing/positioning of the new MPS6, else we'll end up with another dozen or so limited edition/population run in Singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Siewss 1st Gear March 17, 2008 Author Share March 17, 2008 Thanks. It is indeed a great drive, everytime. Hope the white one's not spending time at the workshop for the "wrong" reason I was reading through some of the available mods for MPS from overseas forum - real saliva inducing. It's really a pity there's such a small following in Singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Siewss 1st Gear March 17, 2008 Author Share March 17, 2008 Check this out! The new Mazdaspeed 6 http://www.streetunitforum.com/showthread.php?t=5900 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear March 18, 2008 Share March 18, 2008 no lar, went showroom look look see see only. no money buy don't want test drive, don't want to waste the SE's time but it looks damn nice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear March 18, 2008 Share March 18, 2008 actually i think it's not a bad thing to drive a rare car around, at least the chances of going to the wrong car is less i quite like LGT initially when it was launched, but after a while it starts to feel boring to see so many of them on the road so actually i still hope the new MPS6 will be as rare as current one if not rarer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear March 19, 2008 Share March 19, 2008 Hi, I test drove the very same car. Real nice punch & smooth engine. The FC on screen was 15l/100km which works out to 7.5 km/l? . That was the only thing that put me off the purchase, otherwise I think u got a good deal . Drive 5 years & scrap was what I intended to do as the omv value was high. Body value for this car is uncertain, as it a limited market? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Akula Turbocharged March 19, 2008 Share March 19, 2008 Err, 15litres/100 km works out to be around 6.66 km/litre.....Dun think it will be so bad, as one travel a mixture of road conditions shld be able to even out...... maybe to abt 8-8.5km/litre.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear March 19, 2008 Share March 19, 2008 Well if u compare it to Rx8 of 7km/l its not that bad I guess? I think Mazda need a bit more R&D to improve the FC, cos there r many cars out there with good performance w/o the bad FC. This is despite shaving off a few grams on rearview mirror exercise Even a Rex gets 8km/l for normal drive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Siewss 1st Gear March 19, 2008 Author Share March 19, 2008 Rarity has its privilege and own set of problem (parts availability). I was hoping there'll be about 100 units on the road - that will at least ensure that MM keep a decent inventory of spare parts. The way I see it, probably any parts replacement will require me to request for advance indentation. That's why I'm keeping a very safe distance between the front and the rear vehicles. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Siewss 1st Gear March 19, 2008 Author Share March 19, 2008 (edited) I agree with you on the punchy and smooth engine - runs out of breadth at 5500rpm though, so matching gear change and RPM is essential for proper launches. The FC figure from the trip computer current indicate 11.8L/100km. The fuel meter is even more optimistic - 284km with 60% tank left. I was expecting 8km/L at best but it looks like there's a possibility of hitting >9km/L. I'll finish this tank before making premature judgement. The OMV is high indeed. I'm not optimistic of any body value, but I believe there's decent following and demand in Australia/NewZealand. If the MPS can last till 10 yrs, I'll be saving a huge bundle from my "investment". Edited March 19, 2008 by Siewss Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Siewss 1st Gear March 19, 2008 Author Share March 19, 2008 I think your estimation's quite close. I'm on 60HW:40City and the figure seems to be hovering around 8.5km/L based on the trip computer. I'm hoping to better that. My 1st tankful looks promising. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear March 19, 2008 Share March 19, 2008 i think part wise it shares a lot with the normal 6 so shouldn't be any problem not to mention mazda is damn reliable now but if swey swey kena something (Touchwood) then also bo bian, just have to wait longer, it's not that they don't bring in the parts just need longer waiting time now the problem is not whether u keep a safe distance, it's ALWAYS the stupid car behind that bangs us so next time if u meet tailgaters must fast fast let them pass Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie March 19, 2008 Share March 19, 2008 (edited) For his case, it'll really be the front bumper, bonnet and rear bumper that he need to be extra careful. But there's always extra excuse to have customized bumpers ;-) Despite sharing parts with regular 6, I think it has slightly flared bumpers. That leave the door being the only sharable parts with regular 6, unless of coz you want to go stealth mod. Engine parts, there's always the CX7 that share some mechanical parts I guess. Edited March 19, 2008 by Andrewkb Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Siewss 1st Gear March 19, 2008 Author Share March 19, 2008 That's right. It's dissimilar in may ways - engine (maybe with CX7), transmission, body panels, bumper, brakes, semi-bucket seats, Bose system, head & tail lights.. I'll need to really service frequently in order not to end up with early parts failure. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...