Hein Neutral Newbie March 7, 2008 Share March 7, 2008 Hi Guys, I'm planning to get a new Civic Type R(4 door) in the next 1-2 months, and am still doing some research based on my ICE setup...... 1. For the HU, I'm down to 2 main models The Pioneer with 6 Disc Changers The Alpine W202e. Any advise on the above 2 models??? 2. Looking at Amps and speakers, and am currently confused with the range of speakers available within the $500 range. Any advise on which speakers could be recommended from SLS or SLT that I can start looking??? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dunno Neutral Newbie March 12, 2008 Share March 12, 2008 Just note that these 2 HUs cannot play 2way or 3 way active without adding a sound processor. They are primarily 5.1ch HU. As for speakers, unless you are DIY, it's better to head down to one of the installers. They should have a range of speakers for you to audit. Do bear in mind the additional cost for installation, power cables, speaker wires, in-line fuse, RCA, etc. Set aside about $200-250 if you want something of average quality. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Suresh Neutral Newbie March 19, 2008 Share March 19, 2008 sorry first time cant have new post.does any one know which audio shop is selling the metal tweeter holder fix at the a-piller? and the damage is how much?pls advise Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 Sorry to pour cold water on you. I have a fren who is driving the Type R and i can tell you, dun waste money on ICE. The chances you can hear your ICE is pretty limited. The engine and exhaust note is already loud at 3k. At 5k, my fren is telling me he hear nothing liao. Go to CTR forum and check out with bros who have installed decent ICE in their rides for comments. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carfreakz Clutched March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 Carsounds 10 AMK AUTOPOINT #04-10 Ang Mo Kio Industrial Park 2A Singapore 568047 Open Daily : Monday to Saturday Operating Hours : 10am to 7pm Please call us at 97778897 calvin 94508122 Adam for enquiries. they r selling abt 150/ea as i did my ICE setup there, they charge me 100ea hope that helps...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spinworkx Clutched March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 Well, i also have a friend driving a CTR, actually i have 2 friends..one driving the Euro one and the other the JDM one... The Euro one is ok because well, it's already sound proofed and etc...so he is running a full 3way inside and it's ok... For the JDM, that car came like direct from the manufacturing plant...totally bare man...no sound proofing, the floor was bare metal etc....well, it's a track car so you have to expect that :) and yes, the engine is very noisy and you won't hear anything...what he did was to sound proof all the doors, the boot, and the floor..so it reduced the enging noise...he also running 3way and it's now ok... Hehe, but i think he's officially got the heaviest CTR JDM in Singapore hehe...all the sound proofing he had to do...dunno how many boxes of Dynamat Extreme he used up..i know he paid thousands to sound proof the hwole car properly.....always tease him might as well buy the 2L versiion instead...equall as heavy liao hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 Wah, hardcore leh! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Notsoblurr Neutral Newbie March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 The Pioneer DVD with 6 Disc Changers is a very old model, can forget about it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slidingturtle Neutral Newbie March 21, 2008 Share March 21, 2008 well, he might be the slowest CTR... but still the fastest civic!! anyway, finally saw the final pdt on thurs evening... it looks very nicely fitted up... the boot looked almost stock... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Delvinteo Neutral Newbie March 21, 2008 Share March 21, 2008 (edited) Did you hear the quality of the audio setup? It's deadly impressive. His $ is well spent. Edited March 21, 2008 by Delvinteo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slidingturtle Neutral Newbie March 22, 2008 Share March 22, 2008 nope, not yet... couldn't stay cos was rushing off to have dinner with wifey... perhaps another time... scared listen already itch again... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fishball Neutral Newbie March 28, 2008 Share March 28, 2008 (edited) if thinking to get Alpine, IVA-W502 coming soon.. and choose your installer very very carefully....don't think that cheap is the best... sometime good installer come with a price... Edited March 28, 2008 by Fishball Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Replica_77 Neutral Newbie March 29, 2008 Share March 29, 2008 your friend's name is Ken?? hahaha.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qaz20 3rd Gear April 14, 2008 Share April 14, 2008 Hi Guys, I'm planning to get a new Civic Type R(4 door) in the next 1-2 months, and am still doing some research based on my ICE setup...... 1. For the HU, I'm down to 2 main models The Pioneer with 6 Disc Changers The Alpine W202e. Any advise on the above 2 models??? 2. Looking at Amps and speakers, and am currently confused with the range of speakers available within the $500 range. Any advise on which speakers could be recommended from SLS or SLT that I can start looking??? Am in the same shoe as you months ago.. Chose Alpine w202 in the end awith h701 for more flexibility and SQ. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr_pee Neutral Newbie April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 Hijack abit ah sorrie guys.. Just need some help.. anyone noe of any forum or any lobang to get 2nd hand head unit...??! 2din head unit.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 check the classified folder or sgsoundsystems Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Root Neutral Newbie April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 I think it is ok to ICE CTR. When you high rev car, you usually not into music anymore Usually enjoy music while crusing Anyway, HJ the thread for a moment, if going 3-way, what will be the ideal setup on the amp part? Should it is 3x 2ch amp? Or 1 x 4ch & 1 x 2ch configuration? Please briefing explain. Thank you very much. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobcatsysop Neutral Newbie April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 (edited) Hi Bro, <<HJ the thread for a moment, if going 3-way, what will be the ideal setup on the amp part? Should it is 3x 2ch amp? Or 1 x 4ch & 1 x 2ch configuration? >> To go 3-way Active without sub, you need 6-channels. With sub, you need either one more 2-channel amp or 1 monoblock. <> 'Heat' is the greatest enemy of amps. Meaning, their efficiency is 'weaken' due to heat. If you bridge the amps, they run even hotter. That is why most ICE enthusiasts go for 2-ch amps x 3 for 3-way front components and another monoblock for their sub. That means 4 amps altogether for 3-way setup. There are 6-ch and 7-ch amps in the market for those who who wants to use only 1 amp. Question is can you sacrifice booth space? This depends on how much space you got in your car to put those amps. Some take away their spare tyre to use the spare tyre well to 'house' the amps. Bearing in mind, the additional weight your car is carrying with all those ICE stuff, especially adding in your sub and box. Edited April 16, 2008 by Bobcatsysop ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...