Rickster 5th Gear March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 Don't forget its a VW after all... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 About 79K with an OMV of 18K . The price is quite reasonable for a iconic car such as this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icetrap 2nd Gear March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 Yup, you pay for the brand. A lot of chics like this car :P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 Its a chic magnet afterall. Jus like the mini cooper. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 Singaporeans too much into brand..Actually to be frank, the Beetle is just an iconic car and that's abt it..apart from that, there is nothing outstanding abt its driveability and performance to warrant such a high premium..I think 74-75K would have been a fairer price.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vicz Neutral Newbie March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 (edited) u r not wrong and u r right. however, this is a very "heart" question, not everything measured by means of "brain", thats why such cars exist in the first place. u also can't say buying a Toyota is better than a Daihatsu right? why would people risk buying from PI a Belta instead of getting a Vios from AD or a Euro Accord than a KM Accord? its just a different thing in the heart.... would u pay more to makan the same fried chicken at Popeye or pay less at Chomp Chomp...? to each its taste. Essentially a New Beetle is just another Golf. They may demand certain premium but its all up to the buyers, some people just want to have certain things to fulfil the heart's desire thats all. u r looking at it from the point of view of PERFORMANCE & DRIVABILITY but some look at it from another angle just like the same shoe from Bata or Gucci. Hua hee jio ho! Enjoy ur life the way u want it. Edited March 20, 2008 by Vicz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 Actually i dun mean to say I definitely 100% won't pay extra for a branded piece of quality goods..but for me, the premium on top of it have to be at a reasonable level(this level is subjective and of cos differs from pple to pple)...higher than usual is fine with me but when it reaches at a proportion where I dun think its worth to pay that amt of premium for that badge prestige anymore, then I will go for something which I find is almost as good although lesser in prestige but at a considerably lower premium.. For the beetle to price at 5-6K abv the mkt norm due to the VW prestige is quite alright in my view, but at 10-11K abv, I just feel its not worth to pay that amt anymore.. well, different pple different views.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dlar2 Neutral Newbie March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 wah, 22-23k mark up..very high for a 1.6 car.. Need your advise, how do we derive that VW markup 22k for a OMV of 18k based on current COE level of 15.5k with a selling price of 79k?? Can share with us your maths? Thank you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 Use OMV + ARF + COE + RF + Excise + 7% GST + 6 mths road tax ARF is 100% OMV, RF is $140, Excise is 20% OMV. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 For some, even a toyota vios is extravagant. They'd rather go for a Chery Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vicz Neutral Newbie March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 agree with u. its ur own likes and loves. all the judgements are also up to urself, worth or not is also ur choice.... To me, its either u buy one that u love, or the cheapest possible car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vicz Neutral Newbie March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 my view was almost like urs b4 i bot the car but later i realise that worth or not worth is up to individual's likings. but when u start to want it, u will see deeper than that. just like uncles loved sunny and altis but i dislike these two models to its roots...ha ha... sorry but its just my personal view. People in this land tends to compare cars simply by its engine capacities i.e. 1.6 compare to 1.6, 1.8 to 1.8 and 2 to 2.... but its not that way! just like when u say why certain 2 litre car only liberates some 130 horse while some have as much as 200 horses. its just a different focus on the basic objective when the designer designed that car.... some for performance some for uncles....be it its attraction or focus is the shape or aesthetic alone, its still a piece of its own roots. Beetle is one that its focus is shape, body, aesthetic, nostalgia and almost mediocre in other aspects. so its still worth its cost actually. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 (edited) For me, I based my decision on design and its performance/driveability + a little consideration on brand prestige before deciding if its worth that price tag. If the first two factors score high, i tend not to place too much emphasis on the latter. That is why I would look at the alfa 159 a lot more than the BMW 320. In this Beetle case, it has always appeal to pple who like its design(I think I like it too)..but apart from that, Iam unable to convince myself to part with so much premium just becos of this reason and also for the fact that its a VW. Car reviews over the world rate this car as only average where driving experience is concerned..Take for another example, the VW Golf (let's talk only abt the standard 1.6 and not the other higher version)..the OMV is alm 20K and when it was launched, the selling price is 86-87k at the time when COE is abt 20k or so. The mark up is about similar to the Beetle, but for this case, I might consider forking out such a premium for the golf even though its steep...reasons? its design is appealing, its a VW and importantly, its favourably rated in terms of driving experience when compared to its other rivals of the same class..Golf is rated as the Rolls Royce of hatchbacks in many reviews.. Anyway, as all of you had said, this is very subjective and highly depend on the individual. I just would like to share wat I feel and not trying to impose my opinion on anyone here.. Edited March 20, 2008 by Damienic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vicz Neutral Newbie March 21, 2008 Share March 21, 2008 don't worry lah bro, no one will think that u r trying to impose ur opinion, everyone is sharing their thots here. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...