Rational thinking ... are we to be blame

Meecar

The fact that there is people that complaint(feedback) means that there are people who still care.

I believe some guru said that about customer service. [scholar]

Nice to have positive feedback. [grouphug]

sure there are people who care... but the important question is, are they caring for the nation or caring for themselves? [:p]

The current party is doing a fine job. However, they should be careful in implementing new policies.

New policies formed just because someone new step in, not much considering the outcome.

We need the government to be more careful of what they are doing. Who ever did say change the governing party?

same wavelength bro.. [grouphug]

i think most thinking folks out there realise PAP is the only practical way (for the ruling party) for the next few yrs. EVEN if they donate some of their pple to opposition. [laugh][laugh]

just that the repeated "strong mandates" might be getting to their heads [rolleyes][lipsrsealed]

i have given up on petrol cartel liao. [shakehead]

petrol affects most of us.. but i think there are bigger issues which really affect us as a people.

i do not speak for others but i do know that if there is a risk i must take, it must be a calculated risk and not a risk that i jump into blindly...

dun worry no boms lar, i believe mature adults will take it as discussion fodder and nothing else.

in any case, i'll be proud to be in a district with slightly shabby areas (think PP) and to be represented by an MP who cares.

my PAP-run estate is pretty much litter-strewn already, pple smoke in the lift, etc etc. No fault of the PAP. but i'd have little to lose if OP takes over [laugh].

and do note that it's not the OP's fault that they can't run the estate to contested-PAP ward standards. i'm sure u know the reason why they lag behind [sly]

can't fault them if it's not their fault right? [:p]

well... if you are sure that you will still have a flat over your head when the OP had taken over.... you can never be too sure about things....

walao.. u trying to suggest OP will cause the flats to collapse ah!

i have faith in the SYSTEM that papa lee built. do u? [;)]

sure papa lee built it... but is the people that maintains it that matters...

I am not suggesting that the OP will cause flats to collaspe but am just saying that it may not exsist anymore since you do not know what OP will do mah.....

Dun put words in my mouth leh...... [:|]

u really want to know ar? looking at the OP.... i can only see potong pasir as a credible opposition..... but 1 person enough meh?

sorry i duno much abt politics but i do know i seen csj a few times and cfm he is not my type of fella... [:p]

so LTK not credible? by the way PP MP is CST. i think he is ok but he dare not rock the boat too much. but that is besides the point.

CSJ, just from seeing him a few times you confirm can judge the fella already? you must be really good.

even if he is not very capable, the pap still use dirty tactics to nail him. use the media to paint a bad image of him. this makes the msm not credible.. so how to rely on an uncredible source to know who is credible?

Bro,

To be fair, I don't think it is our job to come out with a solution for making things work beter. Why in the world do we pay those million dollars salaries for?

If I am paid a million bucks, I will make it my business to come up with the solutions.

Untill then, surely the least one is entitled to do is 'complain' ?

I just believe that one should not lodge a protest vote for the opposition just because one is not happy with the ruling party.

Ask yourself, can the opposition do better?

same question back: Can the opposition do any worse?

I really don't know... and neither do you

Have you wonder if they improve the salary, benefits to the bus drivers.. where will the money come from? You... or at least people who take buses.

Do you want that? Do you think the Bus company who think of profits.. will take out from their pocket. nope. The cost will be pass down to us. Then you will complain the bus fare increase too much.

Fact:

Bus fare is still going up. So if you ask me, I'd rather the money go a fellow local born Singaporean than a foreigner striking out here

So what makes you think a new govt will do better?

I will not take the risk as i think overall they have performed good enough. You have stated the bad but what about the good? The safety of our children, the riot-free state.... even drugs are not as rampant as most if not all countries....

All you have stated is on monetary terms..... is money that important to you that you choose to ignored the rest of the intangible things....

Don't you think that all those you mentioned should be something that our SYSTEM of governance should take care of?... and not who runs the office. It's not like if we have a non-PAP as minister of defense, we can be looking at no NS or no more NS callups.

Our laws and policies should be firm and sound; our ministries should be efficient and effective... THAT's what that will ensure our success....

True, I'm not certain that a new government will do any better... but unless our current government starts showing some decent results, I also have to admit that I'm not certain that more opposition will make things any worse.

Yes, I am taking all the good things for granted and only disturbed by all the negative ... but we should also agree, the number and severity of the negative 'results' are growing.

walao.. u trying to suggest OP will cause the flats to collapse ah!

i have faith in the SYSTEM that papa lee built. do u? [;)]

Totally agree! [thumbsup]

u really want to know ar? looking at the OP.... i can only see potong pasir as a credible opposition..... but 1 person enough meh?

sorry i duno much abt politics but i do know i seen csj a few times and cfm he is not my type of fella... [:p]

No offence, but how much of the MIW candidates do you do background check on? I admit, I didn't... But I agree with you on CSJ.

I don't think anyone really wants a complete change of leaders.... nor even a drastic shift like what happened up north. BUT it's definitely felt by many that BECAUSE of the number of MIW in the government, they don't feel 'threatened' enough to really listen to the general population.

Seriously i never heard of any candidates unless before elections, be it MIW or OP...

I agree the govt will not feel threatened w/o strong opposition but 2 points i have here..

1) is the boundary that could be changed as and when they like, this is a loophole exsisting in almost all or even all democrat society...

2) What the MIW had done, hit or misses, i am so far ok with being status quo, if really there is a case of strong OP, should they not build their case now, rather than just waiting for elections...

In this i see no diff between MIW or OP, i have serious doubts that the OP can do a better job, at most things will remain status quo which brings usback to square 1.