CAI for Airtrek

Dualie

Just done a CAI for my Airtrek. Can feel the car breathing better now [:)] Or maybe it's just because I'm running almost empty tank [:p] There are precious little space for a proper CAI, any fellow Airtrek owners want to know how I do it can request for pictures lor. I upload them later. It's basically a flexible hose running to stock airbox via a sawn off air intake pipe (from grille to intake box). The reason why I saw off part of my intake pipe is so that I can retain my resonator box. So even though I'm feeding air from near front bumper area to the airbox, induction noise remains the same. Btw, I'm using a Unifilter drop-In for my Airtrek. It's a pass me down from my previous Lancer. I find that this filter allow my car to be more willing to rev than compare to K&N or stock.

Previously I was running a modified stock intake setup, which is almost a CAI. However, I just don't think it's good enough. Just for info, my previous Lancer was running 2x3" pipe feeding into my "modified" airbox [:)]

Thank you

Keat..

Hi DUALIE,

Welcome to MCF thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif ..... i am interested in your CAI setup coz i am also driving a airtrek smile.gifsmile.gif.

Hope to meetup with you and learn how it's done. I will send you a private message after this.

Cheers thumbsup.gif

Here are some pictures of my CAI setup smile.gif The tubing is of size 2" although I believe a 2.5" tubing will do nicely.

The tubing will be insulated in the near future sunny.gif

Thank you

Keat..

post-6-1055665327_thumb.jpg

post-6-1055665328_thumb.jpg

post-6-1055665329_thumb.jpg

Hmm.... interesting. Did you have to cut a hole at the bottom for the pipe to go out ?

Yes I did. I could see no significant opening for the tubing in my Airtrek, so I just cut a hole and make the opening. Actually the hole is already there, I just enlarged it to fit the tubing.

Thank you

Keat..

So how much did you pay for this tube?

"Heat-proof"?

Where did you get it?

I saw some at Kelantan Lane, $8/ft I think. Dunno if heat resistant?

hi,

you can get it a French Rd, about $3 to $4 per ft.

Diameter of 2 to 2 1/4 inch.

Need to wrap the hose.

cheers,

Dave

hi,

Don't have the shop name. You can see the hardwares as you turn to French Rd. believed they have bigger size.

cheers,

Dave

OK. Very inconvient leh. Only open till 5-5.30pm.

Will need to try on Saturday again....

Thanks

Hi Dualie,

Thanks for the pics... well done !! thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif ..... Do we have to 'smoothen' the rings/ribs of the inner wall of the tube to avoid air 'turbulance' ??

So how much did you pay for this tube?

"Heat-proof"?

Where did you get it?

I saw some at Kelantan Lane, $8/ft I think. Dunno if heat resistant?

Heat resistant meaning it will tahan the heat in the engine bay without melting or it will insulate the air inside the tube? The tubing I'm using is not insulated. As I run the line away from major heat source, so no worries abt tubing melting also.

Thank you

Keat..

very nicely done, just be careful if you are going over flooded roads/lane IMO nod.gifthumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

Actually there's still some lobang where the tubing enter the airbox. So when the tubing is submerge in water, the engine will suck air thru' the tiny lobangs [:)]

Thank you

Keat..

The inner wall of the tube is actually quite smooth. So no worries abt turbulence [;)]

I bought the tubing at Kitchener Road Complex.

Thank you

Keat..

Actually there's still some lobang where the tubing enter the airbox. So when the tubing is submerge in water, the engine will suck air thru' the tiny lobangs smile.gif

that great to hear, you did a very good job nod.gifthumbsup.gifthumbsup.gifthumbsup.gifthumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

Actually, do you think it will be better to aerotape the pipe followed by some aluminium tape for insulation?

Thanks