S2P2 Neutral Newbie June 10, 2003 Share June 10, 2003 ok.....now i know ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Virus 2nd Gear June 10, 2003 Share June 10, 2003 never kena gravel pit what....at least u know i tested & certified 100% that the abs works! So have you tested the SRS?? Is it working?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 10, 2003 Share June 10, 2003 that, give free oso dun wanna test.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Accenture Neutral Newbie June 10, 2003 Share June 10, 2003 SRS saved my sister's life before in a head on collision... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie June 10, 2003 Share June 10, 2003 dun try!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
E21s Neutral Newbie June 10, 2003 Share June 10, 2003 ABS doesn't mean shorter braking distance. Many ppl have this misconception. It's purpose is simply to prevent wheel lockup and enable the driver to retain steering control to steer clear of obstacles. Agree. I asked this question because like u said people have this misconception. I used to know this friend who was into motorsport. He removed the ABS from his rather good car because he didn't believe that it will reduce stopping distance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie June 10, 2003 Share June 10, 2003 With ABS, the braking distance is actually longer but the antolock feature allows you to steer out of trouble...so for a pro driver, they will rather rely on their skills than some electronics.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Liang Neutral Newbie June 10, 2003 Share June 10, 2003 Guys This is something I got sometime back from some forum (maybe this one?). It explains clearly how ABS works. Bottomline - ABS good. It's a bit long but not too technical. He is an engineer but tries to explain it in layman terms. I don't know how much we can trust the writer and his credentials but it seems to make sense to me. Safe driving! http://www.geocities.com/nosro/abs_faq/#Wh...basic%20physics Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie June 10, 2003 Share June 10, 2003 yes...ABS does work very well in most of the situations... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elixir 1st Gear June 11, 2003 Author Share June 11, 2003 So is it worthwhile just to install ABS into my car? How much does it costs? any idea? better ask my SE on this........in the mean while maybe you guys can give some feedback Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jojo Neutral Newbie June 11, 2003 Share June 11, 2003 can go for the option is your car allows for it. otherwise can do manual abs. step on break pedal and release and step and release and step and release adn step and release and step and ....oh ok. but seriously, that's how people use to it when abs was only available for those high end cars in the past. then tere is the mechanical abs off available off market where you getint install in jb or some of the accessories shop in sp. friend tried it before. can also work but mimus peace of mind. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie June 11, 2003 Share June 11, 2003 Yes... It is excellent to have ABS. It has saved me from a couple of hit the front car's backside... Cheers sucker! Actually ABS doesn't reduce the stopping distance. It just prevents locking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie June 11, 2003 Share June 11, 2003 ARE CARS FITTED WITH ABS HAVE SHORTER BRAKING DISTANCE? This is a question to be asked because in most advertisements of ABS, it shows a car with ABS avoiding obstacle by gaining control of the car while a car without ABS has no steering control. In other words, ABS cars are allowed to steer clear of its obstacle by enable the driver to turn away. But if there is no absolutely way of turning the car to the side, ie next lane and the only way is forward, will car with ABS allow drivers to stop in time compared to a car without ABS. Looking at the technical aspect, an ABS car works because the brake is release many thousands of time per sec, does it mean that it will stop faster than a car which has skidded? Anyone with experience with cars that has option to turn ABS on and off? Comments welcome. I don't think a car fitted with ABS will have a shorter braking distance compared to a similar one without ABS, unless the car without ABS locks it's wheels. You will notice that a car with ABS can still be STEERED while the brake is depressed as traction is maintained, while one without is more likely to lose traction if one tries to steer while braking. That is why we have always been tought to keep the steering straight when we apply the brake. With ABS, once speed is sufficiently scrubbed off, we can steer the car away from an object while maintaining brake pressure. I think it is a natural tendency for the everyday driver to maintain brake pressure during an emergency situation, so in this way, the ABS helps ppl to avoid a collision. Just my $0.02. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie June 11, 2003 Share June 11, 2003 Agree. I asked this question because like u said people have this misconception. I used to know this friend who was into motorsport. He removed the ABS from his rather good car because he didn't believe that it will reduce stopping distance. For racing cars, ABS is a liability to lap times. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie June 11, 2003 Share June 11, 2003 very true... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 11, 2003 Share June 11, 2003 "...then tere is the mechanical abs off available off market where you getint install in jb or some of the accessories shop in sp. friend tried it before..." U mean those ABS Trax that used to be popular a few yrs back? That's not really ABS as there's no electronic pulsating action on the brakes itself. It simply regulates the hydraulic pressure to prevent too much sudden brakeforce. Better to get ABS fitted as an OEM option if it's available. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie June 11, 2003 Share June 11, 2003 disappear go where Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie June 11, 2003 Share June 11, 2003 busy lah.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...