Ah_bon Neutral Newbie February 16, 2006 Share February 16, 2006 haahhaaa... maybe they got grit guard in their pail! it not then maybe they are using the new Optimum No Rinse,Wash and Shine! just wash and dry... no need to rinse with water after wash! so just one pail enough!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazziegirl Clutched February 17, 2006 Share February 17, 2006 quite possible. maybe next time, will see if I have the guts to go up and ask them how they do it, but then, but first shift my car out of sight, else kenah hantam! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_bon Neutral Newbie February 17, 2006 Share February 17, 2006 hahaha... true true.. Went out with my boss yesterday in his new black BMW SUV, just a few months old Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie February 17, 2006 Share February 17, 2006 I bought the Meguairs rim brush for $17.90 from carefour thinking i can't go wrong, but the next day I saw the same thing at Homefix going for $16.90.. the Meguairs Hot Wheel rim cleaner was a steal during the promotion though, so it more than compensated for the $1 extra i paid for the brush.. ah, must check out this homefix then. so carrefour, homefix are great places to get stuff like cloths, shampoos, QD etc? the 3M QD product looks like one of the easiest to use. 3M stuff also available at homefix etc hor? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazziegirl Clutched February 17, 2006 Share February 17, 2006 aiyoyo, so sayang lah! how come your boss didn't take care of the car? Ya, maybe he pass to the uncle, or worse, maid to take care black car some more.. shows up swirl marks very easily.. tsk tsk.. what a pity! but sidetrack, howse the ride? good? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_bon Neutral Newbie February 17, 2006 Share February 17, 2006 Yep can find quite a range of 3M product at home fix. but i dunno what they offer... but i notice not all stores sells exactly same product range. Never try their QD before. if you try let us know your review ok? but i do know some of their range gum up very easily. so you may end have taking a long time to buff it off so do take note if you are using 3M product with machine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_bon Neutral Newbie February 17, 2006 Share February 17, 2006 ya i tot so too... sayang... for the ride.... its good. pretty comfy but a bit bumpy.. but that's norm for a SUV. the interior is great. as expected from BMW. engine is pretty quiet. of cos its a great car to have... but whether it justify its price tag... i'll leave it to individual to decide. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazziegirl Clutched February 17, 2006 Share February 17, 2006 shiok man, to drive BMW SUV... would love to have a go at that! as for the swirl marks... o well... I guess he can afford to do another coat of paint eventually, or change cars in 2 years Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Credor Twincharged February 17, 2006 Share February 17, 2006 Dun mind side track abit. Use to see the word QD..quick detailer. also went to read the usage of the product at the store. But still can't really understand it purpose. To protect the wax layer???cos it soaid use the QD in between our waxing. So to protect the wax 4 what?? though the wax is to protect the car body. why can;t just use H2O to clean up the car in between the waxing. hope somebody can clear my confusion. Thank alot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kaiserdome 1st Gear February 17, 2006 Share February 17, 2006 If I'm not wrong, 'Use between waxing' means u use QD to maintain the shine and sleekness of the wax layer. Since QD does not remove wax, using QD saves u the trouble of waxing often. What some of us do is to wax every few months and use QD in within the few months to maintain it. The use of QD also helps to prepare surface for applying sealant and wax as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie February 17, 2006 Share February 17, 2006 petrol pump car wash removes wax and zaino? did my zaino at groomworks then car getting dusty, just went to $2 carwash at upp thomson caltex .. yikes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_bon Neutral Newbie February 17, 2006 Share February 17, 2006 What Kaiserdome said is right. it is also use between washes as well. if you have light dust / dirt that you wish to clean off from your car, can use QD. it can also be use to remove bird bombs I won't suggest using H2O to clean up. Reason being, H2O dun have lubricant that QD has. Lubricant will help to 'pick up' the dirt as you glide the towels across your car paint. The lubricity will help to reduce the possibility of the dirt scratching the paint. Using H2O, chances of causing scratches is much higher. I read from other forums that some even add some QD into their car washes to increase the lubricity! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lonewolf Neutral Newbie February 23, 2006 Share February 23, 2006 ah, must check out this homefix then. so carrefour, homefix are great places to get stuff like cloths, shampoos, QD etc? the 3M QD product looks like one of the easiest to use. 3M stuff also available at homefix etc hor? All hardwares shops will carry somedetailing stuffs. But I think you need to go to one of those auto superstores like stamford (the bigger outlet like the one in Jurong) or Autobaccs to get your hand on the really good stuffs. I'm not saying that Homefix and the rest carry useless stuffs, some of their stuffs is good but you can definitely get better stuffs elsewhere. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_bon Neutral Newbie February 27, 2006 Share February 27, 2006 Ask you one qns. Do your car feels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kaiserdome 1st Gear February 27, 2006 Share February 27, 2006 i'm using Meguiar's NXT car wash...produces quite a lot of suds and the best thing is it's easy to rinse off and sheets off the water as well... makes drying the car a breeze... gives a relatively good shine too... I have used Turtle Wax Wash, Meg Gold Class, Mother's California and Meg NXT. I find NXT the best too. Gives the best shine for me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie March 5, 2006 Share March 5, 2006 > Spend about an hour a week to wash lor. Once you have a systematic approach to it, washing should be a lot quicker i've read posts on washing techniques, but haven't come across one that teaches u how to do it quick and efficiently ... i'm real slow now. just packing the stuff to carry to the car already takes time. and even longer time packing it back (e.g. roll up the hose) and bringing it home. then comes the washing bit .. biggest headache is water spotting during drying, even though i use NXT. maybe my chamois isn't good enuff quality - my pieces cost about $3.50-4.00 range. or maybe it's not "seasoned" yet - just used 1-2 times only. black car spots real seriously :~( and on the topic of NXT, u guys prefer NXT to the regular meguair shampoo? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_bon Neutral Newbie March 6, 2006 Share March 6, 2006 follow a fix car wash routine. once you're used to it, you should be able to finish your wash routine quicker. do you wax your car often? wax on your car can help the drying process somewhat.. i'll recommend you to use Waffle weave towel to dry your car... it cost more than your chamois... but once you use it, you'll understand why i recommend. good WW towel can really absorb water... it leaves no streaking. with a good WW towel, 1 or 2 passes on each panel will be good enough to dry your car. [nod] as for NXT car wash, i've not use it personally, but i read about it. most people who use it is happy with it. so should do the job you want. Though it doesn't seem very concentrated, dun add too much hor... follow the instruction labels... if not, you may have problem rinsing the soap off your car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zoom99 Neutral Newbie March 7, 2006 Share March 7, 2006 Water spots: I suspect that it may be due to water rain marks. If u did not wax yr car regularly, the rain will etch into your painwork. As a result, esp after washing, you are able to observe that spots all over yr car. Is this so? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...